

APPLICATION FOR BOAT EXCISE TAX CREDIT / REFUND

State Form 23389 (R7 / 9-24) INDIANA BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

The legal authority for this form is IC 6-6-5-7.7.

BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES Central Office Finance 100 N. Senate Avenue, Room N440 Indianapolis, IN 46204 (888) 692-6841

INSTRUCTIONS: 1. Complete in blue or black ink or print form.

- 2. If registration has more than one (1) registrant, only one (1) registrant is required to sign as applicant.
- 3. Select the reason you are applying for the credit, and mail in the required proof with this application.
- 4. Print the mailing address where a refund check may be mailed.
- 5. If you are signing on behalf of the registrant, you must provide a copy of the document that authorizes you to do so (e.g. Power of Attorney (POA), executor).
- 6. Mail this application and all required documents to the address listed at the top of this form.

SECTION 1: CREDIT AND REFUND INFORMATION

The following rules apply to the eligibility for an excise tax credit or refund:

- 1. Watercraft assessed Boat Excise Tax and Boat Excise Storage Tax may be credited and refunded.
- 2. Boat excise tax credits may be applied toward any other BMV transaction. If the watercraft is sold, destroyed, or otherwise disposed of, any remaining credit after ninety (90) days has passed will be refunded in the form of a refund check. If the watercraft was registered out-of-state, a refund check will be mailed immediately after processing the application.
- 3. The refund amount must be at least \$4.00 to be eligible to receive a refund check. A \$3.00 BMV processing fee will be deducted from the refund amount, per IC 6-6-11-14.

Registrant(s) Name (as printed on Indiana certificate of registration)				
Mailing Address (street number and name)				
City		State	ZIP Code	
Contact Telephone Number	E-mail Address	Idress		
SECTION 2: REFUND REASON (check one)				
 Watercraft Sold, Destroyed, or Otherwise Disposed Of: If sold, applicant must provide proof of sale/disposal or trade-in. If destroyed, applicant must provide a statement from the insurance company that states the watercraft was a total loss. The statement must include the watercraft's HIN. Watercraft Registered Out-of-State: Applicant must provide a copy of the watercraft's certificate of registration or registration receipt from the new state and a copy of the Indiana certificate of registration (<i>if available</i>). 				
SECTION 3: WATERCRAFT INFORMATION				
HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (HIN) (Please enter in spaces b	elow.)	Indiana Registration Number		
SECTION 4: APPLICANT AFFIRMATION				
I swear or affirm under penalties for perjury that I am requesting a refund of boat excise tax on the watercraft listed above, that a refund has not been previously issued for this watercraft, and that the above mailing address is correct and is the address where the refund check will be mailed.				
Signature of Applicant	Date	Date Signed (mm/dd/yyyy)		
Printed Name of Applicant	Relationship to Registrant(s) (<i>if other than registrant</i>) (Example: agent, POA, executor of estate, etc.)			