

Unified Tax Credit for the Elderly

Married Claimants Must File Jointly

Tax Year: 1998 You Must File This Form by June 30, 1999 Do Not Write Above

Your First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name			Yo	Your Social Security Number			
Spouse's First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name				pous	e's	Social Security Nur	nber
Present Address (Number and street or rural route)			If er	Taxpa nter d	aye late	r died during 1998, of death / /1	998
City or Town	State	Zip Code				died during 1998, of death //1	998
 Your age as of December 31, 1998_ Were you a resident of Indiana for s Was your spouse a resident of Indiana 	ix mon	ths or more of	during 1	998?	•	Yes 🔲 No	
Dete	rmine	Your Inc	ome				
Certain income, such as social sec ance proceeds, should not be ente you and your spouse during the tax from any of the sources listed below	red on year.	this form. Complete	Enter a all spa	ıll otl	ner . I	income receive f you had no inc	d by
A. Wages, salaries, tips and commi	ssions	3			Α		
B. Dividend and interest income					В		
C. Net gain or loss from rental income, business income, etc c							
D. Pensions or annuities (Do <u>not</u> enter social security benefits) D							
E. Total income (Add Lines A through D and enter the total here) .			al here)		Е		
F. Your Refund (See chart on back to	figure	your refund).		. ▶	F		00
Under penalty of perjury, I (we) have exand belief, it is true, complete, and cornocome tax return.			we are) I	not r ize th	eq e C		diana
Your Signature	Date		I DO NO	T aut	hor	ize the Department in the my preparer.	to dis-
Spouse's Signature	Date						
()			Paid Pre	parer	s S	Signature	
Daytime Telephone Number			Paid Pre	parer	's l	dentification Number	·

Who may use this form to claim the Unified Tax Credit for the Elderly?

You may be able to claim a credit if you and/or your spouse meet the following requirements:

- You and/or your spouse must have been age 65 or older by December 31, 1998;
- If married, you must file a joint return;
- You and/or your spouse must have been an Indiana resident for more than six months during 1998; and
- You and/or your spouse must not have been in prison more than 180 days during 1998.

If you meet all the above requirements, and

- You are single or widowed and your income on Line E is under \$2,000*; or
- You are married, and only one person is age 65 or older, and your income on Line E is less than \$3,000*; or
- You are married, both of you are age 65 or older, and your income on Line E is less than \$4,000*;

complete Lines A through E on the front of this form. Then, compare the Line E amount to the amounts on the chart below based on your filing status and age. This will give you your refund amount.

*If your income is more than these amounts, you will need to file either Form IT-40 (if you are a full-year resident), or Form IT-40PNR (if you and/or your spouse are part-year residents), and claim the credit on one of those forms.

Note: If a spouse dies after January 1, 1998, the

surviving spouse can claim this credit by filing a joint return. A copy of the death certificate must be attached to the tax return to verify the date of death. However, if a taxpayer dies and does not have a surviving spouse, the estate **cannot** claim the credit on behalf of the deceased taxpayer.

Important Checklist!

- ✓ Make sure your name(s), address and social security number(s) are filled in on the front of the form. Also, enter date of death, if it applies, in the space provided. Example: A January 9, 1998 date of death should be entered as 01/09/1998.
- ✓ Complete Lines 1, 2, 3, and A through E on the front to determine your total income.
- ✓ Find the correct amount of your refund from the chart below and enter on the front on Line F.
- ✓ Sign bottom of return. Your refund will not be issued unless the entire form is completed.
- ✓ File this form by June 30, 1999, to be eligible for this credit. If you have not received your refund within 12 weeks of filing, you may call our automated information line at (317)233-4018.



Mail To: Elderly Credit Indiana Dept. of Revenue P.O. Box 6103 Indianapolis, IN 46206-6103

■ Mail by June 30, 1999
■

Compare the Figure on Line E to the Chart Below: Enter Your Refund on Line F.

Married with only one person

SE or Older

65 or Older					
	Your Refund				
If Line E is:	Amount is:				
0-\$999.99	\$100.00				
\$1,000-\$1,999.99	\$50.00				
\$2,000 or Over	You <u>must</u> file				
	Form IT-40				
	or IT-40PNR				

Single or Widowed

65 or Older					
	Your Refund				
If Line E is:	Amount is:				
0-\$999.99	\$100.00				
\$1,000-\$2,999.99	9 \$50.00				
\$3,000 or Over	You <u>must</u> file				
	Form IT-40				
	or IT-40PNR				

65 or Older					
	Your Refund				
If Line E is:	Amount is:				
0-\$999.99	\$140.00				
\$1,000-\$2,999.99	\$90.00				
\$3,000-\$3,999.99	\$80.00				
\$4,000 or Over	You <u>must</u> file				
	Form IT-40				
	or IT-40PNR				

Married with both persons