

Unified Tax Credit for the Elderly

Married Claimants Must File Jointly

Tax Year: 1997 You Must File This Form by June 30, 1998

Do Not Write Above

			,		
Your First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name			Your Social Security Number		
Spouse's First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name			Spouse'	's Social Secu	ırity Number
Present Address (Number a	nd street or rural route)	City o	or Town		
State Zip Code	If Taxpayer died duri enter date of death /	ng 1997, /1997	If Spous enter da	se died during ate of death	1997, / 1997
1. Your age as of Decembe 2. Were you a resident of Ir 3. Was your spouse a resid	ndiana for six months or	more during	1997?	Yes	☐ No ☐
	Determine You	r Income			
Income, such as social s ceeds, should not be en your spouse during the ta of the sources listed belo	tered on this form. En ax year. Complete all	ter all other spaces. If	income you had	received b I no income	y you and
A. Wages, salaries, tips a	and commissions		A		
B. Dividend and interest		В			
C. Net gain or loss from	rental income, busines	s income, e	tc <u>C</u>		
D. Pensions or annuities	(Do <u>not</u> enter social sec	urity benefits	s) D		
E. Total income (Add Lines A through D and enter the total here)			E		
F. Your Refund (See table on back to figure your refund)			<u>F</u>		00
Under penalty of perjury, I (and belief, it is true, comple income tax return.	•	I am (we are	e) not rec		an Indiana
Your Signature	Date	_ 	IOT autho	rize the Depar vith my prepar	
Spouse's Signature	Date	<u> </u>			
()		Paid P	reparer's	Signature	
Daytime Telephone Number	•	Paid P	reparer's	Identification N	Number

Who may use this form to claim the Unified Tax Credit for the Elderly?

You may be able to claim a credit if you and/or your spouse meet the following requirements:

- You and/or your spouse must have been age 65 or older by December 31, 1997;
- If married, you must file a joint return;
- You and/or your spouse must have been an Indiana resident for more than six months during 1997; and
- You and/or your spouse must not have been in prison more than 180 days during 1997; then

if you meet all the above requirements, and

- You are single or widowed and your income on Line E is under \$2,000*; or
- You are married, and only one person is age 65 or older, and your income on Line E is less than \$3,000*; or
- You are married, both of you are age 65 or older, and your income on Line E is less than \$4,000*;

complete Lines A through E on the front of this form. Then, compare the Line E amount to the amounts on the chart below based on your filing status and age. This will give you your refund amount.

*If your income is more than these amounts, you will need to file either Form IT-40 (if you are a full-year resident), or Form IT-40PNR (if you and/or your spouse are part-year residents), and claim the credit on one of those forms.

Note: If a spouse dies after January 1, 1997, the surviving spouse can claim this credit by filing a

joint return. A copy of the death certificate must be attached to the tax return to verify the date of death. However, if a taxpayer dies and does not have a surviving spouse, then the estate **cannot** claim the credit on behalf of the deceased taxpayer.

Important Checklist!

- ✓ Make sure your name(s), address and social security number(s) are filled in on the front of the form. Also, enter date of death, if it applies, in the space provided. Example: A January 9, 1997 date of death should be entered as 01/09/1997.
- ✓ Complete Lines 1, 2, 3, and A through E on the front to determine your total income.
- ✓ Find the correct amount of your refund from the table below and enter on the front on Line F.
- ✓ Sign bottom of return. Your refund will not be issued unless the entire form is completed.
- ✓ File this form by June 30, 1998 to be eligible for this credit. Please allow 12 weeks before asking about your refund.



Mail To: Elderly Credit Indiana Dept. of Revenue P.O. Box 6103 Indianapolis, IN 46206-6103

■ Mail by June 30, 1998

Compare the Figure on Line E to the Chart Below: Enter Your Refund on Line F.

Married with only one person

65 or Older				
	Your Refund			
If Line E is:	Amount is:			
0-\$999.99	\$100.00			
\$1,000-\$1,999.99	\$50.00			
\$2,000 or Over	You must file			
	Form IT-40			
	or IT-40PNR			

Single or Widowed

65 or Older				
	Your Refund			
If Line E is:	Amount is:			
0-\$999.99	\$100.00			
\$1,000-\$2,999.99	\$50.00			
\$3,000 or Over	You <u>must</u> file			
	Form IT-40			
	or IT-40PNR			

65 or Older				
	Your Refund			
If Line E is:	Amount is:			
0-\$999.99	\$140.00			
\$1,000-\$2,999.99	\$90.00			
\$3,000-\$3,999.99	\$80.00			
\$4,000 or Over	You <u>must</u> file			
	Form IT-40			
	or IT-40PNR			

Married with both persons