## EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN COURSE CHECKLIST State Form 54418 (R3 / 4-22)



## INSTRUCTIONS:

- 1. The Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) course checklist is designed to help compile course application submissions.
- All EMS course applications must be submitted no less than thirty (30) days prior to course start date to <u>certcourseapps@dhs.in.gov</u> or mail to Indiana Department of Homeland Security, EMS Certifications, 302 West Washington Street, Room E239, Indianapolis, IN 46204.

## **EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN COURSE CHECKLIST**

- 1. Completed State Course Application
- 2. A course syllabus, which must include the:
  - A. Dates and times each class session is held
  - B. Topics (must identify lecture, practice and / or testing time) for each session

Your syllabus will be compared to the following course requirements as approved by the EMS Commission:

GENERAL SECTION	REQUIRED HOURS	ACTUAL HOURS
Section 1. Preparatory	11 hours	
Section 2. Anatomy and Physiology	5 hours	
Section 3. Medical Terminology	1 hour	
Section 4. Pathophysiology	5 hours	
Section 5. Lifespan Development	1.5 hours	
Section 6. Public Health	0.5 hour	
Section 7. Pharmacology	3 hours	
Section 8. Airway / Respiratory / Ventilation	5 hours	
Section 9. Assessment	5 hours	
Section 10. Medicine	33 hours	
Section 11. Shock and Resuscitation	4 hours	
Section 12. Trauma	25 hours	
Section 13. Special Patient populations	19 hours	
Section 14. EMS Operations	20 hours	
TOTAL		

- C. How you will incorporate the Indiana additional requirements into your course:
  - Indiana Driving Law
  - Hazardous Materials Awareness
  - Esophageal, Tracheal, Multi-Lumen, and Supraglottic Airway
  - Peripheral IV Maintenance
  - POST Training
  - Suicide Prevention Training
- D. A list of resource materials, references, textbooks, workbooks, etc. that will be used by the students during the course
- 3. Please provide in narrative form how students will complete:
  - 24 total clinical education experience with at least 12 hours being ambulance clinical experience The Training Institution should select the clinical education experience that best fits their community and resources. This could be a full 24 hours of clinical education experience. Or some other clinical education such as hospital or clinic in addition to the minimum of 12 hours of ambulance clinical experience.
  - Ten (10) patient contacts (required) through clinical experience.

- Cognitive Summative Examinations requirement:
  - a) A summative examination that is a comprehensive exam of all the EMT course curriculum must be administered and there must be a pass rate of 75% for successful course completion.
  - b) The Training Institution selects the examination and must be able to verify administration. The number and format of questions is up to the training institution but must be reasonable number of questions to be a summative assessment (e.g., it is not likely that 50 questions or less would be acceptable).
  - c) The Training Institutions should attempt to use a format that is not only comprehensive for course material but also is appropriate preparation for the NREMT certification examination. If an on-line testing platform such as FISDAP or Platinum are offered to meet this requirement, the Training Institution does not have to produce the actual examination but evidence of creditable examination and test results for the person.
  - d) Note that the requirement is to pass with a 75% grade the summative end of course examination. The Training Institution may determine if they allow multiple summative examination attempts and under what conditions, if any. Acceptable policy would include multiple attempts, such as two attempts before remediation then a final attempt. Technically, the Training Institution does not have to limit the number of attempts but that is not likely in the student's best interests long-term. An example of an unacceptable policy would be the practice of taking someone that has a 70% on the summative examination and discussing why they missed the questions they did and then re-mark their examination as a 75% or another grade. The 75% pass rate must be the student score on an attempt of the summative examination.
  - e) Some programs calculate the course final as a portion of the overall pass requirement. This does not prohibit that practice. However, the summative examination would be a requirement of a 75% pass rate to pass the class. So, if a student has 70% of the summative examination and course final is 25% of the course grade and that puts the student at a 75% for the course, the student would pass the in course grade average requirement for that training institution but still would not pass the independent summative examination score of 75%.