

# WAIT!

# YOU MAY QUALIFY FOR FREE ONLINE TAX FILING!



More than 85 percent of Indiana taxpayers filed electronically in 2020. Consider the benefits of filing electronically:

- **Faster Refund.** Electronic filing reduces errors and expedites refund time within 10 to 14 days (compared with 10 to 12 weeks for a paper return).
- **Fewer Errors.** Up to 20 percent of paper-filed returns have errors, which can result in delays and possible penalty and/or interest for the taxpayer. Returns filed electronically, however, are 98 percent accurate.
- **Easier Filing.** You won't have to complete the many complicated forms in this booklet. Instead, you go online, answer some easy questions, and before you know it your taxes are complete.

You may be eligible to file your taxes online for FREE with INfreefile. Go to www.freefile.dor.in.gov to see if you qualify or learn more about INfreefile on page 4.

# Which Indiana Tax Form Should You File?

Indiana has three different individual income tax returns. Read the following to find the right one for you to file.

# Form IT-40 for Full-Year Residents

Use Form IT-40 if you (and your spouse, if married filing jointly) were full-year Indiana residents.

### Form IT-40PNR for Part-Year and Full-Year Nonresidents

Use Form IT-40PNR if you (and your spouse, if married filing jointly):

- Were Indiana residents for less than a full-year or not at all, or
- Are filing jointly and one was a full-year Indiana resident and the other was not a full-year Indiana resident, and
- Do not qualify to file Form IT-40RNR.

# Form IT-40RNR for Full-Year Residents of Reciprocal States

Use Form IT-40RNR if you (and your spouse, if married filing jointly) were:

- Full-year residents of Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania or Wisconsin, and
- The only type of income from Indiana was from wage, tip, salary or other compensation.\*

\*You are required to file Form IT-40PNR if you have any other kind of Indiana-source income.

**Note**. If you have income that is being taxed by both Indiana and another state, you may have to file a tax return with the other state.

# Military Personnel

See the instructions on page 7 to determine which form to file. Military personnel stationed in a combat zone should see the instructions on page 8 for extension of time to file procedures.

# 2021 Changes

**Update**: Line 1 of Form IT-40 assumes conformity with the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended and in effect on March 31, 2021. If the 2022 Indiana General Assembly does not conform to the most current changes to the Internal Revenue Code, you may have to amend your tax return at a later date to reflect any differences between Indiana and federal law. You may wish to periodically check DOR's homepage at www.in.gov/dor for updates.

## Add-backs

- A **new add-back** (148) is available for adding back student loan payments made by employers and excluded from the employee's federal gross income. See page 13 for more information.
- A **new add-back** (149) is available for the addback of certain meal expenses and for which a deduction is allowable in determining federal adjusted gross income. See page 14 for more information.
- A **new add-back** (150) is available for adding back student loan debt that has been discharged and excluded from federal gross income. See page 14 for more information.

### Credits

- A **new credit** (865) is available for EDGE credits based on nonresident employees working in Indiana. See page 50 for more information.
- **Public School Educator Expense Credit.** Expenses for certain COVID-19 protective items are not allowed when calculating this credit. See instructions on page 53.
- School Scholarship Tax Credit Contribution Ceiling Increased. The total of allowable net contributions to the program has increased to \$17.5 million for the program's fiscal year of July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022.
- Lake County Residential Property Tax Credit. Married individuals who file separately are now subject to credit allowances and phase-outs equal to one-half the allowance for other individuals.
- Special instructions have been added to the credit for taxes paid to other states regarding deferred foreign taxes and the District of Columbia Unincorporated Business Tax. See page 45 for more information.
- Foster Care Credit. A new credit for donations to qualifying foster care organizations was enacted in 2021. However, because contributions are not permitted until 2022, this credit may not be claimed this year.

#### Deductions

- Married Filing Separately (MFS) Individuals. Married individuals filing separately are subject to special rules for the following deductions: Partnership Long-Term Care Policy, Premium Deduction, Renter's Deduction, Property tax deduction, and Disability retirement deduction. See Schedule 2 for more information. For the renter's deduction, the maximum amount allowable as a deduction for married individuals filing separately is \$1,500. For the residential property tax deduction, the maximum amount allowable as a deduction for married individuals filing separately is \$1,250. For the deduction for disability income, the income phaseout for married individuals filing separately is \$7,500.
- A **new deduction** (634) is available to deduct certain expenses for which a deduction is not permitted for federal income tax purposes because an employer claimed a COVID-related employee retention credit. See page 23 for more information.
- A **new deduction** (636) is available to deduct interest and other amounts included in federal gross income and received from bonds issued by Indiana government and quasi-government entities. See page 23 for more information.
- Starting in 2021, for net operating losses, you must compute your net operating loss deduction without any itemized deductions otherwise allowable in computing your federal net operating loss.

#### Exemptions

• **Married Filing Separately (MFS) Individuals.** For the additional exemption for individuals age 65 and older, the income for married individuals filing separately is required to be less than \$20,000.

#### **Miscellaneous**

• Spouse who claims to not be liable for all or part of a tax liability. If you are married filing jointly and want to file with this designation, see Schedule 7, line 5 instructions on page 55.

# **Need Tax Forms or Information Bulletins?**

# **Use Your Personal Computer**

Visit our website and download the forms you need. Our address for tax forms is www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/.

# Visit a District Office

Some tax forms are available at district offices located throughout the state. These offices are open Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. local time. Visit www.in.gov/dor/contact-us/district-office-contact-info/ for a list of these offices, including addresses and telephone numbers.

# **Need Help With Your Return?**

# Local Help

You may be eligible to take advantage of the IRS Volunteer Return Preparation Program (VRPP). This program offers free tax return help to low income, elderly and special needs individuals. Volunteers will fill out federal and state forms for those who qualify. Call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040 to find the nearest VRPP location. Be sure to take your W-2s, 1099s and a copy of last year's state and federal tax returns.

## **Information Line**

Call the information line at (317) 232-2240 to get the status of your refund, billing and payment plan information, a copy of your tax return, or prerecorded tax topics. If you wish to check for billing information, be sure to have a copy of your tax notice. The system will ask you to enter the tax identification number shown on the notice. To speak to a representative, please call during regular business hours, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday.

# Internet Address

If you need help deciding which form to file, or need to get information bulletins or policy directives on specific topics, visit our website at www.in.gov/dor.

## Telephone

Call us at (317) 232-2240 Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., for help with basic tax questions.

# **Ready to File Your Return?**

# Use an Electronic Filing Program

More than 85% of Hoosier taxpayers used an electronic filing program to file their 2020 state and federal individual income tax returns. Electronic filing provides Indiana taxpayers the opportunity to file their federal and state tax returns immediately, and receive their Indiana refunds in about half the time it takes to process a paper return. It takes even less time if you use direct deposit, which deposits your refund directly into your bank account. Even if there is an amount due on either return, Indiana taxpayers can still file electronically and feel comfortable knowing that the returns were received by the IRS and the Indiana Department of Revenue (DOR). Use an electronic vendor or contact your tax preparer to see if he or she provides this service.

# INfreefile

This tax season Indiana continues to offer a free tax filing service through the cooperation of the Free File Alliance. Eligible Indiana taxpayers can file both the federal and Indiana individual tax returns using highly interactive and easy-to-use web-based applications that speed both returns and refunds. You can choose from a list of multiple vendors that provide this free service. DOR estimates nearly 2 million Indiana taxpayers are eligible for this free service. See if you are eligible by visiting www.freefile.dor.in.gov.

# Our Website

Our website offers tax filing options, a **Spanish version of the IT-40 booklet with forms**, downloadable blank forms and instructions, information bulletins, an online helpdesk, helpful email links and a calendar with filing due dates. Visit DOR's website at www.in.gov/dor.

# Moving?

Notify DOR if you move to a new address after filing your tax return, Change your address with us by doing one of the following:

- Use DOR's e-services portal, the Indiana Taxpayer Information Management Engine (INTIME), to change your address at https:// intime.dor.in.gov. INTIME offers customers the ability to manage their tax account(s) in one convenient location, 24/7. You can change your address by creating an INTIME log on. Once logged in, go to the "All Actions" tab and locate the "Update Name and Addresses" panel and select the "Addresses" tab. An INTIME User Guide for Individual Income Tax Customers is available at https://www.in.gov/dor/files/intime-individual-guide. pdf to help you through the process.
- Fax your request, including your Social Security number, old address, new address and signature, to 317-615-2608.
- Mail the request, including your Social Security number, old address, new address and signature, to Indiana Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 6197, Indianapolis, IN 46206-6197.
- Visit one of our District Offices (find locations here: www.in.gov/ dor/contact-us/district-office-contact-info/) in person. Make sure to bring your Social Security number, old address, and new address with you.

# Filing an Amended (Corrected) Tax Return

If you need to amend (correct) your 2021 individual income tax return after you initially filed:

- Prepare another IT-40 return that reflects all changes and check the "Amended" box on the front page. Failure to do so can delay processing.
- Attach a copy of all required schedules reflecting all changes and documentation. Failure to do so can delay processing.
- File the amended return electronically, if possible.

**Note:** All amounts previously paid should be reported as an estimated payment. All refunds previously received should not be reported on an amended filing.

The Form IT-40 and supporting schedules are located at www.in.gov/ dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms. For prior years, please see the instructions for that year.

## **Annual Public Hearing**

In accordance with the Indiana Taxpayer Bill of Rights, DOR will conduct an annual public hearing in Indianapolis in June of 2022. Event details will be listed at www.in.gov/dor/news-media-andpublications/dor-public-events/annual-public-hearings/. Please come and share feedback or comments about how DOR can better administer Indiana tax laws. If not able to attend, please submit feedback or comments in writing to: Indiana Department of Revenue, Commissioner's Office, MS# 101, 100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204. Our homepage provides access to forms, information bulletins and directives, tax publications, email, and various filing options. Visit www.in.gov/dor.

# **Before You Begin**

Important. You must complete your federal tax return first.

#### Filling in the Boxes – Please Use Ink

If you are filling out the form by hand, please use black or blue ink and print your letters and numbers neatly. If you do not have an entry for a particular line, leave it blank. Do not use dashes, zeros or other symbols to indicate that you have no entry for that line.

### **Social Security Number**

Be sure to enter your full 9-digit Social Security number in the boxes at the top of the form. If filing a joint return, enter your Social Security number in the first set of boxes and your spouse's full 9-digit Social Security number in the second set of boxes. An incorrect or missing Social Security number can increase your tax due, reduce your refund, or delay timely processing of your filing.

## Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)

If you already have an ITIN, enter it wherever your Social Security number is requested on your tax return. If you are in the process of applying for an ITIN, check the box located directly beneath the Social Security number area at the top of the form. For information on how to get an ITIN, contact the IRS at 1-800-829-3676 and request federal Form W-7, or find it online at www.irs.gov.

## Name and Suffix

Please use all capital letters when entering your information. For example, Jim Smith Junior should be entered as JIM SMITH JR.

**Name**. If your last name includes an apostrophe, do not use it. For example, enter O'Shea as OSHEA. If your name includes a hyphen, use it. For example, enter SMITH-JONES.

**Suffix**. Enter the suffix associated with your name in the appropriate box.

- Use JR for junior and SR for senior.
- Numeric characters must be replaced by alphabetic Roman Numerals. For example, if your last name is Charles 3rd, do not use 3rd; instead, enter III in the suffix field.
- Do not enter any titles or designations, such as M.D., Ph. D., RET., Minor or DEC'D.

## **Married Filing Requirements**

• Married Filing Jointly

If you filed your federal income tax return as married filing jointly, you also must file married filing jointly with Indiana.

#### • Married Filing Separately

If you file your federal income tax return as married filing separately, you must also file as married filing separately with Indiana. Enter both of your Social Security numbers in the boxes on the top of the form, and then check the box directly to the right of those boxes. Enter the name of the person filing the return on the top line, but <u>do not enter</u> the spouse's name on the second name line.

#### Married Persons Who Live Apart Filing Status

If you were not divorced or legally separated during the tax year you may have qualified for and filed as 'head of household' on your federal income tax return. If you did, do not check the married filing separately box. Also, do not enter either your spouse's name or Social Security number

#### • Same-Sex Marriage Tax Filing Guidelines

Couples in same-sex marriages should file with Indiana using the same married filing status as they used for federal tax filing purposes.

#### **Military Address**

Overseas military addresses must contain the APO, FPO designation in the "city field" along with a two-character "state" abbreviation of AE, AP, or AA and the ZIP code. Place these two- and three-letter designations in the city name area.

## **ZIP/Postal Code**

Enter your five- or nine-digit ZIP code (do not use a dash). For example, enter 46217 or 462174540. If filing with a foreign address, enter the associated postal code.

## **Foreign Country Code**

Complete this area if the address you are using is located in a foreign country. Enter the 2-character foreign country code, which may be found online at www.in.gov/dor/legal-resources/tax-library/foreign-country-code-listing.

#### **County Information**

Enter the two-digit code numbers for the county(s) where you and your spouse, if filing jointly, lived and worked on Jan. 1, 2021. You can find these code numbers on the chart found on the back of Schedule CT-40. See the instructions beginning on page 56 for more information, including the definitions of the county where you live and work, details for military personnel, retired individuals, homemakers, unemployed individuals, out-of-state filers, etc.

#### **Refund Check Address**

Your refund check will be issued in the name(s), address and Social Security number(s) shown on your tax return. It is very important that this information is correct and legible. Any wrong information will delay your refund.

# **Rounding Required**

Each line on which an amount can be entered has ".00" already filled in. This is to let you know that rounding is required when completing your tax return.

#### You must round your amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

To do this, drop amounts of less than \$0.50. *Example*. \$432.49 rounds down to \$432.00.

Increase amounts of \$0.50 or more to the next higher dollar. *Example*. \$432.50 rounds up to \$433.00.

#### **Losses or Negative Entries**

When reporting a loss or negative entry, use a negative sign. *Example*. Write a \$125 loss as -125.

#### Commas

Do not use commas when entering amounts. For instance, express 1,000 as 1000.

### Enclosing Schedules, W-2s, Etc.

You will find an enclosure sequence number in the upper right-hand corner of each schedule. Make sure to put your completed schedules in sequential order behind the IT-40 when assembling your tax return. Do not staple or paper clip your enclosures. If you have a schedule on which you've made no entry, do not enclose it unless you have completed information on the back of it.

Also, enclose:

- All W-2s, 1099s, Forms IN-MSID-A and IN K-1s on which Indiana state and/or county tax withholding amounts appear
- All 1099Gs showing unemployment compensation
- A check/money order, if applicable

A note about your W-2s. It is important that your W-2 form is readable. The income and state and county tax amounts withheld are verified on every W-2 form that comes in with your tax return. We encourage you to enclose the best copy available when you file.

# Who Should File?

You may need to file an Indiana income tax return if:

- You lived in Indiana and received income, or
- You lived outside Indiana and had any income from Indiana.

**Filing Status Requirement.** If you and your spouse file a joint federal tax return, you must file a joint tax return with Indiana. If you and your spouse file separate federal tax returns, you must file separate tax returns with Indiana.

**Note**. There are three types of Indiana tax returns available. The type you need to file is generally based on your residency status. Read the following to decide if you are a full-year resident, part-year resident, or nonresident of Indiana, and which type of return you should file.

#### **Full-Year Residents**

If you were a full-year resident of Indiana and your gross income

(the total of all your income before deductions) was greater than certain exemptions\*, you must file an Indiana tax return.

Full-year residents must file Form IT-40, Indiana Full-Year Resident Individual Income Tax.

You are a full-year Indiana resident if you maintain your legal residence in Indiana from Jan. 1 – Dec. 31 of the tax year. You do not have to be physically present in Indiana the entire year to be considered a full-year resident. Residents, including military personnel, who leave Indiana for a temporary stay, are considered residents during their absence.

Retired persons spending the winter months in another state may still be full-year residents if:

- They maintain their legal residence in Indiana and intend to return to Indiana during part of the taxable year
- They retain their Indiana driver's license
- They retain their Indiana voting rights
- They claim a homestead deduction on their Indiana home for property tax purposes

\* To figure your exemptions for filing requirement purposes, Indiana allows a \$1,000 exemption for you and a \$1,000 exemption for your spouse (if married filing jointly). You also get a \$1,000 exemption for each dependent you are eligible to claim. See instructions beginning on page 23 for additional information concerning how to figure your dependents. If your gross income is less than your total exemptions figured above, you are not required to file. However, you may want to file a return to get a refund of any state and/or county tax withheld by your employer, or other refundable credits, such as an earned income credit or estimated tax payment.

#### Part-Year Residents and Full-Year Nonresidents

If you were a part-year resident and received income while you lived in Indiana, you must file Indiana Form IT-40PNR, Part-Year Resident or Nonresident Individual Income Tax Return.

If you were a legal resident of another state(s) (exception: see next paragraph) and had income from Indiana (except certain interest, dividends, or retirement income), you must file Form IT-40PNR.

# Full-Year Residents of Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania or Wisconsin

If you were a full-year resident of Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania or Wisconsin, and your only income from Indiana was from wages, salaries, tips or commissions, then you need to file Form IT-40RNR, Indiana Reciprocal Nonresident Individual Income Tax Return.

#### **Deceased Taxpayers**

If an individual died during 2021, or died after Dec. 31, 2021, but before filing his/her tax return, the executor, administrator or surviving spouse must file a tax return for the individual if:

- The deceased was under the age of 65 and had gross income more than \$1,000
- The deceased was age 65 or older and had gross income more than \$2,000, or
- The deceased was a nonresident and had gross income from Indiana.

Be sure to enter the month and day of death for the taxpayer or spouse in the appropriate box located on Schedule 7. For example, a date of death of Jan. 9, 2021, would be entered as 01/09/2021.

**Note.** The date of death should not be entered here if the individual died after Dec. 31, 2021, but before filing the tax return. The date of death information will be shown on the individual's 2022 tax return.

# Signing the Deceased Individual's Tax Return

If a joint return is filed by the surviving spouse, the surviving spouse should sign his or her own name and after the signature write: "Filing as Surviving Spouse."

An executor or administrator appointed to the deceased's estate must file and sign the return (even if this isn't the final return), indicating their relationship after their signature (e.g. administrator).

If there is no executor, or if an administrator has not been appointed, the person filing the return should sign and give their relationship to the deceased (e.g. "John Doe, nephew"). Only one tax return should be filed on behalf of the deceased.

**Note.** DOR may ask for a copy of the death certificate, so please keep a copy with your records.

## **Refund Check for a Deceased Individual**

If you (the surviving spouse, administrator, executor or other) have received a refund check and cannot cash it, contact the State Auditor's Office at www.in.gov/auditor/924.htm to get a widow's affidavit (POA-30) or a distributee's affidavit (POA-20). Send the completed affidavit, the refund check and a copy of the death certificate to the State Auditor's Office so a refund check can be issued to you.

## Military Personnel — Residency

If you were an Indiana resident when you enlisted, you remain an Indiana resident no matter where you are stationed. You must report all your income to Indiana on Form IT-40.

If you changed your legal residence (military home of record) during the tax year, you are a part-year resident and should file Form IT-40PNR. You must also enclose a copy of Military Form DD-2058 with the tax return. As an Indiana part-year resident you will be taxed on the income you earned while you were a resident of Indiana, plus any income from Indiana sources.

If you are stationed in Indiana and you are a resident of another state, you won't need to file with Indiana unless you have non-military income from Indiana sources.

*Example.* Annie, who is a Kansas resident, is stationed in Indiana. She earned \$1,300 from her Indiana part-time job. She will need to report that income to Indiana on Form IT-40PNR.

If you are a full-year Indiana resident in the military, your spouse is a legal resident of another state and you filed a joint federal return, you will need to file Form IT-40PNR.

**Important.** Refer to the instructions on page 56 for an explanation of county of residence for military personnel.

# When Should You File?

Your tax return is due April 18, 2022. If you file after this date and owe tax, you will owe interest on the unpaid amount and you may owe penalty, too. See page 11 for more information.

Fiscal year tax returns are due by the fifteenth (15) day of the fourth (4th) month after the close of the fiscal year. You must complete the fiscal year filing period information at the top of the Form IT-40.

# Extension of Time to File — What if You Can't File on Time?

You must get an extension of time to file if you:

- Are required to file, and
- You cannot file your tax return by the April 18, 2022 due date.

Whether you owe additional tax, are due a refund, or are breaking even, you <u>still</u> need to get an extension if filing after April 18, 2022.

**Note.** Indiana's Application for Extension of Time to File, Form IT-9, extends the filing date to Nov. 14, 2022.

#### If You Owe...

**Option 1.** File Indiana's Application for Extension of Time to File, Form IT-9. This must be filed by April 18, 2022, for the extension request to be valid.

In order to avoid paying a penalty, you should send at least 90% of the amount expected to be due with the Form IT-9. Then, make sure to file your tax return by Nov. 14, 2022, paying any remaining balance due with that filing.

While interest is due on any amount paid after April 18, penalty will be waived if both of the following conditions are met:

- The remaining balance due is paid in full by Nov. 14, 2022, and
- You paid at least 90% of the tax expected to be owed by the original April 18 due date.

**Note.** You may file Indiana's Application for Extension of Time to File online if you make a payment with it by April 18, 2022. Pay electronically using DOR's e-services portal, the Indiana Taxpayer Information Management Engine (INTIME), by visiting https://intime.dor.in.gov. INTIME offers customers the ability to manage their accounts in one convenient location, 24/7.

**Option 2.** Filing for a federal application for extension of time to file with the IRS will automatically provide for a state extension of time to file. You must file your state tax return by Nov. 14, 2022, paying any balance due with that filing.

While interest is due on any amount paid after the original April 18 due date, penalty will be waived if both of the following conditions are met:

- The remaining balance due is paid in full by Nov. 14, 2022, and
- You paid at least 90% of the tax expected to be owed by the original April 18 due date.

#### If You Don't Owe...

You'll need to file for an extension if:

- You are due a refund, or
- You don't expect to owe any tax when filing your tax return, and
- You are unable to file your return by April 18, 2022.

There are two ways to accomplish this:

- If you have a federal extension (you filed Form 4868, or made an extension payment via an electronic filing method), you automatically have an extension with Indiana and do not have to file for a separate state extension (Form IT-9).
- If you do not have a federal extension, file Form IT-9 by April 18, 2022.

#### **Extension Filing Deadline.**

Both state Form IT-9 and federal Form 4868 extend your state filing time to Nov. 14, 2022.

#### Will You Owe Penalty and/or Interest?

Penalty will not be owed if you have:

- Paid 90% of the tax you expect to owe by April 18, 2022,
- Filed your tax return by Nov. 14, 2022, and
- Paid any remaining amount due (including interest) with that filing.

Interest is owed on all amounts paid after April 18, 2022. See page 11 for instructions on how to figure interest.

#### Indiana's Extension of Time to File, Form IT-9

You may get Form IT-9 online at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021individual-income-tax-forms/. You may file Indiana's Application for Extension of Time to File online if you make a payment with it by April 18, 2022. Pay electronically using DOR's e-services portal, the Indiana Taxpayer Information Management Engine (INTIME), by visiting https://intime.dor.in.gov. INTIME offers customers the ability to manage their accounts in one convenient location, 24/7.

#### Where to Report Your Extension Payment.

Add your state extension payment to any estimated tax paid. Report the total on Schedule 5, line 3.

**Military personnel** on duty outside of the United States and Puerto Rico on the filing due date are allowed an automatic 60 day extension of time to file. A statement must be enclosed with the return verifying that you were outside of the United States or Puerto Rico on April 18, 2022.

Military personnel in a presidentially declared **combat zone** have an automatic extension of 180 days after they leave the combat zone. In addition, if they are hospitalized outside the United States because of such service, the 180-day extension period begins after being released from the hospital. The spouse of such service member must use the same method of filing for both federal and Indiana (e.g. single or joint). When filing the return, write "Combat Zone" across the top of the form (above your Social Security number).

# Form IT-40: Line-by-line instructions

**Important.** You must complete your federal income tax return, Form 1040/1040-SR, before starting your Indiana income tax return. Line numbers from your federal income tax return are referenced in many of the following instructions. While every effort has been made to make the instructions as clear as possible, sometimes the line numbers change on the federal income tax return after the Indiana forms are finalized. Please contact us if you are unsure as to whether or not you are looking at the correct line on your federal income tax return (see page 4 of this booklet for contact information).

#### When Not to Fill In a Line

If you do not have an entry for a particular line, leave it blank. Do not use dashes, zeros or other symbols to indicate that you have no entry for that line.

#### Line 1 – Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Enter the adjusted gross income from your federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 11. If you were not required to file a federal return, complete a "sample" federal return and report the amount you would have shown on your federal return if you had been required to file.

When reporting a loss or negative entry, use a negative sign. *Example*. Write a \$125 loss as -125.

#### Line 2 – Add-Backs

Enter on this line any add-backs from Schedule 1: Add-Backs. Instructions for Schedule 1 begin on page 12. Make sure to enclose Schedule 1 when filing.

#### Line 4 – Deductions

Enter on this line any deductions from Schedule 2: Deductions. Instructions for Schedule 2 begin on page 15. Make sure to enclose Schedule 2 when filing.

#### Line 6 – Exemptions

Enter any exemptions from Schedule 3: Exemptions on this line. Instructions for Schedule 3 begin on page 24. Make sure to enclose Schedule 3 when filing.

#### Line 9 – County Tax

Complete Schedule CT-40 to figure your county tax. Instructions for Schedule CT-40 begin on page 56.

#### Line 10 – Other Taxes

Enter any other taxes from Schedule 4: Other Taxes on this line. Instructions for Schedule 4 begin on page 28. Make sure to enclose Schedule 4 when filing.

#### Line 12 – Credits

Enter your credits from Schedule 5: Credits on this line. Instructions for Schedule 5 begin on page 28. Make sure to enclose Schedule 5 when filing.

### Line 13 – Offset Credits

Enter the total of any offset credits reported on Schedule 6: Offset Credits on this line. Instructions for Schedule 6 begin on page 44. Make sure to enclose Schedule 6 when filing.

### Line 17 – Donation Check-Offs

Enter on this line the total of any donations made on Schedule IN-DONATE. Make sure to enclose Schedule IN-DONATE, which is located at the bottom of Schedule 5: Credits, when filing. See page 43 for more information.

#### Line 19 – Amount to be Applied as a 2022 Estimated Tax Installment Payment

You should pay estimated tax if you expect to have income during the 2022 tax year that:

- Will not have Indiana income taxes withheld, or
- You think the amount withheld will not be enough to pay your tax liability, and
- You expect to owe more than \$1,000 when you file your tax return.

There are several ways you can make estimated tax payments. First, visit our website at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individualincome-tax-forms/ to get Form ES-40. Use the worksheet on Form ES-40 to see how much you will owe. Then, if you have an overpayment showing on line 18 of your tax return, you can have some or all of the overpayment applied to next year's estimated tax account. To do so, enter any portion of the overpayment:

- On line a, if you want to apply an amount to offset estimated county tax due (from Form ES-40 worksheet, line K). Also, enter the 2-digit county code from line K; and/or
- On line b, if your spouse lived in a different county than you did on Jan. 1, 2022, and you want to apply an amount to offset your spouse's estimated county tax due (from Form ES-40 worksheet, line L). Also, enter the 2-digit county code from line L; and/or
- On line c, if you want to apply an amount to offset your estimated state tax due (from Form ES-40 worksheet, line J).

*Example*. Mark and Megan have a \$420 overpayment, and want to apply \$300 of it to their 2022 estimated tax account. Their worksheet from Form ES-40 has the following breakdown:

- Line I (each installment payment) is \$300;
- Line J (portion that represents state tax due) is \$270; and
- Line K (portion that represents county tax due) is \$30.

They will enter \$30 on line 19a (along with their 2-digit county code), \$270 on line 19c, and the \$300 total amount to be applied will be entered on line 19d. They will get a \$120 refund (\$420 overpayment minus \$300 applied to their 2022 estimated tax account).

*Example*. Stu wants to pay \$500 in estimated tax for each installment period. He has a \$30 overpayment on his tax return. He chooses to enter the full \$30 overpayment on line 19c (Indiana adjusted gross income tax amount), and carries it to line 19d. (He will pay the \$470 additional amount by filing the Form ES-40.)

**Important.** Estimated tax installment payments made for the 2022 tax year are due by:

- April 18, 2022 (1st installment)
- June 15, 2022 (2nd installment)
- Sept. 15, 2022 (3rd installment)
- Jan. 17, 2023 (4th installment)

Any installment payment amount entered on line 19d will be considered to be paid on the day your tax return is filed (postmarked). For instance, an installment payment shown on a return filed on: April 18, 2022, will be considered to be a 2022 first installment payment; June 3, 2022, will be considered to be a 2022 second installment payment; and July 22, 2022, will be considered to be a 2022 third installment payment.

**Note.** You may complete and mail the ES-40, Estimated Tax Payment form, along with your payment to DOR's return address on the form. Estimated payments can also be made online with an electronic bank payment (ACH/e-check) or Visa, MasterCard and Discover debit or credit cards by using DOR's e-services portal, the Indiana Taxpayer Information Management Engine (INTIME), at https://intime.dor.in.gov. See line 26 instructions on page 11 for details about payment options.

See Income Tax Information Bulletin #3 at www.in.gov/dor/files/ reference/ib03.pdf for additional information about estimated taxes.

# Line 20 – Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax

You might owe a penalty for the underpayment of estimated tax if you did not have taxes withheld from your income and/or you did not pay enough estimated tax throughout the year.

In fact, not properly paying estimated tax is one of the most common errors made in filing Indiana tax returns. Generally, if you owe \$1,000 or more in state and county tax for the year that's not covered by withholding taxes, you need to be making estimated tax payments.

You might owe this penalty if:

- The total of your credits, including timely made estimated tax payments, is less than 90% of this year's tax due or 100% of last year's tax due, \*\* or
- You underpaid the minimum amount due for one or more of the installment periods.

If either of these cases apply to you, you must complete Schedule IT-2210 or IT-2210A to see if you owe a penalty or if you meet an exception.

- If you owe this penalty, complete Schedule IT-2210 or IT-2210A and write the penalty amount on Form IT-40, line 20.
- If you meet an exception, complete Schedule IT-2210 or IT-2210A to show which exception was met.

Keep the completed form with your records as DOR may request it at a later date.

\*You must have timely paid 100% of lines 8 and 9 of your 2020 IT-40 or IT-40PNR. Note: If last year's **Indiana adjusted gross income** was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 for married filing separately), you must pay 110% of last year's tax (instead of 100%) to meet this exception.

\*\*Farmers and fishermen should see the special instructions on page 10.

**Important.** DOR will automatically assess an underpayment penalty if it looks like you owe a penalty for the underpayment of estimated tax.

# Should You Use Schedule IT-2210 or Schedule IT-2210A?

**Schedule IT-2210** should be used by individuals who receive income (not subject to withholding tax) on a fairly even basis throughout the year. This schedule will help determine whether a penalty is due, or whether an exception to the penalty has been met.

*Example*. Jim and Sarah together received \$4,500 in pension income each month. Since their income is received on a fairly even basis, they'll use Schedule IT-2210 to figure their penalty or exception to the penalty.

Farmers and fishermen have special filing considerations. If at least two-thirds of your gross income is from farming or fishing, complete Schedule IT-2210, using the Section D Short Method.

**Schedule IT-2210A** may be used by individuals who receive income (not subject to withholding tax) unevenly during the year. This schedule will help determine whether a penalty is due, or whether an exception to the penalty has been met.

*Example.* Bill's income is from selling fireworks in June and July. He will want to figure any penalty due on Schedule IT-2210A, which may exempt him from having had to pay estimated tax on the April 15, 2021 first installment due date.

*Example*. Rachael received a sizeable lump sum distribution in December of 2021. She figured how much estimated tax was due, and paid it in full by the Jan. 18, 2022, fourth period installment due date. By completing Schedule IT-2210A, she shows she owes no penalty for the first three installment periods, and that a proper payment was made for the fourth installment period. She will owe no penalty.

#### Farmers and Fishermen.

Special options are available if more than two-thirds of your gross income for 2020 and/or 2021 was from farming or fishing.

**Option 1.** Pay your estimated tax in one payment on or before Jan. 18, 2022, and file your tax return by April 18, 2022; or **Option 2.** Make no estimated tax payment and file your tax return and pay all the tax due by March 1, 2022.

*Example.* More than two-thirds of Henry's gross income is from farming. He should complete Schedule IT-2210. Henry will be able to use the Section D Short Method to figure his penalty or to show he meets an exception to owing a penalty.

Visit our website at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individualincome-tax-forms/ to get Schedule IT-2210 or Schedule IT-2210A.

## Line 21 – Refund

You have a refund if line 18 is greater than the combined amounts entered on lines 19d and 20.

**Important**. If the combination of line 19d plus line 20 is greater than the amount on line 18, you must make an adjustment. The estimated tax carryover amount on line 19d is limited; it cannot be greater than

the remainder of line 18 minus line 20. See the second example about Stu under the Line 19 instructions on page 9.

# A Note About Refund Offsets

Indiana law requires that money you owe to the state, its agencies, and certain federal agencies, be deducted from your refund or credit before a refund is issued. This includes money owed for past-due taxes, student loans, child support, food stamps or an IRS levy. If DOR applies your refund to any of these debts, you will receive a letter explaining the situation.

# When to Expect Your Refund

Generally, 10 to 14 business days is the average wait for a refund if the tax return is electronically filed; it can take up to 10 to 12 weeks for the refund to be issued if you mail in your tax return.

# Where's Your Refund?

There are several ways to check the status of your refund. You will need to know the exact amount of your refund, and a Social Security number entered on your tax return. Then, do one of the following:

- Go to www.in.gov/dor/individual-income-taxes/check-the-statusof-your-refund/ and click Check the Status of Your Refund.
- Call (317) 232-2240 for automated refund information; to speak to a representative, please call during regular business hours, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday Friday.

A refund directly deposited to your bank account may be listed on your bank statement as a credit, deposit, etc. If you have received information from DOR that your refund has been issued, and you are not sure if it has been deposited in your bank account, call the ACH Section of your bank or financial institution for clarification.

**Important.** If we are unable to deposit your refund to the listed account (incorrect/incomplete account numbers; account closed; refund to go to an account outside the United States; etc.), DOR will mail a paper check to the address on the front of the tax form.

**Note.** A refund deposited directly to your Hoosier MasterCard account will appear on your monthly statement.

# Statute of Limitations for Refund Claims

There is a **statute of limitations** when filing for a refund of overpaid taxes for tax year 2021. In general, a claim for refund must be made by April 15, 2025 (Nov. 14, 2025 if filing under extension). The claim for refund is considered to be made on the day your tax return is postmarked. If you file your 2021 tax return after the statute of limitations has expired, no refund will be issued.

## Line 22 – Direct Deposit

You may choose to have your refund deposited in your checking, savings or Hoosier Works Master Card account. If you want your refund directed into your checking or savings account, complete lines 22 a, b, c and d.

*Caution*. If you choose this option, make sure to verify the account information after you have entered it. This will help ensure your refund is deposited into your desired account.

The routing number is nine digits, with the first two digits of the number beginning with 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. Do not use a deposit slip to verify the number because it may have internal codes as part of the actual routing number.

The account number can be up to 17 digits. Omit any hyphens, accents and special symbols. Enter the number from left to right and leave any unused boxes blank.

Check the appropriate box for the type of account you are making your deposit to: either a checking account or savings account.

To comply with banking rules, you must place an X in the box on line d if your refund is going to an account outside the United States. If you check the box, we will mail you a paper check.

If you currently have a **Hoosier Works MasterCard** and wish to have your refund directly deposited in your account, enter your 12-digit account number on line 22b, where it says "Account Number" (do not write anything on line 22a "Routing Number"). You can find your 12-digit account number in the upper right-hand corner of your account monthly statement.

**Note.** DO NOT use your MasterCard 16-digit number. Make sure to check the "Hoosier Works MC" box on line 22c.

For more information on direct deposit, please see "Where's Your Refund?" in the left-hand column.

#### Line 23

If line 21 is less than zero, you have an amount due. Enter here as a positive number and skip to line 24.

#### OR

If line 15 is greater than line 14, complete the following steps:		
Subtract line 14 from line 15 and enter the total here A		
Enter any amount from line 20 B		
Add lines A + B. Enter total here and on line 23 C		

#### Line 24 – Penalty

You may owe a penalty if your tax return is filed after the April 18, 2022 due date and you have an amount due. Penalty is 10% of the amount due (line 23 minus line 20) or \$5, whichever is greater.

*Exception*. No penalty will be due if you have:

- An extension of time to file,
- Are filing and paying the remaining tax due by the extended filing due date, and
- Have prepaid at least 90% of the amount due by April 18, 2022.

#### Line 25 – Interest

You will owe interest (even if you have an extension of time to file) if your tax return is filed after the April 18, 2022 due date and you have an amount due. Interest should be figured on the sum of line 23 minus line 20. Contact DOR at (317) 232-2240 or visit our website at www. in.gov/dor/files/reference/dn03.pdf to get Departmental Notice #3 for the current interest rate.

### Line 26 – Amount Due – Payment Options

There are several ways to pay the amount you owe.

Electronic payments can be made via DOR's e-service portal, the Indiana Taxpayer Information Management Engine (INTIME), at https://intime.dor.in.gov. INTIME offers customers the ability to manage their accounts in one convenient location, 24/7. Accepted forms of payment via INTIME include electronic bank payment (ACH/e-check), Visa, MasterCard and Discover debit or credit cards. No fees are assessed for electronic bank payments. Fees apply to payments made with credit or debit cards. You do not need to logon to INTIME to make payments. Simply select the "Make a Payment" option on the page. An INTIME User Guide for Individual Income Tax Customers is available at https://www.in.gov/dor/files/intimeindividual-guide.pdf to help you through the process.

Another option is to mail your payment to: Indiana Department of Revenue P.O. Box 7224 Indianapolis, IN 46207-7224

You may pay in person at one of DOR's district offices with cash, but with the exact amount only. Other in-person options include paying with a money order, cashier's check or personal check made payable to DOR.

Note: All payments to DOR must be made with U.S Funds.

**Payment plan option.** If you cannot pay the full amount due at the time you file, you may be eligible to set up a payment plan online using DOR's e-services portal, the Indiana Taxpayer Information Management Engine (INTIME), at intime.dor.in.gov. INTIME offers customers the ability to manage their tax account(s) in one convenient location, 24/7. After you get a tax bill, go to https://intime.dor.in.gov and create a log on using the Letter ID on your tax bill. Set up a payment plan from the "All Actions" tab menu.

**Important.** If using the payment plan option, penalty and interest will be due on all amounts paid after the April 18, 2022 due date.

If you have questions, contact DOR in one of three ways:

- Use the secure messaging feature in the Indiana Taxpayer Information Management Engine (INTIME). If you are not registered, create an online account at intime.dor.in.gov. Select "New to INTIME? Sign up" and follow instructions to complete the process. You will need your taxpayer ID (FEIN, SSN, etc.) and the unique Letter ID, printed in the upper-right hand corner of this letter. Once logged in, select "Respond to a letter, notice, or bill" under the "All Actions" menu.
- Call DOR Customer Service at 317-232-2240, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. 4:30 p.m. EST.
- Correspond with DOR via mail using this address: Indiana Department of Revenue 100 N. Senate Ave. Indianapolis, IN 46204-2253

#### **Returned Checks and Other Types of Payments**

If you make a tax payment with a check, credit card, debit card, electronic funds transfer, or any other instrument in payment by any commercially allowable means, and DOR is unable to obtain payment for its full amount when it is presented for payment through normal banking channels, a \$35 penalty will be assessed.

The assessed amount will be due immediately upon receipt of the tax due notice and must be paid by certified check, bank draft or money order. *Note. Any permits and/or licenses issued by DOR may be revoked if the assessed amount is not paid immediately.* 

# **Signatures and Signing Dates**

First, read the Authorization area on Schedule 7. Then, sign and date the tax return. If this is a jointly filed tax return, both you and your spouse must sign and date it. Make sure to enclose the completed Schedule 7 when filing.

## **Taxpayer Advocate**

As prescribed by the Taxpayer Bill of Rights, DOR has an appointed Taxpayer Advocate whose purpose is to facilitate the resolution of taxpayer complaints and complex tax issues. If you have a complex tax issue, you must first pursue resolution through normal channels, such as contacting the customer service division at (317) 232-2240. If you are still unable to resolve your tax issue, or a tax assessment places an undue hardship on you, you may receive assistance from the Office of the Taxpayer Advocate.

For more information, and to get required schedules if filing for an offer in compromise or a hardship case, visit our website at: www.in.gov/dor/contact-us/taxpayer-advocate-office/. You may also contact the Office of the Taxpayer Advocate directly at taxpayeradvocate@dor.in.gov, or by telephone at (317) 232-4692. Submit supporting information and documents to: Indiana Department of Revenue, Office of the Taxpayer Advocate, P.O. Box 6155, Indianapolis, IN 46206-6155.

# Where to Mail Your Tax Return

If you are enclosing a payment, please mail your tax return with all enclosures to: **Indiana Department of Revenue P.O. Box 7224 Indianapolis, IN 46207-7224** 

For all other filings, please mail your tax return with all enclosures to: Indiana Department of Revenue P.O. Box 40 Indianapolis, IN 46206-0040

# Schedule 1: Add-Backs

Some amounts reported on your federal tax return may require different treatment for Indiana income tax purposes. Listed in this area are those items that may need to be added back on your Indiana tax return. Please review the list carefully. When reporting these addbacks, maintain with your records the corresponding federal tax forms and schedules as DOR can require you to provide them at a later date.

# Important Information About Possible Year-End Federal Legislation

This publication was finalized before all year-end federal legislative changes were complete. Therefore, some of these add-backs may need to be adjusted. You may wish to periodically check DOR's homepage at www.in.gov/dor for updates about any impact of late federal legislation.

# Treatment of Previously Discontinued Add-Back

Several discontinued add-backs were created as a result of timing differences between federal and Indiana allowable expenses. See *Certain Discontinued Add-Backs: How and When to Report a Final Catch-Up Modification* on page 14 for information about these add-backs.

# Line 1 – Tax Add-Back

If you **did not complete Federal Schedules C, E or F,** which include sole proprietorship income, farm income, rental, partnership, S corporation, and trust and estate income (or loss), **then do not complete this line.** 

On those schedules you are allowed to claim a deduction for taxes paid which are:

- based on, or
- measured by income, and
- levied at a state level by any state in the United States.

If you claimed this kind of deduction on any of these schedules, then you must add it back to your Indiana income. **Do not** add back property taxes on this line.

**Wagering Taxes.** The portion of wagering taxes required to be added back as a tax based on or measured by income is being reduced (phased out). The percentage of taxes required to be added back is determined by the first date of the taxpayer's taxable year, and is determined as follows: 2020 – 75%; 2021 – 62.5%; 2022 – 50%; 2023 – 37.5% 2024 – 25.0%; 2025 – 12.5%; 2026 and later – no add back required.

For example, Casino X remits \$10,000,000 in riverboat wagering taxes in 2021. Individual owns 10% of Casino X. Individual's share of Casino X's in-come taxes is \$1,000,000. Instead of individual adding back the full \$1,000,000, Individual will add back \$625,000.

**Note.** Income, losses and/or expenses from other schedules and forms may flow through to federal Schedules C, E and F. For example, partnership income from federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1065) may be included on federal Schedule E, while expenses from federal Form 8829 may be included on federal Schedule C. Make sure to check these schedules and forms for any deduction that needs to be added back.

# Line 2 – Net Operating Loss Add-Back

Any net operating loss (NOL) deduction reported on line 8 of your federal Schedule 1 must be added back on this line. Write the amount of the net operating loss as a **positive** figure. (You may be eligible to claim an Indiana net operating loss deduction on Schedule 2, under line 9.)

**Note**. Leave this line blank if you did not report a net operating loss deduction on line 8 of your federal Schedule 1.

#### Schedule 1: Add-Backs Continued

# Line 3 – OOS Municipal Obligation Interest Add-Back

Interest earned from a direct obligation of a state or political subdivision other than Indiana (out of state, or OOS) is taxable by Indiana if the obligation is acquired after Dec. 31, 2011. Interest earned from obligations held or acquired before Jan. 1, 2012, is not subject to Indiana income tax and should not be reported as an add back.

**Note**. Interest earned from obligations of Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, or Northern Mariana is not included in federal gross income and is exempt under federal law. There is no addback for interest earned on these obligations.

For more information about this add-back, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #19 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib19.pdf.

# Line 4 – Bonus Depreciation Add-Back

You must make an exception for any bonus depreciation deduction used for property placed in service after Sept. 11, 2001. Bonus depreciation is the additional first-year special depreciation deduction allowed under Section 168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC).

Figure the net income (or loss) that would have been included in federal adjusted gross income had the bonus depreciation method not been used. Then, enter the difference, which may be a positive or negative amount, on line 4.

*Example.* Mack used the bonus depreciation method for federal income tax purposes. After refiguring the depreciation without using the bonus method, he has to add back \$1,500 on his Indiana tax return.

**Note.** After making an initial adjustment for bonus depreciation you will need to refigure the amount of depreciation available for state tax purposes for subsequent years.

*Example*. Ann made an initial adjustment for bonus depreciation on last year's Indiana tax return. This year she figures she is entitled to a \$150 additional depreciation amount for state tax purposes. She should enter that amount as a negative entry, or -150, on line 4.

Special rules may apply if the bonus depreciation is taken against property acquired in a like-kind exchange or acquired in a taxable year in which you have an excess business loss. See Income Tax Information Bulletin #118 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib118.pdf for additional information.

# Line 5 – Section 179 Expense Add-Back

You may have figured an IRC Section 179 expense using a ceiling of more than \$25,000 for federal tax purposes. Indiana allows you to figure IRC Section 179 expense using a ceiling of no more than \$25,000. If you figured IRC Section 179 expense using a ceiling amount of more than \$25,000, you will need to add back the difference between it and \$25,000 on line 5.

Special rules may apply if the bonus depreciation is taken against property acquired in a like-kind exchange or acquired in a taxable year in which you have an excess business loss. See Income Tax Information Bulletin #118 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib118.pdf for additional information.

# Line 6 – Other Add-Backs

Each of the following add-backs has been assigned a 3-digit code number. When reporting the add-back, write its name, the associated 3-digit number and the amount.

# **Conformity Add-Back**

Before this publication was finalized Indiana had not conformed to any changes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) that may have become law after March 31, 2021. Therefore, the IRC used to figure Indiana income may not wind up being the same as the IRC used to figure federal income.

This add-back is specific to these annual current year conformity issues. If uncertainty exists as to whether or not Indiana will adopt some or all of the federal legislation passed after March 31, 2021, that acts to modify federal AGI, you may add-back those items as an "other" add-back. In the event those items are adopted, an amended return should be filed to recoup the add-back(s).

## • Conformity Add-Back – Positive Entry 120

This add-back is only for current year conformity issues. Conformity issues for preceding tax years must be addressed on the add-back line specific to the item in question.

If the state legislature does not conform to federal code changes enacted after March 31, 2021, you may have to amend your return at a later date to reflect any differences between Indiana and federal law. You may wish to periodically check DOR's homepage at www.in.gov/ dor for updates.

Enter code 120 on Schedule 1 under line 6 if reporting this add-back.

## • Conformity Add-Back – Negative Entry 147

This add-back generally is based on conformity issues arising from a previous year. However, in rare cases this can arise from conformity issues arising in the current year where the IRC treats an item as taxable or nondeductible that was previously exempt or deductible.

One example that occurs periodically is when there is a federal disaster. Congress will amend the IRC to permit IRA withdrawals to be included over three years (e.g., a 2021 withdrawal would be included one-third in 2021, one-third in 2022, and one-third in 2023). If Indiana decoupled from the IRC, the whole amount would be included in 2021, none in 2022, and none in 2023. The Code 120 would be for the two-thirds add-back in 2021, the Code 147 would be for the one-third deduction in 2022 and 2023. These have occurred from time to time but (1) did not affect Indiana because of the specific disaster and (2) the IRC conformity date was updated in time.

Enter code 147 on Schedule 1 under line 6 if reporting this add-back.

# Employer Student Loan Payment Add-Back 148

If your employer paid any amount for your student loans and you excluded the payment from your federal gross income, add back the amount you excluded from your gross income. This amount must be added back regardless of whether your employer paid you the amount

#### Schedule 1: Add-Backs continued

for your student loans or whether your employer paid the student loan on your behalf.

If you were denied a federal adjusted gross income tax deduction for the portion of student loan interest paid by your employer, complete Worksheet 4-1 provided in IRS Publication 970 to determine the amount (if any) of additional interest allowable for Indiana purposes, including the additional amount allowable under this section (but not in excess of \$2,500 total). Report any additional interest deductible beyond using Code 147. This deduction cannot exceed the amount you are required to add back using Code 148.

## Meal Deduction Add-Back 149

If you:

- claimed a deduction for meal expenses with regard to food and beverages provided by a restaurant in computing your federal adjusted gross income; AND
- the deduction would have been limited to 50% of the meal expenses if the expenses had been incurred before Jan. 1, 2021,

add back the amount deducted for federal purposes in excess of 50% of the food or beverage expenses.

Do not add back any amounts:

- Claimed as an itemized deduction for federal income tax purposes; or
- Any amount for which an exception to the 50% limitation was in effect for amounts paid before Jan. 1, 2021.

*Example*: John incurs \$2,000 in meal expenses during 2021 and deducts the entire \$2,000 in computing John's 2021 federal adjusted gross income. The meal expenses do not qualify for a federal exception from the 50% limitation under pre-2021 IRC \$ 274. John is required to add back \$1,000.

## Student Loan Discharge Add-Back 150

If you had a student loan discharged during the taxable year and you excluded the amount of the discharge from your federal gross income, add back the amount of discharged loans excluded from your federal gross income. Do not include amounts that would have been excluded from federal gross income prior to 2021. If you were insolvent at the time of the discharge, your addback is reduced by the amount that would have been excluded for federal income tax purposes if you had chosen to exclude the discharged debt from federal gross income under IRC 108(a)(1)(B).

## **Excess Federal Interest Deduction Modification 142**

IRC Section 163(j) limits the federal interest deduction for most business interest to 30% (50% for 2019 and 2020 in certain cases) of adjusted taxable income plus business interest. However, Indiana has decoupled from this provision. Subtract an amount equal to the amount as a deduction for excess business interest under IRC Section 163(j) in the year in which the interest was first paid or accrued. If you are deducting any business interest carried over from a previous year, add the amount of this interest deducted. Enter code 142 on Schedule 1 under line 6 if reporting this add-back.

# Federal Repatriated Dividend Deduction Add-Back 139

Untaxed foreign earnings and profits are repatriated dividends that need to be reported when filing state taxes. Individuals should add back the deduction taken on federal Form 965, Line 17. For additional information see Income Tax Information Bulletin #116 at www.in.gov/ dor/reference/files/ib116.pdf.

# **Qualified Preferred Stock 113**

If an individual:

- had losses from the sale or exchange of preferred stock in either Federal National Mortgage Association or Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation;
- treated the loss from the sale or exchange as ordinary income for federal income tax purposes in the year the loss had been incurred; and
- had any amount previously added back that not been allowed as a deduction,

the individual is permitted to continue deducting the loss not previously allowed as a capital loss. However, the amount allowable as a capital loss must be computed in accordance with federal limitations on allowable capital losses. See IRC sections 1211 and 121 for further details on federal limitations. Enter code 113 on Schedule 1 under line 6 if reporting this add-back.

# Certain Discontinued Add-Backs: How and When to Report a Final Catch-Up Modification.

Required add-backs for the following modifications have been eliminated, effective Jan. 1, 2013:

- Motorsports Entertainment Complex, Code 130
- Qualified Advance Mining Safety Equipment, Code 126
- Qualified Electric Utility Amortization, Code 135
- Qualified Environmental Remediation Costs, Code 121
- Qualified Leasehold Improvement Property, Code 129
- Qualified Restaurant Improvement Property, Code 108
- Qualified Retail Improvement Property, Code 109
- Start-Up Expenditures, Code 131

Required add-backs for the following modifications have been eliminated, effective Jan. 1, 2016:

- Qualified Disaster Assistance Property, Code 110
- Qualified Refinery Property, Code 111
- Qualified Film or Television Production, Code 112

If you previously reported any of these add-backs, see the following example for guidance as to how to figure and report a final catch-up modification.

*Example.* Grant has qualified restaurant equipment. For federal tax purposes he used the accelerated 15-year recovery period for an asset placed in service since 2009. Since 2009 Grant had been adding back the depreciation expense taken for federal purposes that exceeded the amount allowable for Indiana purposes. The accumulated depreciation on such an asset through 2012 was, therefore, different for federal and state purposes. This difference will remain until the asset is fully depreciated or until the time of its disposition.

A simple illustration:

Asset – acquired January, 2009 – qualified restaurant property – purchase price \$120,000. This normally would have had a 39-year recovery period; IRC Sec. 168 allows for a 15-year recovery period.

Asset acquired Jan. 2009 \$120,000 purchase price	Federal Depreciation	Add- Back	Indiana Depreciation
Year 1 (2009)	8,000	4,924	3,076
Year 2 (2010)	8,000	4,924	3,076
Year 3 (2011)	8,000	4,924	3,076
Year 4 (2012)	8,000	4,924	3,076
Year 5 (2013) Accumulated Depreciation	8,000 40,000	0	8,000 20,304
Year 6 – 15 Accumulated Depreciation	80,000 120,000	0	80,000 100,304
Year 16 – 38 Accumulated Depreciation	0	0	0
Year 39 (or year of disposition) Add-back	0	-19,696	19,696

Tax year 2012 is the last year Grant reported an add-back until the end of the recovery period. Had this asset been sold before being fully depreciated, the catch-up modification would be reflected in the year of the sale. If this property is held through 2048 (the 39th year of depreciation), Grant will report a negative \$19,696 catch-up add-back on his 2048 state tax return.

Enter the associated 3-digit code on Schedule 1 under line 6 if reporting a final catch-up modification.

# **Schedule 2: Deductions**

#### Line 1 – Renter's Deduction

You may be able to take the renter's deduction if:

- You paid rent on your principal place of residence, and
- You rented a place that was subject to Indiana property tax.

Your "principal place of residence" is the place where you have your true, fixed, permanent home and where you intend to return after being absent.

If you rented a manufactured home or paid rent for your manufactured home lot, you may claim the renter's deduction if the above requirements are met. Rent paid for summer homes or vacation homes is not deductible.

You cannot claim the renter's deduction if the rental property was not subject to Indiana property tax. Examples of this type of property are:

- Government owned housing,
- Property owned by a nonprofit organization,
- Student housing,
- Property owned by a cooperative association, and
- Property located outside of Indiana.

How do I report my deduction? First, complete the information area by entering:

- The address where rented if it's different from the address on the front of the return (leave blank if it is not different),
- The landlord's name and address,
- The total amount of rent paid, and
- The number of months you lived there.

If you moved during the year or had more than one landlord, you must list the same information for each place that you rented. Enclose additional pages if necessary.

**How much rent can I deduct?** You can deduct up to \$3,000 (\$1,500 if married filing separately) or the amount of rent paid, whichever is less.

*Example*. Emily paid \$4,800 in rent on her principal place of residence. She will claim a \$3,000 renter's deduction.

*Example*. Bill paid \$400 rent for his first apartment. He moved to another location during the year and paid \$2,800 rent for the rest of the year. His deduction will be limited to \$3,000, even though he paid \$3,200 altogether.

**Important**. Keep copies of your rental receipts, landlord identifying information and lease agreements as DOR can require you to provide this information.

For more information about this deduction, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #38 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib38.pdf.

# Line 2 – Homeowner's Residential Property Tax Deduction

You may be able to take a deduction of up to \$2,500 (\$1,250 if married filing separately) of the Indiana property taxes (residential real estate taxes) paid on your principal place of residence. Your principal place of residence is the place where you have your true, fixed home and where you intend to return after being absent.

**Note**. Property tax paid for summer homes or vacation homes is not deductible.

**Important**. You cannot claim this deduction for property tax paid in 2021 if you are claiming the Lake County residential income tax credit on Schedule 5, line 6.

How do I claim my deduction? Complete the information area on Schedule 2, line 2. Enter the address of your principal residence where the Indiana property tax was paid if it is different from the address on the front of the return. If you had more than one principal residence during the year, and you paid Indiana property tax on both residences, list the additional residence on a separate piece of paper.

*Example*. Jamie and Ella each owned their own home; they married in 2021. They sold both of their homes during the year and began renting. They are eligible to claim a property tax deduction on the combined property taxes paid on both homes if they are filing a joint return (limited to \$2,500 altogether).

- Enter the number of months you lived there. If you claim more than one residence, enter the number of months lived at the other residence(s) on a separate sheet of paper.
- Enter the amount of Indiana property tax paid. If you lived in more than one residence during the year, enter the combined amount of Indiana property tax paid on all principal residences.
- Enter the smaller of \$2,500 (\$1,250 if married filing separately) or the amount of Indiana property tax paid.

**No double benefit allowed.** If any portion of property taxes paid on your principal residence was deducted as an expense on federal Schedule C, E or F, then do not deduct that amount on this line.

*Example*. Jean paid \$1,200 in Indiana property tax on her home. She used one room of her home for her business, and deducted \$200 Indiana property tax as an expense on her federal Schedule C. Jean is allowed a deduction of \$1,000 (\$1,200 minus the \$200 deduction already taken on federal Schedule C).

#### How do I find out how much I paid in Indiana property tax

**on my principal residence?** Indiana counties send statements to homeowners showing how much property tax is due on their property. Add together the 2021 spring and fall installments, if you paid both of them. If you received just one installment statement this year for your 2021 property taxes, use the amount paid for that installment.

Sometimes mortgage companies pay the Indiana property tax from an escrow account. If your mortgage company pays it, they should send you a Form 1098 (or its equivalent) showing the amount of property tax paid. If you cannot locate the information, contact your local county treasurer's office or your mortgage company.

**Important**. You must maintain copies of proof that you paid your Indiana property tax as DOR can require you to provide this information. This could include the Form 1098, the property tax statement from your local assessor's office, cancelled checks, etc.

#### Line 3 – State Tax Refund Reported on Federal Return

If you entered a state tax refund amount on federal Schedule 1, line 1, then enter that amount here.

# Line 4 – Interest on U.S. Government Obligations Deduction

If the amount on line 1 of Form IT-40 includes interest income, you may be able to take a deduction. If any part of your interest income included on line 1 is from a direct obligation of the U.S. government, you can deduct this amount.

Examples of U.S. government obligations include U.S. savings bonds, U.S. Treasury bills and U.S. government certificates. This interest is usually reported on federal Schedule B.

Interest income reported from a trust, estate, partnership or S corporation that is from U.S. government obligations should also be deducted on this line.

**Note**. When certain U.S. savings bonds are redeemed to pay expenses for higher education, the interest may be excluded from federal adjusted gross income. Therefore, <u>do not</u> enter any interest from U.S. savings bonds that is shown on your federal Schedule B, line 3 (because it has already been excluded from income).

For more information about this deduction see Income Tax Information Bulletin #19 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib19.pdf.

### Lines 5 and 6 – Taxable Social Security and/or Railroad Retirement Benefits Deduction

Indiana does not tax Social Security income or the railroad retirement benefits that are issued by the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board.

To figure your deduction:

- Enter the amount from federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 6b, on Indiana's Schedule 2, line 5.
- If you have included railroad retirement benefits that are issued by the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board on line 5b of your federal Form 1040/1040-SR, then enter that amount on Indiana's Schedule 2, line 6.

**Important**. Do not enter any other types of pension or retirement income on these lines.

**Note**. See the *Railroad Unemployment and Sickness Benefits* deduction instructions on page 22 if you have received unemployment and/or sickness benefits from the Railroad Retirement Board.

## A Word About the Three Military Income Deductions

Military income recipients may be eligible to claim one or more of the three deductions based on the type of income/benefits they get.

1. Military Service Deduction (including the National Guard and reserve component of the armed forces) Individuals with military pay from active duty, National Guard, and/or the reserve component of the armed forces, may be eligible to deduct up to \$5,000 of that income. See the *Military Service Deduction* below to find out if you qualify for this deduction.

#### 2. Military Retirement Income and/or Survivor's Benefits Deduction

Individuals with military retirement income and/or survivor's benefits may be eligible to deduct up to \$6,250 of those benefits plus 75% of the amount received that exceeds \$6,250. See the *Military Retirement Income and/or Survivor's Benefits Deduction* information on page 20 to see if you qualify.

#### 3. National Guard and Reserve Component Members Deduction

This deduction is available for qualified military income received *after* your Indiana National Guard unit is federalized or your reserve component was mobilized and deployed for full-time service. See the *National Guard and Reserve Component Members Deduction* on page 21 to see if you qualify for this deduction.

# Line 7 – Military Service Deduction (including the National Guard and reserve component of the armed forces) Important. The military service deduction and the military

retirement income and/or survivor's benefits deduction are reported in two different places.

- You (and/or your spouse, if married filing jointly and both qualify) will report your active, National Guard and/or reserve military service income deduction here.
- You (and/or your spouse, if married filing jointly and both qualify) will report your military retirement income and/or survivor's benefits deduction on Schedule 2 under line 11, Other Deductions. See the instructions for *Military Retirement Income and Survivor's Benefits Deduction* on page 20.

The income on line 1 of Form IT-40 may include military pay from active duty, National Guard, and/or the reserve component of the armed forces (reserve). If it does, you may be eligible to take this deduction.

The deduction will be the actual amount of your active duty, National Guard, and/or reserve military income or \$5,000, whichever is less. If both you and your spouse received active, National Guard, and/ or reserve military income, you may each claim the deduction for a maximum of \$10,000 (up to \$5,000 each).

*Example 1*. Louis earned \$25,000 from active service in the Army. Brooklynn, his wife, earned \$2,640 from the Indiana National Guard. Louis is eligible for the maximum \$5,000 deduction; Brooklynn is eligible for a \$2,640 deduction.

\*Note. If you served in the reserve or the Indiana National Guard during the tax year, and you were deployed and mobilized for fulltime service, or during the period your Indiana National Guard unit was federalized, then you may be eligible to claim the *National Guard and Reserve Component Members Deduction. See instructions for this deduction* on page 21.

*Example 2*. Alec earned \$1,504 from his service in the National Guard. His unit was federalized in September of the year; he earned \$6,200 after being federalized. Alec is eligible to claim two deductions based on the income he earned. First, he will claim a \$1,504 military service deduction on his Schedule 2, Line 7. Second, he will claim the full \$6,200 income earned after his unit was federalized, on Line 11, using code #621.

Military income earned while in a combat zone is not taxable on your federal or state income tax returns. Since Indiana is not taxing this income, your combat zone income is not eligible for a deduction.

*Example 3.* Jim was on active duty the first month of the year. He was stationed in a combat zone the rest of the year. His military W-2 form shows the first month's regular military wage income of \$1,250 in Box 1. Only \$1,250 of his income is taxed on his federal (and Indiana) tax returns. Jim should claim a \$1,250 military deduction (the lesser of the income being taxed [\$1,250] or \$5,000).

*Example 4.* Mikayla is a member of the National Guard. She earned \$7,250 from service in the National Guard from Jan. 1 through Oct. 31. Her guard unit was federalized for full-time service on Nov. 1, and she earned an additional \$4,800 through Dec. 31 of the year.

Mikayla is eligible to claim both the *Military Service Deduction and the National Guard and Reserve Component Members Deduction.* 

- First, she will claim the \$5,000 maximum military service deduction on Schedule 2, line 7, based on the \$7,250 income earned through Oct. 31.
- Second, she will claim the *National Guard and Reserve Components Deduction* of \$4,800 (full amount of income earned after her unit was federalized) under line 11.

**Important**. You **must** enclose your military W-2 form(s) if you are claiming this deduction.

For more information about this deduction see Income Tax Information Bulletin #27 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib27.pdf.

#### Line 8 – Private School/Homeschool Deduction

You may be eligible for a deduction based on education expenditures paid for each dependent child who is enrolled in a private school or is homeschooled.

#### **Dependent Child Qualifications**

- Your dependent child must be eligible to receive a free elementary or high school education (K-12 range) in an Indiana school corporation;
- You must be eligible to claim the child as a dependent on your federal tax return; and
- The child must be your natural or adopted child or, if not, you must have been awarded custody of the child in a court proceeding making you the court appointed guardian or custodian of the child.

**Education expenditure.** This refers to any expenditures made in connection with enrollment, attendance, or participation of your dependent child in a private elementary or high school education program. The term includes tuition, fees, computer software, textbooks, workbooks, curricula, school supplies (other than personal computers), and other written materials used primarily for academic instruction or for academic tutoring, or both. The term does not include the delivery of instructional service in a home setting to your dependent child who is enrolled in a school corporation or a charter school.

A "**private elementary or high school education program**" means attendance at a nonpublic school (including a private school, a parochial school and a homeschool) in Indiana that satisfies a child's obligation for compulsory attendance at a school.

The obligation for "compulsory attendance" means a child must be in attendance in a school (public and/or private) for a minimum of 180 days in a calendar year.

**Note**. No deduction will be available based on a child who is enrolled in school for a period of less than 180 days in a calendar year.

**Figure your deduction.** If you made an unreimbursed education expenditure during the year your deduction is:

- \$1,000; multiplied by
- the number of qualified dependent children for whom you made education expenditures.

*Example.* Greg and Constance have three children ages 7, 9 and 11. The two oldest children attend a private school. The youngest child attends the neighborhood public school. The parents purchased schoolbooks for all three children. They will be eligible for a \$2,000 deduction (the youngest does not qualify as he attends a public school).

**Note**. A qualifying child may be claimed for this deduction only once per year. For example, if a husband and wife are married and filing separately, whichever parent is eligible to claim the child as a dependent for exemption purposes is eligible to claim this deduction.

For more information about this deduction, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #107 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib107.pdf.

#### Line 9 – Indiana Net Operating Loss Deduction

You may take a deduction for any Indiana net operating losses allowable. (This will be a net operating loss deduction from an earlier year(s) carried forward to 2021).

Complete Schedule IT-40NOL to determine the amount available to be deducted this year. Make sure to enter the amount you are eligible to deduct as a positive figure.

**Note**. It is possible to have an Indiana NOL without also having a federal NOL. See Schedule IT-40NOL, which can be found at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/, for more information.

Enclose Schedule A from federal Form 1045 and a completed Indiana Schedule IT-40NOL when claiming this deduction. If your Schedule A from federal Form 1045 included itemized deductions to increase the federal net operating loss, enclose a pro forma copy of the Schedule A computing the net operating loss without the itemized deductions.

Also, maintain with your records a copy of the federal Form 1040/1040-SR from the loss year as DOR can require you to provide this information at a later date.

# Line 10 – Nontaxable Portion of Unemployment Compensation

You may be eligible for a deduction if you reported unemployment compensation on your federal income tax return. Complete the worksheet on the next page to see if you are eligible. Make sure to enclose your 1099G(s) if you claim the deduction.

**Important**. Do not include any unemployment compensation issued by the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board on line 1 of the worksheet. Instead, see the instructions for the *Railroad Unemployment and Sickness Benefits Deduction* on page 22 for more information.

#### Line 11 – Other Deductions

Each of the following deductions has been assigned a 3-digit code number. When claiming the deduction on Schedule 2 under line 11, write the name of the deduction, the three-digit code number and the amount claimed.

#### **Civil Service Annuity Deduction 601**

The income on line 1 of Form IT-40 may include federal civil service annuity income. If it does, you may be eligible to take a deduction if you were at least 62 years of age by the end of the tax year and/or a surviving spouse of a civil service annuitant.

For each civil service annuitant, the deduction is limited to:

- the lesser of the amount of taxable civil service annuity income included in federal adjusted gross income or \$16,000,
- less all amounts of Social Security income and tier 1 and tier 2 Railroad Retirement income (issued by the Railroad Retirement Board) received by the civil service annuitant.

*Example.* The taxable amount of your civil service annuity is \$6,000. You received \$1,200 in Social Security income. You are age 67.

#### Here is how to figure your deduction.

Lesser of the taxable amount of the annuity or \$16,000\$6,000			
Total of Social Security/tier 1 & tier 2 Railroad Retirement			
income <u>\$1,200</u>			
Allowable deduction\$4,800			

If you receive a civil service annuity both for yourself and as a surviving spouse, the combined deduction cannot exceed \$16,000.

*Example*. Matthew and Claire, both age 68, file a joint federal and state income tax return. They each receive a civil service annuity and Social Security income.

Matthew's taxable civil service annuity is \$13,700; he also received \$17,500 in Social Security income. Since the Social Security income he received is greater than the taxable amount of his annuity, he is not eligible for a deduction.

Claire's taxable civil service annuity is \$21,900; she also received \$6,300 in Social Security income.

#### Here is how to figure Claire's deduction.

Lesser of the taxable amount of the annuity or \$16,000\$16	,000
Claire's Social Security income <u>\$6</u>	,300
Allowable deduction \$9	,700

#### **Surviving Spouse**

A surviving spouse may be eligible to claim this deduction. There is no age requirement for the surviving spouse.

To figure the deduction, begin with the taxable amount of civil service annuity income or \$16,000, whichever is less. Subtract from that amount any Social Security income and tier 1 and tier 2 Railroad Retirement income (issued by the Railroad Retirement Board) the surviving spouse received.

*Example*. Marie is a surviving spouse. The taxable amount of her civil service annuity is \$14,500, and she received \$1,200 in Social Security income.

### **Unemployment Compensation Worksheet**

**Note:** If you were married but filing separately, and you lived with your spouse at any time during the year, enter -0- on line 3 of the worksheet. However, if you were married but filing separately, and lived apart from your spouse the entire year, enter \$12,000 on line 3.

1.	Unemployment compensation included on IT-40, line 1 (do not include any unemployment compensation issued by the Railroad Retirement Board - see instructions)	1	
2.	Federal adjusted gross income from federal Form 1040, line 11	2	
3.	Enter \$12,000 if single, or \$18,000 if married filing a joint return	3	
0.			
4.	Subtract line 3 from line 2. If zero or less, enter -0	4	
5.	Enter one-half of the amount on line 4 (divide line 4 by the number 2)	5	
0.			
6.	Taxable unemployment compensation for Indiana purposes: enter the amount from either line 1		
0.		6	
	or line 5, whichever is smaller	6	
_		_	
7.	Subtract line 6 from line 1. Carry this amount to Schedule 2, line 10	1	

#### Here is how to figure Marie's deduction.

Lesser of the taxable amount of the annuity or \$16,000\$14,500	)
Marie's Social Security income <u>\$1,200</u>	)
Allowable deduction\$13,300	)

You must maintain Form CSA 1099-R with your records as DOR can require you to provide it at a later date.

For more information about this deduction see Income Tax Information Bulletin #6 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib06.pdf. Enter code 601 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

#### **Disability Retirement Deduction 602**

To take this deduction you must have been:

- Permanently and totally disabled at the time of retirement,
- Retired on disability before the end of the tax year, and
- Received disability retirement income during the tax year.

If you meet these qualifications, you must complete Schedule IT-2440 and have it signed by your doctor to claim this deduction. You must maintain the completed Schedule IT-2440 with your records as DOR can require you to provide it at a later date.

For more information about this deduction see Income Tax Information Bulletin #70 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib70.pdf and Schedule IT-2440 at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individualincome-tax-forms/.

This deduction is limited to a maximum of \$5,200 per qualifying individual.

**Note**. Social Security disability income does not qualify for this deduction because Indiana does not tax this income.

Enter code 602 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

#### Enterprise Zone Employee Deduction 603

Certain areas within Indiana have been designated as enterprise zones.

Enterprise zones are established to encourage investment and job growth in distressed urban areas.

Enterprise zones have been established in areas of certain cities/ locations. Use this website to look up contact information for a particular enterprise zone: www.aiez.org/directory.html.

Your *employer* will provide Form IT-40QEC to you if you are eligible to claim this deduction. The amount of the deduction is one-half of the earned income shown on Form IT-40QEC or \$7,500, whichever is less. If you and your spouse both have received Form IT-40QEC, you may each take this deduction for a combined maximum of \$15,000 (no more than \$7,500 per qualifying person).

Enter code 603 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

# Government or Civic Group Capital Contribution Deduction 633

A deduction is available for certain capital contributions made to a government or civic group. Deduct any eligible contributions as listed on a Schedule K-1 you received from an S corporation, or from an estate or trust that owns a portion of an S corporation AND through which you are receiving a distribution. You must maintain a copy of the Schedule K-1(s) with your records as DOR can require you to provide it at a later date.

Enter code 633 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

#### Human Services Deduction 605

The human services deduction is intended to eliminate any individual income tax imposed on Medicaid recipients who are living in a:

- Hospital,
- Skilled nursing facility,
- Intermediate care facility,
- Licensed county home,
- Licensed boarding or residential home, or
- Certified Christian Science facility.\*

The goal of the human services tax deduction is to reduce the affected individual's adjusted gross income tax liability to zero (-0-).

\*An eligible Christian Science facility must be listed with and certified by the Commission for Accreditation of Christian Science Nursing Organizations/Facilities, Inc.

Generally, the deduction should not be used in conjunction with most tax credits in order to create a refund. If you are a Medicaid recipient and live in one of the facilities listed above, to determine whether you are eligible for the deduction you must first prepare your tax return without claiming a human services deduction. Generally, if a refund is due, you are not eligible for a deduction. File your return without claiming the deduction and a refund will be issued. However, if an amount is due, you are eligible to use a deduction.

Enter code 605 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

#### Infrastructure Fund Gift Deduction 631

A deduction is available for certain contributions made to a regional development infrastructure fund. You should keep detailed records of the contribution as DOR can require you to provide this information at a later date.

Enter code 631 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

#### Indiana Lottery Winnings Annuity Deduction 629

You may be eligible to deduct annuity payments received from a winning Hoosier Lottery ticket for a lottery held prior to July 1, 2002. This deduction applies only to prizes won from the Hoosier Lottery Commission; proceeds from other state lotteries or from other gambling sources, such as casinos, are not deductible. In addition, proceeds from winning Hoosier Lottery tickets for lotteries held after June 30, 2002, are not deductible.

*Example.* Jennifer won \$2,000,000 playing the Hoosier Lottery with a ticket purchased in June of 2002. She elected to receive annual installment payments of \$100,000. Since Jennifer reported her \$100,000 annuity payment on her federal tax return this year, she is eligible to claim a \$100,000 deduction.

**Note**. Individuals or entities that have purchased Hoosier Lottery prizes from a winning ticket holder for valuable consideration are not eligible for this deduction.

Enter code 629 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

# Indiana Partnership Long-Term Care Policy Premiums Deduction 608

You may take a deduction for the amount of premiums paid for Indiana partnership long-term care insurance. If you are a married individual filing separately, you may not claim a deduction for amounts paid by or on behalf of your spouse. **Important**. The Indiana partnership policy will have the following box of information on the outline of coverage, the application or on the front page of the policy.

This policy qualifies under the Indiana Long-Term Care program for Medicaid Asset Protection. This policy may provide benefits in excess of the asset protection provided in the Indiana Long-Term Care program.

If the information shown in the box above is not located in a box on your policy, you do not have a qualifying policy, and are not eligible to take this deduction. The deduction is the amount of premiums paid during the year on the policy for the taxpayer and/or spouse.

**No double benefit allowed**. Certain self-employed individuals will claim these premiums as a deduction on federal Form 1040/1040-SR. The Indiana deduction will be the actual amount of these premiums paid, minus any amount of these already reported on federal Form 1040/1040-SR.

More information about this program is available at www.in.gov/iltcp.

**Important**. Keep a copy of the premium statements as DOR can require you to provide this information. Enter code 608 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

# Military Retirement Income and/or Survivor's Benefits Deduction 632

The income on line 1 of Form IT-40 may include military retirement income and/or survivor's benefits. If it does, you (and/or your spouse, if married filing jointly and both qualify) may be eligible to take this deduction.

The taxability of this income is being phased out. For tax year 2021, the maximum amount eligible to be deducted has increased. You may be eligible to deduct up to \$6,250 of these benefits plus 75% of the amount received that exceeds \$6,250.

Use the worksheet below to figure your deduction.

# Military Retirement Income and/or Survivor's Benefits Deduction Worksheet

Step 1	Round all entries
Add together your military retirement income	
and survivor's benefits	\$

#### <u>Step 2</u>

Is the amount on Step 1 greater than \$6,250?

- A. No. STOP. The amount on Step 1 is your deduction. Enter on Schedule 2, under line 11, using code 632
- B. Yes. Continue to Step 3.

#### <u>Step 3</u>

Subtract \$6,250 from the amount on Step 1 ...... \$

#### <u>Step 4</u>

- <b>1</b>		
Multiply the amount on S	Step 3 by 0.75	\$

#### <u>Step 5</u>

Add \$6,250 to the amount on Step 4.
This is your deduction. Enter on Schedule 2,
under line 11, using code 632 \$

If both you and your spouse received military retirement income and/ or survivor's benefits, you may each claim the deduction. You must complete a separate worksheet to figure both deductions.

*Example*. Gabriel and Christina got married during the year. They are filing as married filing jointly. Gabriel received \$17,500 military retirement income during the year. Christina received \$13,000 military retirement benefits and \$8,000 in survivor's benefits. Here's how they will figure and report their deduction:

#### Worksheet for Gabriel

<u>Step 1</u>	Round all entries
Add together Gabriel's military retirement income	
and survivor's benefits	\$ <u>17,500</u>

#### Step 2

Is the amount on Step 1 greater than \$6,250?

- A. No. STOP. The amount on Step 1 is your deduction. Enter on Schedule 2, under line 11, using code 632
  - B. Yes. Continue to Step 3.

#### <u>Step 3</u>

Subtract \$6,250 from the amount on Step 1	\$ <u>11,250</u>
--	------------------

#### Step 4

Multiply the amount	on Step 3 by 0.75	\$ <u>8,438</u>

#### <u>Step 5</u>

Add \$6,250 to the amount on Step 4.
This is your deduction. Enter on Schedule 2,
under line 11, using code 632 \$ <u>14,688</u>

#### Worksheet for Christina

<u>Step 1</u>	Round all entries
Add together Christina's military retirement income	
and survivor's benefits	\$ <u>21,000</u>

#### Step 2

- Is the amount on Step 1 greater than \$6,250? A. No. STOP. The amount on Step 1 is your deduction. Enter on Schedule 2, under line 11, using code 632 P. Yee, Continue to Step 2
  - B. Yes. Continue to Step 3.

#### <u>Step 3</u>

Subtract \$6,250 from	the amount on Step 1	\$ <u>14,750</u>

#### <u>Step 4</u>

Multiply the amount on Step 3 by 0.75 ..... \$ <u>11,063</u>

#### Step 5

Add \$6,250 to the amount on Step 4.
This is your deduction. Enter on Schedule 2,
under line 11, using code 632 \$ <u>17,313</u>

Since both Gabriel and Christina are eligible for a deduction, add the amounts from Step 5 of both worksheets together and report the \$32,001 total on Schedule 2, under line 11, using code 632.

**Important**. You **must** enclose your military retirement income statement(s) and/or survivor's benefit statement(s) with the tax return if you are claiming this deduction.

For more information about this deduction see Income Tax Information Bulletins #6 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib06.pdf.

#### National Guard and Reserve Component Members Deduction 621

Regular military income from being in the reserves and Indiana National Guard is eligible for the Military Service Deduction. See instructions for that deduction beginning on page 16. Do not claim a deduction for this kind of income here.

This deduction is available for *qualified military income*\* received during the period

- you were mobilized<sup>1</sup> and deployed<sup>2</sup> for full-time service, or
- your Indiana National Guard unit is federalized.

<sup>1</sup>"Mobilization" includes assembling and organizing personnel and material for active duty military forces, activating the Reserve Component (including federalizing the National Guard), extending terms of service, surging and mobilizing the industrial base and training bases, and bringing the Armed Forces of the United States to a state of readiness for war or other national emergency.

\*Servicemembers serving on full time orders in an Active Guard and Reserve Program (AGR) are not considered mobilized for purposes of claiming their income as *qualified military income*.

<sup>2</sup>"Deployment" is the relocation of forces and material to desired operational areas. Deployment encompasses all activities from origin or home station through destination, specifically including intracontinental U.S., inter-theater, and intra-theater movement legs, staging, and holding areas.

If you meet the qualifications listed below, you will want to deduct that qualified military income here (unlike the Military Service Deduction, there is no ceiling on the amount of this kind of income which is eligible for a deduction).

#### Who is Eligible?

You must be a member of the reserve components of:

•	your India

- the Army;
- the Navy;
- the Air Force;
- the Coast Guard;
- the Marine Corps; or
- the Merchant Marine.

Or, a member of:

- the Indiana Army National Guard; or
- the Indiana Air National Guard.

#### What is Eligible to be Deducted?

If you are eligible, your deduction is the qualified military income<sup>\*</sup> received during the period you were deployed and mobilized for full time service, or during the period your Indiana National Guard unit was federalized.

\*Military income received due to service in a **combat zone** is not taxable on your federal or state income tax returns. Since Indiana is not taxing this income, your combat zone income is not eligible for this deduction.

#### What is Qualified Military Income?

Qualified military income is military wages paid to a member of a reserve component of the armed forces or the Indiana National Guard for the period during the member's full-time service in a reserve component of the armed forces or the period when Indiana National Guard unit is federalized.

**Note**. You cannot claim both this deduction and the *Military Service Deduction* (see page 16) based on the same income. See the following example.

*Example*. Brandon is a member of the Indiana National Guard.

- From January through Oct. 15, Brandon earned \$6,000 from the guard.
- His unit was federalized on Oct. 16. He earned \$7,000 from that point through Dec. 1.
- His unit was assigned to a combat zone on Dec. 2, and he earned \$3,000 from then until the end of the year.
- Brandon's military W-2 shows \$13,000 in Box 1, Wages, tips, other compensation (the combat zone income is not included in Box 1 because it is not taxable).

Brandon is eligible for both Indiana military deductions.

- First, he will claim the \$5,000 maximum military service deduction on Schedule 2, line 7, based on the \$6,000 income earned through Oct. 15.
- Second, he will claim the National Guard and reserve components deduction of \$7,000 (full amount of income earned after his unit was federalized) under line 11.

**Note**. He will not deduct the \$3,000 income earned while stationed in a combat zone because it was not taxed to begin with.

Military withholding statements <u>must</u> be attached to the tax return when claiming this deduction.

**Note**. DOR may request copies of your military orders to help determine eligibility.

Get Income Tax Information Bulletin #27 at www.in.gov/dor/ reference/files/ib27.pdf for more information concerning this deduction.

Enter code 621 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

#### Olympic/Paralympic Medal Winners Deduction 627

You are eligible for a deduction if you won a gold, silver and/or bronze medal from participating in the Olympic/Paralympic games. The deduction equals the value of the medal(s) won plus the amount of income received during the taxable year from the United States Olympic Committee as prize money for winning the Olympic medal(s). This deduction may be claimed only in the tax year in which it was won.

Enter code 627 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

#### **Qualified Patents Income Exemption Deduction 622**

Some of the income from qualified patents included in federal taxable income may be exempt from Indiana adjusted gross income tax. A qualified patent is a utility patent or a plant patent issued after Dec. 31, 2007, for an invention resulting from a development process conducted in Indiana. The term does not include a design patent.

You must maintain the completed Schedule IN-PAT with your records as DOR can require you to provide it at a later date. You may get Schedule IN-PAT at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individualincome-tax-forms/.

For more information about this deduction see Income Tax Information Bulletin #104 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib104. pdf.

Enter code 622 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

#### Railroad Unemployment and Sickness Benefits Deduction 624

Benefits issued by the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board are not taxable by Indiana.

Deduct unemployment and/or sick pay benefits issued by the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board on this line if:

- You included these benefits as taxable income on your federal tax return, and
- You did not already deduct these benefits on Schedule 2, lines 5 and/or 6.

Do not include any supplemental sick pay benefits on this line.

Make sure to keep the statements (such as Form 1099G) issued by the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board as DOR may request them at a later date.

Enter code 624 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

# **Recovery of Deductions 616**

You are not eligible for this deduction if you did not complete the "other income" line on Schedule 1 of your federal Form 1040/1040-SR.

Generally, Indiana does not allow you to claim itemized deductions from federal Schedule A. However, if you reported recovered itemized deductions as "other income" on line 8 of your federal Schedule 1, enter that amount on this line. A *recovery* is a return of an amount you deducted in an earlier year. The most common recoveries are refunds (see Indiana's Schedule 2, line 3), reimbursements and rebates of deductions previously itemized on federal Schedule A.

Enter code 616 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

# **Repayment of Previously Taxed Income Deduction** 630

You may be eligible to claim a deduction for the repayment of previously taxed income, also known as "claim of right," if:

- You reported the income to Indiana in a previous year,
- You repaid some or all of it this year, and
- For federal tax purposes, you are eligible to:
  - claim the repayment as an itemized deduction, or 0
  - 0 claim a credit based on the repayment amount.

Example 1. Ryan was a full-year Indiana resident in 2020, and received \$1,700 unemployment compensation that year. He reported the full amount on his 2020 federal and Indiana income tax returns. In March of 2021 Ryan found out he had to repay \$345 of that compensation; he repaid it that summer. For 2021 federal tax purposes he is eligible to claim an itemized deduction\* based on the \$345 amount repaid. Ryan is eligible to claim the \$345 amount as a repayment of previously taxed income as a deduction on his 2021 state tax return.

\*In this example Ryan is not required to claim itemized deductions when figuring his federal taxable income; he may have opted to use the standard deduction instead. Regardless, he is still eligible to claim the deduction on his state tax return.

Note. An adjustment will need to be made if an unemployment compensation deduction was claimed on the return in the year the income was reported. To do this, reduce the amount previously reported by the amount repaid; refigure the deduction based on the reduced amount. Subtract the difference from the repayment amount to be deducted.

Example 1, continued. Ryan claimed a \$73 unemployment compensation deduction on his 2020 state tax return. He refigured the deduction based on the reduced \$1,355 compensation (\$1,700 -\$345), which reduced the deduction by \$15. Ryan will report the \$330 net difference (\$345 repayment minus the \$15 reduced deduction amount) as the repayment of previously taxed income deduction.

Important. While no corresponding state credit for the repayment of previously taxed income is available, a deduction based on the amount repaid is.

Example 2. In 2021 Cynthia repaid \$3,400 of income originally reported on her 2020 federal and Indiana state tax returns. She claimed a credit on her 2021 federal tax return based on the \$3,400 amount repaid. Cynthia is eligible to claim the \$3,400 amount as a deduction.

Important. Indiana does not tax Social Security income. Therefore, any amount of Social Security income repaid in a subsequent year is not eligible for a deduction (since Indiana has not previously taxed this income).

Note. Keep a copy of your records detailing the required repayment as DOR can require you to provide this information at a later date.

Enter code 630 on Schedule 2 under line 11 if claiming this deduction.

# **COVID-related Employee Retention Credit Disallowed Expenses Deduction 634**

If you had a deduction that was disallowed for federal purposes because an employer claimed a federal COVID-related employee retention credit, deduct the amount that was:

- disallowed for federal purposes; and •
- that otherwise would have been allowable in determining Indiana adjusted gross income.

Do not deduct any amounts for amounts disallowed for non-COVID related employee retention credits such as disaster-related employee retention credits.

# Indiana-only Tax-exempt Bonds Deduction 636

If you had interest from a bond issued by or in the name of certain Indiana government subdivisions or entities or amounts received upon redemption or maturity of the bond, deduct any interest or other income included in federal gross income. Do not deduct any bond interest that is excluded from federal gross income. In addition, if you sell the bond, do not deduct any amounts for which the bond is sold in excess of your purchase price. See IC 6-8-5-1 for further information regarding the deduction.

# **Exemptions**

Exemptions may be claimed on the Indiana return. Categories include exemptions for:

- You, and your spouse, if married filing jointly 1.
- Certain dependents 2.
- Certain dependent children (additional) 3.
- Age 65 or older and/or blind 4.
- Additional age 65 or older (based on income) 5.

While you will need to complete Schedule 3 to list all of your exemptions, you will also need to complete Schedule IN-DEP if claiming any dependents.

# Schedule 3: Exemptions

Line-by-line instructions.

# Line 1 – Exemptions for taxpayer, spouse (if married filing jointly)

If you are married filing jointly, enter \$2,000 on this line. All other filers\* should enter \$1,000 on this line.

\***Important.** Enter \$1,000 on this line even if you are claimed on someone else's tax return, such as a parent or guardian.

### Lines 2 and 3 – Exemptions for dependents; Additional exemptions for certain dependent children

Read the following information to see if you are eligible to claim any dependents. If you are, complete Schedule IN-DEP after reviewing these steps.

- Step 1 Do You Have a Qualifying Child?
- Step 2 Is Your Qualifying Child Your Dependent?
- Step 3 Is Your Qualifying Relative Your Dependent?

# Step 1 Do You Have a Qualifying Child?

A qualifying child is a child who is your...

Son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, half sister, or a descendant of any of them (for example, your grandchild, niece, or nephew)

#### AND, was...

- Under age 19 at the end of the year and younger than you (or your spouse, if filing jointly), or
- Under age 24 at the end of the year, a student (defined later), and younger than you (or your spouse, if filing jointly), or
- Any age and permanently and totally disabled (defined later)

#### AND, who...

- Didn't provide over half of his or her own support for the year (see Income Tax Information Bulletin #117),
- Is not filing a joint return for the year, or is filing a joint return for the year only as a claim for refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid (see Income Tax Information Bulletin #117 for details and examples),
- Lived with you for more than half the year. If the child didn't live with you for the required time, see *Exception to time lived with you*, later.

*Caution*. If the child meets the conditions to be a qualifying child of any other person (other than your spouse if filing a joint return) for the year, or the child was married, see *Qualifying child of more than one person*, later.

Do you have a child who meets the conditions to be your qualifying child?

**Yes**. Go to Step 2. **No**. Go to Step 3.

### Step 2 Is Your Qualifying Child Your Dependent?

 Was the child a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, U.S. resident alien, or a resident of Canada or Mexico? (See Income Tax Information Bulletin #117 for the definition of a U.S. national or U.S. resident alien. If the child was adopted, see *Exception to citizen test*, later.)

Yes. Continue.

No. STOP. You cannot claim this child as a dependent.

2. Was the child married?

Yes. See Married Person, later.

No. Continue.

3. Could you, or your spouse if filing jointly, be claimed as a dependent on someone else's tax return? See Steps 1 and 2.

Yes. STOP. You cannot claim any dependents.

**No**. You can claim this child as a dependent. See Schedule IN-DEP instructions below.

#### Step 3 Is Your Qualifying Relative Your Dependent? A qualifying relative is a person who is your...

- Son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, or a descendant of any of them (for example, your grandchild), or
- Brother, sister, half brother, half sister, half brother, half sister, or a son or daughter of any of them (for example, your niece, or nephew), or
- Father, mother, or an ancestor of sibling of either of them (for example, your grandmother, grandfather, aunt or uncle), or
- Any other person (other than your spouse) who lived with you all of the year as a member of your household if your relationship does not violate local law. If the person did not live with you for the required time, see *Exception to time lived with you*, later.

#### AND, who...

- Was not a qualifying child (see Step 1) of any taxpayer during the year. For this purpose, a person isn't a taxpayer if he or she isn't required to file a U.S. income tax return **and** either doesn't file such a return or files only to get a refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid. See Income Tax Information Bulletin #117 for details and examples.
- Had gross income of less than \$4,300 during the year. If the person was permanently and totally disabled, see *Exception to gross income test*, later.

#### AND, for whom ...

You provided over half of his or her support during the year. But see *Children of divorced or separated parents, Multiple support agreements, and Kidnapped child*, later.

#### Schedule 3: Exemptions continued

1. Does any person meet the conditions to be your qualifying relative?

#### Yes. Continue.

**No. STOP.** You cannot claim this person as a dependent.

2. Was your qualifying relative a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, U.S. resident alien, or a resident of Canada or Mexico? (See federal Publication 519 for the definition of a U.S. national or U.S. resident alien.) If your qualifying relative was adopted, see Exception to citizen test, later.

#### Yes. Continue

No. STOP. You cannot claim this person as a dependent.

Was your qualifying relative married? 3.

Yes. See Married person, later. No. Continue.

4. Could you or your spouse if filing jointly, be claimed as a dependent on someone else's tax return this year? See Steps 1 and 2.

Yes. STOP. You cannot claim any dependents.

No. You can claim this person as a dependent. See Schedule IN-DEP instructions below.

If you are eligible to claim one or more dependent from Step 2 and/or Step 3, complete Schedule IN-DEP.

# Schedule IN-DEP instructions

You must complete and enclose Schedule IN-DEP if you are claiming any dependents on lines 2 and/or 3 of Schedule 3.

Question 1 – Did you answer "No" to STEP 2, question 3 above? If so, you are eligible to claim the qualifying child (children) as a dependent. Read the Lines 1 through 5 instructions below. If not, skip to Question 2 below.

#### Lines 1 through 5

For each gualified dependent child, enter his or her:

- First and last name in Box A and Box B. •
- Nine-digit Social Security number (SSN) in Box C.
- Date of birth in Box D.

See Additional Dependent Exemptions below to determine whether or not to complete line E.

*Example 1.* Cooper and Grace Doe are eligible to claim their daughter Tatum as a dependent on Schedule IN-DEP. Here is how they will complete line 1:

	Dep. First Name		Dep. Last Name	111	Tatum	ID	Doe
1A	Tatum	1B	Doe		Dependent's SSN		Dependent's DO
	Dependent's SSN		Dependent's DOB	1C	123 45 6789	1D	06 01 2012
1C	123 45 6789	1D	06 01 2012	1E	Additional depender	ıt chil	d exemption

Question 2 - Did you answer "No" to STEP 3, question 4 above? If so, you are eligible to claim the qualifying relative as a dependent.

For each qualified relative, enter his or her:

- First and last name in Box A and Box B.
- Nine-digit Social Security number (SSN) in Box C.
- Date of birth in Box D.

Example 2. Cooper and Grace Doe (see Example 1 above) are also eligible to claim Grace's grandmother, Irene Smith, who lives with them, as a dependent. Here is how they will complete line 2:

	Dep. First Name		Dep. Last Name
2A	Irene	2B	Smith
	Doman dant's SSN		Demondant's DOP
	Dependent's SSN		Dependent's DOB
2C	987 65 4321	2D	10 15 1940

#### Line 6

Add the qualified dependents listed on lines 1 through 5, and enter the total in Box 6. Then, enter this amount in the box on Schedule 3, line 2.

#### Additional Dependent Exemptions

Read below to see if you are eligible to claim an additional dependent exemption for a dependent child (children) listed on lines 1 through 5.

An additional \$1,500 exemption is allowed for certain dependent children. Carefully read the following Dependent child definition below to see if you are eligible for this additional exemption(s).

Dependent child definition: According to state statute, to be eligible for this exemption a dependent child must be a son, stepson, daughter, stepdaughter, foster child\*, child for whom you are a legal guardian, and/or your spouse's child, if filing a joint return. He/she must be either under the age of 19 by the end of the tax year, or be a full-time student who is under the age of 24 by the end of the tax year.

\*The foster child must have lived with you the entire year in order to meet eligibility requirements for purposes of claiming the additional dependent exemption.

If any dependent included in Box 6 on this schedule also meets the Dependent child definition above, place an "X" in box E on the line where the dependent is listed (see following example). Add the number of box E's containing an "X". Enter that number in Box 7, which is located at the bottom of the schedule.

*Example 3.* Cooper and Grace Doe (see *Example 1* above) are eligible to claim the additional dependent exemption for their daughter Tatum. They should enter an "X" on Line 1E.

	Dep. First Name		Dep. Last Name	
1A	Tatum	1B	Doe	
	Dependent's SSN		Dependent's DOB	
1C	123 45 6789	1D	06 01 2012	
1E	Additional depender	nt chil	d exemption 1E X	

#### Schedule IN-DEP continued

**Note**. Not all dependent children are eligible for this additional exemption. For instance, you may have included a grandson as a dependent in Box 6. However, if he doesn't meet the qualification of being a foster child or a child for whom you are a legal guardian, you will not be able to claim the additional exemption for him on Line 7.

#### Line 7

Add the number of any additional dependent child exemptions located in boxes 1E through 5E. Enter the total in Box 7. Then, enter this amount in the box on Schedule 3, line 3.

#### Claiming more than five dependents

If you are claiming more than five dependents, attach an additional Schedule IN-DEP. Make sure to add the additional information to the totals on the first schedule, Boxes 6 and 7, where applicable.

*Example 4.* June has six dependents. She entered information for her sixth dependent on line 1 on a second Schedule IN-DEP. She added the dependent claimed on the second schedule to the five claimed on the first schedule, and entered "6" on the first Schedule IN-DEP, Box 6. She made sure to include the second schedule with her filing. Likewise, she would include the sixth dependent in the total listed in Box 7 if the child listed on the second Schedule IN-DEP qualified for the additional dependent child exemption.

## Line 4 – Age 65 or Older or Blind

If you and/or your spouse (if filing a joint return) are age 65 or older, you and/or your spouse can take an additional \$1,000 exemption. If you and/or your spouse (if filing a joint return) are legally blind, you and/or your spouse can take an additional \$1,000 exemption. Place an "X" in the boxes that apply to you and/or your spouse. Enter the total number of boxes marked on this line and multiply by \$1,000.

## Line 5 – Additional Exemption for Age 65 or Older

An additional \$500 exemption is available for you and/or your spouse (if filing a joint return) if you are age 65 or older and the amount on Form IT-40, line 1, is less than \$40,000 (or if you are married filing separately and the amount on Form IT-40, line 1 is less than \$20,000). Place an "X" in the boxes that apply to you and/or your spouse. Enter the total number of boxes marked on this line and multiply by \$500.

# Definitions and Special Rules for Dependents

Important.

- Various Internal Revenue Service (IRS) forms and publications you may need can be found online at https://apps.irs.gov/app/picklist/list/formsPublications.html.
- Indiana's Income Tax Information Bulletin #117 can be found online at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib117.pdf.

Adopted child. An adopted child is always treated as your own child. An adopted child includes a child lawfully placed with you for legal adoption.

Adoption taxpayer identification numbers (ATINs). If you have a dependent who was placed with you for legal adoption and you don't

know his or her SSN, you must get an ATIN for the dependent from the IRS. Get federal Form W-7A for details. If the dependent isn't a U.S. citizen or resident alien, apply for an ITIN instead, using federal Form W-7.

**Children of divorced or separated parents.** A child will be treated as the qualifying child or qualifying relative of his or her noncustodial parent (defined later) if all of the following conditions apply.

- 1. The parents are divorced, legally separated, separated under a written separation agreement, or lived apart at all times during the last 6 months of the year (whether or not they are or were married).
- The child received over half of his or her support for the year from the parents (and the rules on Multiple support agreements, later, do not apply). Support of a child received from a parent's spouse is treated as provided by the parent.
- 3. The child is in custody of one or both of the parents for more than half of the year.
- 4. Either of the following applies.
  - a. The custodial parent signs federal Form 8332 or a substantially similar statement that he or she won't claim the child as a dependent for the year, and the noncustodial parent maintains a copy of the signed federal Form 8332 with his or her records (as DOR can require this to be provided at a later date). If the divorce decree or separation agreement went into effect after 1984 and before 2009, the noncustodial parent may be able to include certain pages from the decree or agreement instead of federal Form 8332. See *Post-1984 and pre-2009 decree or agreement* and *Post-2008 decree or agreement*.
  - b. A pre-1985 decree of divorce or separate maintenance or written separation agreement between the parents provides that the noncustodial parent can claim the child as a dependent, and the noncustodial parent provides at least \$600 for support of the child during the year.

If conditions (1) through (4) apply, only the noncustodial parent can claim the child for purposes of the dependency.

**Custodial and noncustodial parents.** The custodial parent is the parent with whom the child lived for the greater number of nights in the year. The noncustodial parent is the other parent. If the child was with each parent for an equal number of nights, the custodial parent is the parent with the higher federal AGI. See Income Tax Information Bulletin #117 for an exception for a parent who works at night, rules for a child who is emancipated under state law, and other details.

*Post-1984 and pre-2009 decree or agreement.* The decree or agreement must state all three of the following.

- 1. The noncustodial parent can claim the child as a dependent without regard to any condition, such as payment of support.
- 2. The other parent will not claim the child as a dependent.
- 3. The years for which the claim is released.

The noncustodial parent must maintain with his or her records a copy of all of the following pages from the decree or agreement as DOR can require these to be provided at a later date.

- Cover page (include the other parent's SSN on that page).
- The pages that include all the information identified in (1) through (3) above.

#### Definitions and Special Rules for Dependents continued

• Signature page with the other parent's signature and date of agreement.

**Post-2008 decree or agreement.** If the divorce decree or separation agreement went into effect after 2008, the noncustodial parent cannot include pages from the decree or agreement instead of federal Form 8332. The custodial parent must sign either federal Form 8332 or a substantially similar statement the only purpose of which is to release the custodial parent must include a copy with his or her return. The form or statement must release the custodial parent's claim to the child without any conditions. For example, the release must not depend on the noncustodial parent paying support.

**Release of exemption revoked.** A custodial parent who has revoked his or her previous release of a claim to exemption for a child must maintain with his or her records a copy of the revocation as DOR can require this to be provided at a later date. For details, see federal Form 8332.

**Exception to citizen test.** If you are a U.S. citizen or U.S. national and your adopted child lived with you all year as a member of your household, that child meets the requirement to be a U.S. citizen in Step 2, question 1.

**Exception to gross income test.** If your relative (including a person who lived with you all year as a member of your household) is permanently and totally disabled (defined later), certain income for services performed at a sheltered workshop may be excluded for this test. For details, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #117.

**Exception to time lived with you.** Temporary absences by you or the other person for special circumstances, such as school, vacation, business, medical care, military service, or detention in a juvenile facility, count as time the person lived with you. Also see *Children of divorced or separated parents, earlier, or Kidnapped child*, later.

If the person meets all other requirements to be your qualifying child but was born or died during the year, the person is considered to have lived with you for more than half of the year if your home was this person's home for more than half the time he or she was alive during the year. Any other person is considered to have lived with you for all of the year if the person was born or died during the year and your home was this person's home for the entire time he or she was alive during the year.

**Foster child.** A foster child is any child placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by judgment, decree, or other order of any court of competent jurisdiction.

**Kidnapped child.** If your child is presumed by law enforcement authorities to have been kidnapped by someone who is not a family member, you may be able to take the child into account in determining the dependency exemption. For details, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #117.

**Married person.** If the person is married and files a joint return, you cannot claim that person as your dependent. However, if the person is married but does not file a joint return or files a joint return only

to claim a refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid, you may be able to claim him or her as a dependent. (See Income Tax Information Bulletin #117 for details and examples.) In that case, go to Step 2, question 3 (for a qualifying child) or Step 3, question 4 (for a qualifying relative).

**Multiple support agreements.** If no one person contributed over half of the support of your relative (or a person who lived with you all year as a member of your household) but you and another person(s) provided more than half of your relative's support, special rules may apply that would treat you as having provided over half of the support. For details, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #117.

**Permanently and totally disabled**. A person is permanently and totally disabled if, at any time during the year, the person cannot engage in any substantial gainful activity because of a physical or mental condition and a doctor has determined that this condition has lasted or can be expected to last continuously for at least a year or can be expected to lead to death.

**Public assistance payments.** If you received payments under the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program or other public assistance program and you used the money to support another person, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #117.

**Qualifying child of more than one person.** Even if a child meets the conditions to be the qualifying child of more than one person, only one person can claim the child as a dependent. If you and any other person can claim the child as a dependent, the following rules apply:

- If only one of the persons is the child's parent, the child is treated as the qualifying child of the parent;
- If the parents file a joint return together and can claim the child as a qualifying child, the child is treated as the qualifying child of the parents;
- If the parents do not file a joint return together but both parents claim the child as a qualifying child, DOR will treat the child as the qualifying child of the parent with whom the child lived for the longer period of time during the year. If the child lived with each parent for the same amount of time, DOR will treat the child as the qualifying child of the parent who had the higher federal AGI for the year;
- If no parent can claim the child as a qualifying child, the child is treated as the qualifying child of the person who had the highest federal AGI for the year;
- If a parent can claim the child as a qualifying child but chooses not to, the child is treated as the qualifying child of the person who had the highest federal AGI for the year, but only if that person's federal AGI is higher than the highest federal AGI of any parent of the child who can claim the child.

*Example*. You, your daughter and your mother live together. Your daughter meets the conditions to be a qualifying child for both you and your mother. Your daughter doesn't meet the conditions to be a qualifying child of any other person, including her other parent. Under the rules just described, you can claim your daughter as a dependent. Your mother cannot claim your daughter. However, if your mother's federal AGI is higher than yours and you do not claim your daughter as a dependent, your daughter is the qualifying child of your mother.

#### Definitions and Special Rules for Dependents continued

For more details and examples, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #117.

**Social Security Number.** You must enter each dependent's 9-digit Social Security number (SSN) on Schedule IN-DEP, Box C. Be sure the name and SSN entered agree with the dependent's Social Security card. Otherwise, we may disallow the exemption claimed for the dependent. If the name or SSN on the dependent's Social Security card is not correct or you need to get an SSN for your dependent, contact the Social Security Administration.

If your dependent child was born and died during the year and you do not have an SSN for the child, enter "Died" in Box C and keep a copy of the child's birth certificate, death certificate, or hospital records as DOR can require you to provide these at a later date. The document must show the child was born alive.

Example. Died
---------------

If you apply for an ATIN or an ITIN on or before the due date of your 2021 return (including extensions) and the IRS issues you an ATIN or an ITIN as a result of the application, the IRS will consider your ATIN or ITIN as issued on or before the due date of your return.

**Student**. A student is a child who during any part of 5 calendar months of the tax year was enrolled as a full-time student at a school, or took a full-time, on-farm training course given by a school or a state, county, or local government agency. A school includes a technical, trade, or mechanical school. It does not include an on-thejob training course, correspondence school, or school offering courses only through the Internet.

# Schedule 4: Other Taxes

## Line 1 – Use Tax on Internet, Mail Order and/or Out-Of-State Purchases

If you have purchased items while you were outside Indiana, through the mail (for instance, by catalog or offer through the mail), through radio or television advertising and/or over the Internet, these purchases may be subject to Indiana sales and use tax, if sales tax was not paid at the time of purchase. This tax, called "use" tax, is figured at 7% (.07).

When you make purchases from a company in Indiana, that company is responsible for collecting the Indiana sales tax from you. When you make purchases from an out-of-state company, you are responsible for making sure the use tax is paid. Either the out-of-state company collects the tax from you, or you must pay the tax directly to the State of Indiana.

Complete the worksheet on the next page to figure your tax. If you paid sales tax to the state where the item was originally purchased, you are allowed a credit against your Indiana use tax for an amount paid up to 7%.

# Line 2 – Household Employment Taxes

If you paid cash wages during 2021 to an individual who is not:

- Your spouse,
- Your child under age 21,
- Your parent,
- An employee under age 18; and

the individual worked in and around your home as a baby-sitter, nanny, health aide, private nurse, maid, caretaker, yard worker or someone who does similar domestic duties, then that individual may be defined as your employee.

See Federal Publication 926, *Household Employer's Tax Guide*, for more information on how to define an employee. Visit www.irs.gov or call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040.

If you paid cash wages of \$2,200 or more to a household worker who is your employee, or total cash wages of \$1,000 or more in any calendar quarter of 2020 or 2021 to all household employees, you may have withheld state and county income taxes. To pay these taxes on your Indiana income tax return, contact DOR for Schedule IN-H, or download one from www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individualincome-tax-forms.

### Line 3 – Recapture of certain Indiana offset credits

Indiana requires the recapture of certain offset credits if certain conditions are met. Currently, these credits include the Indiana CollegeChoice 529 Education Savings Plan Credit and the Historic Building Rehabilitation Credit.

- If contributions were made to an Indiana CollegeChoice 529 education savings plan in which you are the account owner and you made a non-qualified withdrawal(s) from this plan during the tax year, you will probably have to repay some or all of any credits previously claimed.
- You may need to recapture some or all of the credits previously claimed for the Historic Building Rehabilitation Credit if you did not meet certain requirements.

Complete and enclose Schedule IN-CR if you have an amount to be recaptured. Enter the total amount to be recaptured on line 3. Download Schedule IN-CR by visiting www.in.gov/dor/taxforms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms.

# **Schedule 5: Credits**

# Lines 1 and 2 – Indiana State and County Tax Withheld

The amount of Indiana state tax withheld is usually shown in box 17 and the amount of and Indiana county tax withheld is usually shown in box 19 of your W-2s. Indiana state and county withholding amounts may also be present on other forms, including W-2Gs, various 1099s, Form IN MSID-A and Schedule IN K-1.

You **must** enclose your withholding statements, including W-2s, W-2Gs, 1099s, Form IN MSID-A and Schedule IN K-1s, with your tax return to verify Indiana state and county taxes claimed as being withheld. Failure to enclose these withholding statements will result in a reduced refund or increase in the amount you owe.

Sales/Use Tax Worksheet List all purchases made during the tax year from out-of-state retailers.				
Column A Description of personal property purchased from out-of-state retailer	<b>Column B</b> Date of purchase(s)	F	<b>Column C</b> Purchase Price of Property(s)	
Magazine subscriptions:				
Mail order purchases:				
Internet purchases:				
Other purchases:				
1. Total purchase price of property subject to the sales/use tax: enter total of Columns C		1		
2. Sales/use tax: Multiply line 1 by .07 (7%)				
3. Sales tax previously paid on the above items (up to 7% per item)		3		
4. Total amount due: Subtract line 3 from line 2. Carry to Form IT-40, Schedule 4, line 1. If the enter zero and put no entry on Schedule 4, line 1		4		

If you are filing a joint return, be sure to include your spouse's withholding statements if they show Indiana state and/or county tax withholding amounts.

**Important**. The use of substitute W-2s will delay the processing of your return and may impact the issuance of any refund.

# Do not claim credit for taxes withheld for states other than Indiana or for localities outside Indiana.

A note about your W-2s. It is important that your W-2 form is readable. The income and state and county tax amounts withheld are verified on every W-2 form that comes in with your tax return. If you are not filing electronically, we encourage you to enclose the best copy available when you file.

## Line 3 – 2021 Estimated Tax Paid

If you made estimated tax payments, enter the total paid for 2021 on this line. Also, include any extension payment made with Form IT-9 *Extension of Time* to File for tax year 2021.

**Note**. Do not include on this line any estimated tax paid for tax year 2022.

## Line 4 - Unified Tax Credit for the Elderly

This credit is no longer limited to a June 30 filing deadline. It may be claimed during the same time period as any other refundable credit. The tax return must be filed and credit claimed within three years of the filing due date (including extensions) to be eligible for a refund.

This credit is available for certain low-income individuals who are age 65 or older. You may be able to claim this credit if you and/or your spouse meet <u>all</u> the following requirements:

- You and/or your spouse must have been age 65 or older by Dec. 31, 2021,
- If married and living together at any time during the year, you must file a joint return,
- The amount on line 1 of Form IT-40 must be *less than \$10,000*,

- You must have been a resident of Indiana for at least six months during 2021, and
- You must not have been in prison for 180 days or more in 2021.

Note. Disabled persons under age 65 do not qualify for this credit.

## How should you file to claim the credit?

You may claim the credit by filing the simplified Form SC-40\* if your taxable income is low enough that you are not required to file Form IT-40. You will qualify if:

- You are single or widowed and your income on line 1 of Form IT-40 is less than \$2,500; or
- You are married with only one person age 65 or older and your income on line 1 of Form IT-40 is less than \$3,500; or
- You are married with both persons are age 65 or older and your income on line 1 of Form IT-40 is less than \$5,000;
- You have no other credits, such as withholding or estimated tax credits.

\*Form SC-40 can be found at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021individual-income-tax-forms.

**No double dipping.** If you qualify to file Form SC-40 and do so, then do not also file Form IT-40 and claim the credit a second time.

If you are required to file Form IT-40 you may claim the credit on Schedule 5, line 4. You can claim the credit on <u>either</u> Form IT-40 <u>or</u> Form SC-40, but *file only one of these forms, and only file once.* 

#### Important.

- If your spouse died after Jan. 1, 2021, you can claim this credit by filing a joint return.
- If a person dies and does not have a surviving spouse, then no one can claim the credit on behalf of the deceased person.

# To Figure Your Unified Tax Credit for the Elderly:

# Use Table A if:

You meet all the requirements listed above, and:

- You are filing a joint return, lived with your spouse during the tax year, both were Indiana residents for at least six months and both were age 65 or older by Dec. 31, 2021, **or**
- Both you and your spouse met all the above-requirements and your spouse died after Jan. 1, 2021.

#### Table A

Joint Filers Both Age 65 or Older	
If the income on Line 1 of	Your Allowable
Form IT-40 is:	Credit* is:
less than \$1,000	\$140
between \$1,000 and \$2,999	\$90
between \$3,000 and \$9,999	\$80

# Use Table B if:

- You meet all the requirements listed above, **and**:
- You are age 65 or older and are single or widowed,
- You are filing a joint return and only one is age 65 or older, or
- You are filing a joint return and only one was an Indiana resident for at least six months, or you are married but did not live with your spouse during the tax year, are age 65 or older and are married filing separately.

Table B	
Only One Person Age 65 or Older	
If the income on Line 1 of	Your Allowable
Form IT-40 is:	Credit* is:
less than \$1,000	\$100
between \$1,000 and \$2,999	\$50
between \$3,000 and \$9,999	\$40

# \*Once you have located your credit on Table A or Table B, enter that amount on line 4.

Remember to file either Form SC-40 or Form IT-40, but not both.

# Line 5 Indiana's Earned Income Credit (EIC)

If you are eligible for an earned income credit on your federal tax return, you may be eligible for Indiana's earned income credit, too. Here are some important things to know:

- You must be eligible for and have claimed an EIC on your federal tax return. If not, STOP. You are not eligible to claim Indiana's EIC.
- Your income on Form IT-40, line 1 (or Indiana's Schedule A, line 36A), must be less than \$47,900. If it is the same amount or more, STOP. You are not eligible to claim Indiana's EIC.
- Schedule IN-EIC <u>must</u> be completed and enclosed by all filers claiming the EIC.

Indiana's Publication EIC is available for additional information. It may be viewed online at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms, including any 2021 federal EIC changes that Indiana is not following.

# What is the EIC?

The EIC is a credit for certain people who work. The credit may give you a refund even if you don't owe any tax.

# To figure the EIC:

- Follow the steps below
- Complete the worksheet(s) that apply to you
- Complete and enclose Schedule IN-EIC

# Step 1 All Filers

1. Did you claim an EIC on your 2021 federal tax return Form 1040/1040-SR, line 27?

# Yes. Continue.

No. STOP. You cannot take the credit.

- 2. If, in 2021:
- 2 or more children lived with you, is the amount on Form IT-40, line 1 (Indiana's Schedule A, line 36A), less than \$47,900?
- 1 child lived with you, is the amount on Form IT-40, line 1 (Indiana's Schedule A, line 36A), less than \$42,100?
- No children lived with you, is the amount on Form IT-40, line 1 (Indiana's Schedule A, line 36A), less than \$15,900?

# Yes. Continue.

No. STOP. You cannot take the credit.

3. Are you filing your return for Indiana either as a single individual or married filing jointly?

Yes. Continue.

No. STOP. You cannot take the credit.

## Step 2 Investment Income

1. Add amounts from:

Federal Form 1040/1040-SR, Line 2a	+
Federal Form 1040/1040-SR, Line 2b	+
Federal Form 1040/1040-SR, Line 3b	+
Federal Form 1040/1040-SR, Line 7*	+

Investment Income

\*If Line 7 is a loss, enter -0-.

2. Is your investment income more than \$3,650?

#### Yes. Continue.

No. Skip question 3; go to question 4.

3. Did you file federal Form 4797 (relating to sales of business property)?

No. STOP. You cannot take the credit.

**Yes.** If the amount on Form 1040/1040-SR, line 8, includes an amount from federal Form 4797, you must use **Worksheet 1** in Indiana's Publication EIC (located online at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms) to see if you can take the EIC. Otherwise, **STOP**; you cannot take the EIC.

#### Schedule 5: Credits continued

- 4. Do any of the following apply for 2021?
- You filed federal Schedule E.
- You are claiming a loss on federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 7, and/or federal Schedule 1, lines 3 and/or 6.
- You are reporting income or a loss from the rental of personal property not used in a trade or business.
- You and/or spouse if married filing jointly received a distribution from a pension, annuity, IRA or Coverdell ESA that is not fully taxable.
- You reported income on federal Schedule 1, line 8, from federal Form 8814 (relating to election to report child's interest and dividends).

Yes. You must use **Worksheet 3** in Indiana's Publication EIC to see if you can take the credit. You may find Publication EIC at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms. **No.** Go to Step 3.

### Step 3 Qualifying Child

Did a child live with you in 2021?

No. Go to Step 4. Yes. *Continue*.

#### A qualifying child is a child who is your...

- Son
- Daughter
- Grandchild
- Stepchild
- Foster child and/or related child (see page 33)

#### AND, was...

- Under age 19 at the end of the year and younger than you (or your spouse, if filing jointly), or
- Under age 24 at the end of the year, a student (see page 33), and younger than you (or your spouse, if filing jointly), or
- Any age and permanently and totally disabled (see page 33),

#### AND, who...

Is not filing a joint return for the year, or is filing a joint return for the year only as a claim for refund,

#### AND, who...

Lived with you in the United States for more than half of the year or, if a foster child, for all of the year. If the child did not live with you for the required time, see *Exception to "time lived with you*" on page 32.

**Caution**. If the child meets the conditions to be a qualifying child of any other person (other than your spouse if filing a joint return) for the year, or the child was married, see page 33.

1. Do you have at least one child who meets the conditions to be your qualifying child?

**Yes.** The child must have a valid 9-digit Social Security number (SSN) unless the child was born and died during the year\*. If at least one qualifying child has an SSN (or was born and died during the year), go to Step 5. **If no qualifying child has an SSN and no qualifying child meets the exception for children who were born and died during the year, STOP. You cannot take the credit.** 

**No**. Continue to Step 4.

\**Exception*. If your qualified dependent child was born and died during the year and you do not have an SSN for the child, you may be able to claim the child for earned income credit purposes (see *Social Security Number* on page 33).

#### Step 4 Filers Without a Qualifying Child

- 1. Are you:
- older than 24 and
- younger than 65?

Yes. *Continue*. No. STOP. You cannot take the credit.

2. If you have no qualifying child (see Step 3) but you claimed an EIC on your federal tax return Form 1040/1040-SR, line 27, then you may be eligible to claim Indiana's EIC. Continue to Step 5.

#### Step 5 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI)

Add amounts from:

1.	Federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 2a	+
	Federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 11	+

Modified Adjusted Gross Income<sup>\*</sup> = Box A

\*Note. If you completed Worksheet 3 in Publication EIC, enter in Box A the amount from Worksheet 3, line 17.

#### If you have:

- 2 or more qualifying children, is Box A less than \$ 47,900?
- 1 qualifying child, is Box A less than \$42,100?
- No qualifying children, is Box A less than \$15,900?

Yes. Go to Step 6.

No. STOP. You cannot take the credit.

#### Step 6 Earned Income

1. Did you file federal Schedule SE because you are a member of the clergy or you had church employee income of \$108.28 or more?

**Yes**. See **Clergy** or **Church employees**, whichever applies, in the next column.

No. Continue.

- 2. Figure earned income:
  - A. Enter amount from federal 1040/1040-SR, line 1

#### Schedule 5: Credits continued

Subtract, if included on line A above, any:

- Taxable scholarship or fellowship grant not reported on a Form W-2.
- Amount received for work performed while an inmate in a penal institution.
- Amount received as a pension or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a nongovernmental section 457 plan. This amount may be shown in Box 11 of Form W-2. If you received such an amount but Box 11 is blank, contact your employer for the amount received as a pension or annuity.
- Amount of the qualified foster care payments included in Box 1 of Form W-2 that you have elected to exclude from your federal adjusted gross income

Add all of your nontaxable combat pay if you elect to include it in earned income.\*

Earned Income = Box B

\***Caution.** Electing to include nontaxable combat pay may increase or decrease your EIC. Figure the credit with and without your nontaxable combat pay before making the election.

3. Were you self-employed at any time in 2021, or did you file federal Schedule SE because you were a member of the clergy or you had church employee income, or did you file federal Schedule C as a statutory employee?

**Yes**. Skip question 4 and Step 7; go to **Worksheet B** on page 35. **No**. *Continue*.

- 4. If you have:
- 2 or more qualifying children, is your total earned income (Box B) less than \$47,900?
- 1 qualifying child, is your total earned income (Box B) less than \$42,100?
- No qualifying children, is your total earned income (Box B) less than \$15,900?

**Yes**. Go to Step 7. **No. STOP.** You cannot take the credit.

#### Step 7 How to Figure the Credit

Go to Worksheet A on page 34.

# **Definitions and Special Rules\***

**Adopted child**. An adopted child is always treated as your own child. The term "adopted child" includes a child who was lawfully placed with you for legal adoption, even if the adoption is not final.

**Church employees.** A church employee means an employee (other than a minister or member of a religious order) of a church or qualified church-controlled organization that is exempt from employer Social Security and Medicare taxes. Determine how much of the amount on federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 1, was also reported on federal Schedule SE, Section B, line 5a. Subtract that amount from the amount on federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 1, and enter the result in the first space of Step 6, line 2. Be sure to answer "Yes" to question 1 in Step 6.

**Claim for refund.** A claim for refund is a federal return filed only to get a refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid. A federal return is not a claim for refund if the EIC or any other similar refundable credit is claimed on it.

**Clergy**. The following instructions apply to ministers, members of religious orders who have not taken a vow of poverty, and Christian Science practitioners. If you are filing federal Schedule SE and the amount on line 2 of that schedule includes an amount that was also reported on federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 1;

- Determine how much of the amount on federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 1, was also reported on federal Schedule SE, Section A, line 2, or Section B, line 2.
- Subtract that amount from the amount on federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 1. Enter the result in the first space of Step 6, line 2.
- Be sure to answer "yes" to question 1 in Step 6.

**Combat pay, nontaxable.** If you were a member of the U.S. Armed Forces who served in a combat zone, certain pay is excluded from your income.

- If you included your combat pay when figuring your federal EIC, then enter the same amount in Step 6, line 2.
- If you did not include it when figuring your federal EIC, then do not enter any amount in Step 6, line 2.

**Exception to "time lived with you" condition.** A child is considered to have lived with you for all of the year if the child was born or died during the year and your home was this child's home for the entire time he or she was alive during the year. Temporary absences, such as for school, vacation, medical care, or detention in a juvenile facility, count as time lived at home. If your child is presumed to have been kidnapped by someone who is not a family member, see Indiana's Pub. EIC (www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/) to find out if that child is a qualifying child for the EIC. If you were in the military stationed outside the United States, see *Members of the military* in the next column.

#### Definitions and Special Rules\* continued

**Federal Form 4797 filers.** If the amount on federal Form 1040/1040-SR, line 4, includes an amount from federal Form 4797, you must use Worksheet 1 in Indiana's Pub. EIC (www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/) to see if you can take the EIC. Otherwise, **STOP**; you cannot take the EIC.

#### Foster child.

- Any child you cared for as your own child and who is (a) your brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister; (b) a descendant (such as a child, including an adopted child) of your brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister; or (c) a child placed with you by an authorized placement agency. For example, if you acted as the parent of your niece or nephew, this child is considered your foster child.
- The qualifying foster child must live with you for the entire year (except for temporary absences).

**Grandchild**. For the EIC, this means any descendant of your son, daughter, or adopted child. For example, a grandchild includes your great-grandchild, great-great-grandchild, etc.

**Married child**. A child who was married at the end of the tax year is a qualifying child only if (a) you can claim him or her as your dependent on Indiana Schedule IN-DEP, or (b) you could have claimed him or her as your dependent except for the special rule for *Children of divorced or parents who lived apart*. Get Indiana's Pub. EIC\* for more information about this special rule.

\*Indiana's Publication EIC, available online at www.in.gov/dor/taxforms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms, has additional information, including rules if you have a qualifying child, an investment income calculation worksheet, additional definitions, tiebreaker rules, etc.

**Members of the military.** U.S. military personnel stationed outside the United States on extended active duty are considered to live in the United States during that duty period for purposes of the EIC. Extended active duty is military duty ordered for an indefinite period or a period of more than 90 days. Once you begin serving extended active duty, you are considered to be on extended active duty even if you do not serve more than 90 days.

**Permanently and totally disabled.** A person is permanently and totally disabled if, at any time during the year, the person could not engage in any substantial gainful activity because of a physical or mental condition and a doctor has determined that this condition (a) has lasted or can be expected to last continuously for at least a year, or (b) can be expected to lead to death.

**Qualifying child of more than one person.** If the child meets the conditions to be a qualifying child of more than one person, only the person who had the **highest** modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) for the year may treat that child as a qualifying child. The other person(s) cannot take the EIC for people who do not have a qualifying child. If the other person is your spouse and you are filing a joint return, this rule does not apply. If you have the highest MAGI, this child is your qualifying child. If you do not have the highest MAGI, **STOP**; you cannot take the EIC. See Step 5 to figure your modified adjusted gross income.

*Example.* You and your 8-year-old daughter moved in with your mother during the year. You are not a qualifying child of your mother. Your daughter meets the conditions to be a qualifying child for both you and your mother. Your MAGI for the year was \$8,000 and your mother's was \$14,000. Because your mother's MAGI was higher, your daughter is your mother's qualifying child for EIC purposes. You **cannot** figure an EIC using your child as a qualifying child, even if your mother does not claim the credit.

**Social Security Number.** Your child must have a valid, 9-digit Social Security number (SSN) unless the child was born and died in 2021. If your dependent child was born and died during the year and you do not have an SSN for the child, you will be able to claim the child for purposes of claiming Indiana's earned income credit as long as all the other requirements have been met. For more information, see the instructions on Schedule IN-EIC.

**Student**. A student is a child who, during any 5 months of the year, was enrolled as a full-time student at a school that has a regular teaching staff, course of study, and regular student body at the school, or took a full-time, on-farm training course given by a school or a state, county, or local government agency. A school does not include a technical, trade or mechanical school. It does not include an on-the-job training course, correspondence school, or school offering courses only through the Internet.

**Temporary absences.** Count time that you or your child is away from home on a temporary absence due to a special circumstance as time the child lived with you. Examples of a special circumstance include illness, school attendance, business, vacation, military service, and detention in a juvenile facility.

# Worksheet A – Indiana's Earned Income Credit (EIC)

**Before you begin:** Be sure you are using the correct worksheet. Use Worksheet A if you answered "No" to Step 6, question 3. Use Worksheet B if you answered "Yes" to Step 6, question 3.

#### Part 1: All filers using Worksheet A

2.	Enter your earned income from Step 6, Box B Look up the amount on line 1 above in the <i>Indiana Earned Income Credit Table</i> to find the credit. Be sure you use the correct column for the number of children you can claim. Enter the credit here	
	If line 2 is zero, <b>STOP</b> . You cannot claim the credit.	
4.	Enter your modified adjusted gross income from Step 5, Box A Are the amounts on lines 3 and 1 the same? <b>Yes.</b> Skip line 5; enter the amount from line 2 on line 6. <b>No.</b> Go to line 5.	3

#### Part 2: Filers who answered "No" on line 4

- 5. If you have:
  - No qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than \$8,950?
  - 1 qualifying child, is the amount on line 3 less than \$19,550?
  - 2 or more qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than \$19,550?

**Yes.** Leave line 5 blank; enter the amount from line 2 on line 6.

No. Look up the amount on line 3 in the Indiana Earned Income Credit Table to find	l the credit. Be sure
you use the correct column for the number of children you can claim. Enter the cred	dit here 5

Look at the amounts on line 5 and 2. Then, enter the **smaller** amount on line 6.

#### Part 3: Your Indiana earned income credit

6.	This is the amount from Part 1 or Part 2 above	6
7.	If you have an alternative minimum tax on our federal tax return, Form 1040/1040-SR, then multiply that amount	
	by 9 percent (.09) and enter the result here	7
δ.	Subtract line 7 from line 6 (if zero or less, <b>STOP</b> . You cannot take a credit). Enter this amount here	δ
9.	Enter the earned income credit claimed on your federal tax return Form 1040/1040-SR	9
10.	Multiply line 9 by .09 (9%). Enter result here	10
	Look at the amount on line 8 and on line 10. Then, enter the <b>smaller</b> amount here	
	and on Schedule IN-EIC, line A-3Indiana Earned Income Credit	11

#### Final Step – You must complete Schedule IN-EIC and enclose it with your filing.

# Worksheet B – Indiana's Earned Income Credit (EIC)

#### Use this worksheet if you answered "Yes" to Step 6, question 3.

- Complete the parts below (Parts 1 through 3) that apply to you. Then, continue to Part 4.
- If you are married filing a joint return, include your spouse's amounts, if any, with yours to figure the amounts to enter in Parts 1 through 3.

# Part 1: Self-employed, members of the clergy, and people with church employee income filing federal Schedule SE.

1a.	Enter the sum of federal Schedule SE, lines 3, 4b, and 5a	••	la
b.	Enter the amount from federal Schedule SE, line 13		1b
c.	Subtract line 1b from 1a =		1c

#### Part 2: Self-employed NOT required to file federal Schedule SE

For example, your net earnings from self-employment were less than \$400.

2. Do not include on these lines any statutory employee income, any net profit from services performed as a notary public, any amount exempt from self-employment tax as the result of filing and approval of federal Form 4029 or Form 4361, or any other amounts exempt from self-employment tax.

â	. Enter any net farm income or (loss) from federal Schedule F, line 34, and from farm partnerships, Schedule K-1 (federal Form 1065), box 14, code A	2a
ł	<ul> <li>Enter any net profit or (loss) from federal Schedule C, line 31; Schedule K-1 (federal Form 1065), box 14, code A +</li> </ul>	2b
C	Add lines 2a and 2b =	2c

#### Part 3: Statutory employees filing federal Schedule C

3.	Enter the amount from federal Schedule C, line 1, that you are filing as a statutory employee	3
Ра	rt 4: All filers using Worksheet B	
4a.	Enter your earned income from Step 6, Box B	4a
b.	Add lines 1c, 2c, 3 and 4a. This is your total earned income	4b
If	line 4b is zero or less, STOP. You cannot take the credit.	
5.	<ul> <li>If you have:</li> <li>2 or more qualifying children, is line 4b less than \$47,900?</li> <li>1 qualifying child, is line 4b less than \$42,100?</li> <li>No qualifying children, is line 4b less than \$15,900?</li> </ul>	
Yes	Enter the amount from line 4b on line 6 of this worksheet.	
No	. STOP. You cannot take the credit.	

### Part 5: All filers using Worksheet B

	Enter your total earned income from Part 4, line 4b Look up the amount on line 6 above in the <i>Indiana Earned Income Credit Table</i> to find the credit. Be sure you use the correct column for the number of children you can claim. Enter the credit here	
	If line 7 is zero, <b>STOP</b> . You cannot take the credit.	
	Enter your modified adjusted gross income from Step 5, Box A. (If you filled out Worksheet 3, enter the amount from line 17.)	8
	Are the amounts on lines 8 and 6 the same? . Skip line 10; enter the amount from line 7 on line 11.	
No	Go to line 10.	

# Part 6: Filers who answered "No" on line 9

10. If you have:

- No qualifying children, is the amount on line 8 less than \$8,950?
- 1 qualifying child, is the amount on line 8 less than \$19,550?
- 2 or more qualifying children, is the amount on line 8 less than \$19,550?

**Yes.** Leave line 10 blank; enter the amount from line 7 on line 11.

No. Look up the amount on line 8 in the Indiana Earned Income Credit Table to find		
the credit. Be sure you use the correct column for the number of children you can claim. Enter the credit here	10	

Look at the amounts on lines 10 and 7. Then, enter the smaller amount on line 11.

## Part 7: Your Indiana earned income credit.

12.	This is the amount from Part 5 or Part 6 above If you have an alternative minimum tax on your federal tax return, Form 1040/1040-SR, then multiply that amount	
	by 9 percent (.09) and enter the result here	12
	Subtract line 12 from line 11 (if zero or less, <b>STOP</b> . You cannot take a credit). Enter this amount here Enter the earned income credit claimed on your federal tax return, Form 1040/1040-SR	
	Multiply line 14 by .09 (9%). Enter result here Look at the amount on line 13 and on line 15. Then, enter the smaller amount here and on Schedule IN-EIC, line A-3	
	and on beneficial investigation of the method income of contrast	10

#### Final Step – You <u>must</u> complete Schedule IN-EIC and enclose it with your tax return when you file.

#### 2021 Indiana Earned Income Credit (EIC) Table

1. To find your credit, read down the "At least-But less than" columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your EIC Worksheet.

2. Then, read across to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your EIC Worksheet.

Example. If you have one qualifying child and the amount you are looking up from your EIC Worksheet is \$2,455, you would enter \$76.

If the amou	unt you are	And you have —								
looking up worksheet		No children	One child	Two children						
At least	But less than	Your credit is —								
2,400	2,450	17	74	87						
2,450 2,500		17	76	89						

16.41		And	l you ha	ve —	16.41-		And	you hav	/e —	16.42		And	you hav	/e —	16.41		And	you hav	/e —
	looking	No	One	Two	If the am you are	looking	No	One	Two	If the an you are	looking	No	One	Two		looking	No	One	Two
up from worksh		child- ren	child	child- ren	up from workshe		child- ren	child	child- ren	up from worksh		child- ren	child	child- ren	up from worksh		child- ren	child	child- ren
At least	But less than	You	ır credit	is —	At least	But less than	You	r credit i	is —	At least	But less than	You	r credit i	s —	At least	But less than	You	r credit	s —
0	50	0	1	1	2000	2050	14	62	73	4000	4050	28	123	145	6000	6050	41	184	217
50	100	1	2	3	2050	2100	14	64	75	4050	4100	28	125	147	6050	6100	42	186	219
100	150	1	4	5	2100	2150	15	65	77	4100	4150	28	126	149	6100	6150	42	187	221
150	200	1	5	6	2150	2200	15	67	78	4150	4200	29	128	150	6150	6200	42	189	222
200	250	2	7	8	2200	2250	15	68	80	4200	4250	29	129	152	6200	6250	43	191	224
250	300	2	8	10	2250	2300	16	70	82	4250	4300	29	131	154	6250	6300	43	192	226
300	350	2	10	12	2300	2350	16	71	84	4300	4350	30	132	156	6300	6350	44	194	228
350	400	3	12	14	2350	2400	16	73	86	4350	4400	30	134	158	6350	6400	44	195	230
400	450	3	13	15	2400	2450	17	74	87	4400	4450	31	135	159	6400	6450	44	197	231
450	500	3	15	17	2450	2500	17	76	89	4450	4500	31	137	161	6450	6500	45	198	233
500	550	4	16	19	2500	2550	17	77	91	4500	4550	31	139	163	6500	6550	45	200	235
550 600	600	4	18 19	21	2550	2600 2650	18 18	79	93 95	4550 4600	4600 4650	32 32	140 142	165 167	6550 6600	6600 6650	45	201	237
650	650 700	4 5	21	23 24	2600 2650	2050	18	80 82	95 96	4650	4050	32 32	142	167	6650	6700	46 46	203 204	239 240
700	750	5	21	24	2700	2750	19	83	98	4030	4750	32	145	170	6700	6750	40	204	240
750	800	5	24	28	2750	2800	19	85	100	4750	4800	33	145	172	6750	6800	40	200	242
800	850	6	25	30	2800	2850	19	86	102	4800	4850	33	148	174	6800	6850	47	209	246
850	900	6	27	32	2850	2900	20	88	104	4850	4900	34	149	176	6850	6900	47	210	248
900	950	6	28	33	2900	2950	20	90	105	4900	4950	34	151	177	6900	6950	48	212	249
950	1000	7	30	35	2950	3000	21	91	107	4950	5000	34	152	179	6950	7000	48	213	251
1000	1050	7	31	37	3000	3050	21	93	109	5000	5050	35	154	181	7000	7050	48	215	253
1050	1100	7	33	39	3050	3100	21	94	111	5050	5100	35	155	183	7050	7100	49	217	255
1100	1150	8	34	41	3100	3150	22	96	113	5100	5150	35	157	185	7100	7150	49	218	257
1150	1200	8	36	42	3150	3200	22	97	114	5150	5200	36	158	186	7150	7200	49	220	258
1200	1250	8	38	44	3200	3250	22	99	116	5200	5250	36	160	188	7200	7250	49	221	260
1250	1300	9	39	46	3250	3300	23	100	118	5250	5300	36	161	190	7250	7300	49	223	262
1300	1350	9	41	48	3300	3350	23	102	120	5300	5350	37	163	192	7300	7350	49	224	264
1350	1400	9	42	50	3350	3400	23	103	122	5350	5400	37	165	194	7350	7400	49	226	266
1400	1450	10	44	51	3400	3450	24	105	123	5400	5450	37	166	195	7400	7450	49	227	267
1450	1500	10	45	53	3450	3500	24	106	125	5450	5500	38	168	197	7450	7500	49	229	269
1500	1550	11	47	55	3500	3550	24	108	127	5500	5550	38	169	199	7500	7550	49	230	271
1550	1600	11	48	57	3550	3600	25	109	129	5550	5600	38	171	201	7550	7600	49	232	273
1600	1650	11	50	59	3600	3650	25	111	131	5600	5650	39	172	203	7600	7650	49	233	275
1650	1700	12	51	60	3650	3700	25	113	132	5650	5700	39	174	204	7650	7700	49	235	276
1700	1750	12	53	62	3700	3750	26	114	134	5700	5750	39	175	206	7700	7750	49	236	278
1750	1800	12	54	64	3750	3800	26	116	136	5750	5800	40	177	208	7750	7800	49	238	280
1800	1850	13	56	66	3800	3850	26	117	138	5800	5850	40	178	210	7800	7850	49	239	282
1850	1900	13	57	68	3850	3900	27	119	140	5850	5900	40	180	212	7850	7900	49	241	284
1900	1950	13	59	69	3900	3950	27	120	141	5900	5950	41	181	213	7900	7950	49	243	285
1950	2000	14	60	71	3950	4000	27	122	143	5950	6000	41	183	215	7950	8000	49	244	287

f the ar	nount	And	you ha	ve —	lf	f the am	ount	And	you hav	/e —	If	f the am	ount	And	you hav	/e —	lf th	ne amount		And	you hav	ve —
/ou are	looking	No	One	Two	y y	ou are l	ooking	No	One	Two	у	ou are	looking	No	One	Two	γοι	ı are looki		No	One	Tw
up from worksh	eet is —	child- ren	child	child- ren		p from vorkshe	et is —	child- ren	child	child- ren		ip from vorkshe		child- ren	child	child- ren		from the rksheet is	-	child- ren	child	chi ren
At east	But less than	You	r credit	is —	Ale	t east	But less than	You	r credit	is —	A	∖t east	But less than	You	r credit i	is —	At leas	st less thai	-	You	r credit	is —
8000	8050	49	246	289	1	0400	10450	38	319	375	1	12800	12850	22	326	462	152	200 152	50	5	326	53
3050	8100	49	247	291	1	0450	10500	38	321	377	1	12850	12900	21	326	464	152	250 153	00	5	326	53
3100	8150	49	249	293	1	0500	10550	38	322	379	1	12900	12950	21	326	465	153	300 153	50	5	326	5
8150	8200	49	250	294	1	0550	10600	37	324	381	1	12950	13000	21	326	467	153	350 154	00	4	326	5
8200	8250	49	252	296	1	0600	10650	37	325	383	1	13000	13050	20	326	469	154	400 154	50	4	326	5
8250	8300	49	253	298	1	0650	10700	37	326	384	1	13050	13100	20	326	471	154	150 155	00	4	326	5
8300	8350	49	255	300	1	0700	10750	36	326	386	1	13100	13150	20	326	473	155	500 155	50	3	326	5
8350	8400	49	256	302	1	0750	10800	36	326	388	1	13150	13200	19	326	474	155	550 156	00	3	326	5
8400	8450	49	258	303	1	0800	10850	35	326	390	1	13200	13250	19	326	476	156	600 156	50	2	326	5
8450	8500	49	259	305	1	0850	10900	35	326	392	1	13250	13300	19	326	478	156	650 157	00	2	326	5
8500	8550	49	261	307	1	0900	10950	35	326	393	1	13300	13350	18	326	480	157	700 157	50	2	326	5
3550	8600	49	262	309	1	0950	11000	34	326	395	1	13350	13400	18	326	482	157	750 158	00	1	326	5
3600	8650	49	264	311	1	1000	11050	34	326	397	1	13400	13450	18	326	483	158	300 158	50	1	326	Ę
8650	8700	49	266	312	1	1050	11100	34	326	399	1	13450	13500	17	326	485	158	350 159	00	1	326	Ę
3700	8750	49	267	314	1	1100	11150	33	326	401	1	13500	13550	17	326	487	159	900 159	50	0	326	Ę
3750	8800	49	269	316	1	1150	11200	33	326	402	1	13550	13600	17	326	489	159	950 160	00		326	Ę
800	8850	49	270	318	1	1200	11250	33	326	404	1	13600	13650	16	326	491	160	000 160	50		326	ł
850	8900	49	272	320	1	1250	11300	32	326	406	1	13650	13700	16	326	492	160	050 161	00		326	ł
900	8950	49	273	321	1	1300	11350	32	326	408	1	13700	13750	16	326	494	161	100 161	50		326	Ę
950	9000	48	275	323	1	1350	11400	32	326	410	1	13750	13800	15	326	496	161	150 162	00		326	ę
9000	9050	48	276	325	1	1400	11450	31	326	411	1	13800	13850	15	326	498	162	200 162	50		326	ł
9050	9100	48	278	327	1	1450	11500	31	326	413	1	13850	13900	14	326	500	162	250 163	00		326	ţ
9100	9150	47	279	329	1	1500	11550	31	326	415	1	13900	13950	14	326	501	163	300 163	50		326	ł
9150	9200	47	281	330	1	1550	11600	30	326	417	1	3950	14000	14	326	503	163	350 164	00		326	Ę
9200	9250	47	282	332	1	1600	11650	30	326	419	1	14000	14050	14	326	505	164	100 164	50		326	Ę
9250	9300	46	284	334	1	1650	11700	30	326	420	1	14050	14100	13	326	507	164	150 165	00		326	Ę
9300	9350	46	285	336	1	1700	11750	29	326	422	1	14100	14150	13	326	509	165	500 165	50		326	Ę
9350	9400	45	287	338	1	1750	11800	29	326	424	1	14150	14200	12	326	510	165	550 166	00		326	Ę
9400	9450	45	288	339	1	1800	11850	29	326	426	1	14200	14250	12	326	512	166	600 166	50		326	Ę
9450	9500	45	290	341	1	1850	11900	28	326	428	1	14250	14300	12	326	514	166	650 167	00		326	Ę
9500	9550	44	292	343	1	1900	11950	28	326	429	1	14300	14350	11	326	516	167	700 167	50		326	Ę
9550	9600	44	293	345	1	1950	12000	28	326	431	1	14350	14400	11	326	518	167	750 168	00		326	Ę
9600	9650	44	295	347	1:	2000	12050	27	326	433	1	14400	14450	11	326	519	168	300 168	50		326	Ę
9650	9700	43	296	348	1:	2050	12100	27	326	435	1	14450	14500	10	326	521	168	350 169	00		326	Ę
9700	9750	43	298	350	1:	2100	12150	27	326	437	1	14500	14550	10	326	523	169	900 169	50		326	Ę
9750	9800	43	299	352	1:	2150	12200	26	326	438	1	14550	14600	10	326	525	169	950 170	00		326	Ę
9800	9850	42	301	354	1:	2200	12250	26	326	440	1	14600	14650	9	326	527	170	000 170	50		326	5
9850	9900	42	302	356	1:	2250	12300	25	326	442	1	14650	14700	9	326	528	170	050 171	00		326	5
9900	9950	42	304	357	1:	2300	12350	25	326	444	1	14700	14750	9	326	530	171	100 171	50		326	5
9950	10000	41	305	359	1:	2350	12400	25	326	446	1	14750	14800	8	326	532	171	150 172	00		326	5
0000	10050	41	307	361	1:	2400	12450	24	326	447	1	14800	14850	8	326	534	172	200 172	50		326	5
0050	10100	41	308	363	1:	2450	12500	24	326	449	1	14850	14900	8	326	536	172	250 173	00		326	5
0100	10150	40	310	365	1:	2500	12550	24	326	451	1	14900	14950	7	326	537	173	300 173	50		326	5
0150	10200	40	311	366	1:	2550	12600	23	326	453	1	14950	15000	7	326	538	173	350 174	00		326	5
0200	10250	40	313	368	1:	2600	12650	23	326	455	1	15000	15050	7	326	538	174	100 174	50		326	5
0250	10300	39	314	370	1:	2650	12700	23	326	456	1	15050	15100	6	326	538	174	150 175	00		326	5
0300	10350	39	316	372	1:	2700	12750	22	326	458	1	15100	15150	6	326	538	175	500 175	50		326	5
10350	10400	39	318	374	1:	2750	12800	22	326	460	1	15150	15200	6	326	538	175	550 176	00		326	5

f the ar	nount	And you h	ave —	If the ar	nount	And you h	ave —	If the ar	nount	And you ha	ve —	If the ar	nount	And	you ha	ve —
ou are	looking	No One	Two	you are	looking	No One	Two	you are	looking	No One	Two	you are	looking	No	One	Two
p from vorksh	the eet is —	child- child ren	child- ren	up from worksh		child- child ren	child- ren	up from worksh		child- child ren	child- ren	up from worksh	eet is —	child- ren	child	chil ren
vt east	But less than	Your credi	t is —	At least	But less than	Your cred	t is —	At least	But less than	Your credit	is —	At least	But less than	You	r credit	is —
17600	17650	326	538	20000	20050	318	529	22400	22450	284	483	24800	24850		249	43
7650	17700	326	538	20050	20100	318	528	22450	22500	283	482	24850	24900		249	43
17700	17750	326	538	20100	20150	317	527	22500	22550	282	481	24900	24950		248	43
17750	17800	326	538	20150	20200	316	526	22550	22600	282	480	24950	25000		247	43
17800	17850	326	538	20200	20250	315	525	22600	22650	281	479	25000	25050		246	43
17850	17900	326	538	20250	20300	315	524	22650	22700	280	478	25050	25100		246	43
7900	17950	326	538	20300	20350	314	523	22700	22750	279	477	25100	25150		245	4
7950	18000	326	538	20350	20400	313	522	22750	22800	279	476	25150	25200		244	4
8000	18050	326	538	20400	20450	313	521	22800	22850	278	476	25200	25250		244	4
8050	18100	326	538	20450	20500	312	520	22850	22900	277	475	25250	25300		243	4
8100	18150	326	538	20500	20550	311	519	22900	22950	277	474	25300	25350		242	4
8150	18200	326	538	20550	20600	310	518	22950	23000	276	473	25350	25400		241	4
8200	18250	326	538	20600	20650	310	517	23000	23050	275	472	25400	25450		241	4
8250	18300	326	538	20650	20700	309	516	23050	23100	275	471	25450	25500		240	4
8300	18350	326	538	20700 20750	20750 20800	308 308	515 514	23100	23150	274	470	25500	25550		239	4
8350	18400	326	538	20730	20800	308	514	23150	23200	273	469	25550	25600		239	4
8400	18450	326	538	20850	20900	306	513	23200	23250	272	468	25600	25650		238	4
3450	18500	326	538	20000	20950	305	512	23250	23300	272	467	25650	25700		237	4
3500	18550	326	538	20950	21000	305	512	23300	23350	271	466	25700	25750		236	2
8550	18600	326	538	20950	21000	305	510	23350	23400	270	465	25750	25800		236	4
8600	18650	326	538	21000	21030	304	509	23400	23450	269	464	25800	25850		235	4
3650	18700	326	538	21030	21100	303	509	23450	23500	269	463	25850	25900		234	2
8700	18750	326	538	21100	21200	302	507	23500	23550	268	462	25900	25950		233	4
8750	18800	326	538	21200	21250	302	506	23550	23600	267	461	25950	26000		233	2
3800	18850	326	538	21250	21300	300	505	23600	23650	267	460	26000	26050 26100		232	4
8850	18900	326	538	21200	21350	300	504	23650	23700	266	459	26050			231	2
3900	18950	326	538	21350	21400	299	503	23700	23750	265	458	26100	26150		231	4
8950	19000	326	538	21330	21400	299	503	23750	23800	264	458	26150	26200		230	2
9000	19050	326	538	21400	21430	290	502	23800	23850	264	457	26200	26250		229	2
9050	19100	326	538	21500	21550	297	500	23850	23900	263	456	26250	26300		228	2
9100	19150	326	538	21550	21600	297	499	23900	23950	262	455	26300	26350		228	2
9150	19200	326	538	21600	21650	295	498	23950	24000	262	454	26350	26400		227	4
200	19250	326	538	21650	21700	295	497	24000	24050	261	453	26400	26450		226	2
9250	19300	326	538	21700	21750	294	496	24050	24100	260	452	26450	26500		226	4
9300	19350	326	538	21750	21800	294	490	24100	24150	259	451	26500	26550		225	4
9350	19400	326	538	21730	21800	293	495	24150	24200	259	450	26550	26600		224	4
9400	19450	326	538	21800	21850	292	495 494	24200	24250	258	449	26600	26650		223	4
9450	19500	326	538	21830	21900	292	494	24250	24300	257	448	26650	26700		223	4
9500	19550	326	538	21900	21950	291	493	24300	24350	257	447	26700	26750		222	4
9550	19600	325	537	21950	22000	290	492	24350	24400	256	446	26750	26800		221	4
9600	19650	324	536		22050			24400	24450	255	445	26800	26850		221	4
9650	19700	323	535	22050		289	490	24450	24500	254	444	26850	26900		220	3
9700	19750	323	534	22100	22150	288	489	24500	24550	254	443	26900	26950		219	3
9750	19800	322	533	22150	22200	287	488	24550	24600	253	442	26950	27000		218	3
9800	19850	321	532	22200	22250	287	487	24600	24650	252	441	27000	27050		218	3
9850	19900	320	531	22250	22300	286	486	24650	24700	251	440	27050	27100		217	3
9900	19950	320	531	22300	22350	285	485	24700	24750	251	440	27100	27150		216	3
9950	20000	319	530	22350	22400	284	484	24750	24800	250	439	27150	27200		215	;

f the ar	nount	And you ha	ive —	If the a	mount	And you I	nave —	If the a	nount	And you h	ave —	If the ar	nount	And	you ha	ve —
ou are	looking	No One	Two	you are	looking	No One	Two	you are	looking	No One	Two	you are	looking	No	One	Tw
up from vorksh	eet is —	child- child ren	child- ren	up from worksh	eet is —	child- child ren	l child- ren	up fron worksh	eet is —	child- child ren	child- ren	up from worksh	eet is —	child- ren	child	chi rer
At east	But less than	Your credit	: is —	At least	But less than	Your cred	it is —	At least	But less than	Your cred	it is —	At least	But less than	You	r credit	is —
27200	27250	215	392	29600	29650	180	347	32000	32050	146	301	34400	34450		111	25
7250	27300	214	391	29650	29700	180	346	32050	32100	145	300	34450	34500		111	2
7300	27350	213	390	29700	29750	179	345	32100	32150	144	299	34500	34550		110	2
7350	27400	213	389	29750	29800	178	344	32150	32200	144	298	34550	34600		109	2
7400	27450	212	388	29800	29850	177	343	32200	32250	143	297	34600	34650		108	2
7450	27500	211	387	29850	29900	177	342	32250	32300	142	296	34650	34700		108	2
7500	27550	210	386	29900	29950	176	341	32300	32350	141	295	34700	34750		107	2
7550	27600	210	386	29950	30000	175	340	32350	32400	141	295	34750	34800		106	2
7600	27650	209	385	30000	30050	175	339	32400	32450	140	294	34800	34850		105	2
7650	27700	208	384	30050	30100	174	338	32450	32500	139	293	34850	34900		105	2
7700	27750	208	383	30100	30150	173	337	32500	32550	139		34900	34950		104	2
7750	27800	207	382	30150	30200	172	336	32550	32600	138		34950	35000		103	2
7800	27850	206	381	30200	30250	172		32600	32650	137		35000	35050		103	2
7850	27900	205	380	30250	30300	171	334	32650	32700	136		35050	35100		102	2
7900	27950	205	379	30300	30350	170	333	32700	32750	136		35100	35150		101	1
7950	28000	204	378	30350	30400	169	332	32750	32800	135		35150	35200		100	:
8000	28050	203	377	30400	30450	169	331	32800	32850	134		35200	35250		100	:
3050	28100	203	376	30450	30500	168	331	32850	32900	133		35250	35300		99	:
3100	28150	202	375	30500	30550	167	330	32900	32950	133		35300	35350		98	
3150	28200	201	374	30550	30600	167	329	32950	33000	132		35350	35400		98	
8200	28250	200	373	30600	30650	166	328	33000	33050	131		35400	35450		97	
3250	28300	200	372	30650	30700	165	327	33050	33100	131	281	35450	35500		96	
8300	28350	199	371	30700	30750	164	326	33100	33150	130		35500	35550		95	
8350	28400	198	370	30750	30800	164	325	33150	33200	129		35550	35600		95	:
3400	28450	198	369	30800	30850	163	324	33200	33250	129		35600	35650		94	
8450	28500	197	368	30850	30900	162		33250	33300	128		35650	35700		93	
3500	28550	196	368	30900	30950	162	322	33300	33350	127		35700	35750		93	
8550	28600	195	367	30950	31000	161	321	33350	33400	126		35750	35800		92	
8600	28650	195	366	31000	31050	160	320	33400	33450	126	275	35800	35850		91	
8650	28700	194	365	31050	31100	159	319	33450	33500	125		35850	35900		90	:
8700	28750	193	364	31100	31150	159		33500	33550	124		35900	35950		90	
3750	28800	193	363	31150	31200	158	317	33550	33600	123	272	35950	36000		89	:
3800	28850	192	362	31200	31250	157	316	33600	33650	123	271	36000	36050		88	
3850	28900	191	361	31250	31300	157	315	33650	33700	122		36050	36100		87	:
3900	28950	190	360	31300	31350	156	314	33700	33750	121		36100	36150		87	
8950	29000	190	359	31350	31400	155	313	33750	33800	121		36150	36200		86	
9000	29050	189	358	31400	31450	154	313	33800	33850	120		36200	36250		85	:
9050	29100	188	357	31450	31500	154	312	33850	33900	119		36250	36300		85	:
9100	29150	187	356	31500	31550	153	311	33900	33950	118		36300	36350		84	:
9150	29200	187	355	31550	31600	152	310	33950	34000	118	264	36350	36400		83	:
9200	29250	186	354	31600	31650	151	309	34000	34050	117	263	36400	36450		82	:
9250	29300	185	353	31650	31700	151	308	34050	34100	116	262	36450	36500		82	:
9300	29350	185	352	31700	31750	150	307	34100	34150	116	261	36500	36550		81	:
9350	29400	184	351	31750	31800	149	306	34150	34200	115	260	36550	36600		80	2
9400	29450	183	350	31800	31850	149	305	34200	34250	114	259	36600	36650		80	:
9450	29500	182	349	31850	31900	148	304	34250	34300	113	259	36650	36700		79	:
9500	29550	182	349	31900	31950	147	303	34300	34350	113	258	36700	36750		78	2
9550	29600	181	348	31950	32000	146	302	34350	34400	112	257	36750	36800		77	1

IT-40 Booklet 2021

the an	nount	And you	u have	-	If the ar	nount	And you ha	ive —	If the a	mount	And you have	ve —	If the a	nount	And	you ha	ve –
ou are	looking	No Oi	ne -	Two	you are	looking	No One	Two	you are	looking	No One	Two	you are	looking	No	One	Ти
p from orkshe	the et is —		nild o	child- ren	up from worksh	the eet is —	child- child ren	child- ren	up fron workst	n the leet is —	child- child ren	child- ren	up fron worksh	n the leet is —	child- ren	child	ch re
t ast	But less than	Your cr	edit is ·	_	At least	But less than	Your credit	is —	At least	But less than	Your credit	is —	At least	But less than	You	r credit	is —
6800	36850	7	77	210	39200	39250	42	165	41600	41650	8	119	44000	44050			
6850	36900	7	76	209	39250	39300	41	164	41650	41700	7	118	44050	44100			
6900	36950	7	75	208	39300	39350	41	163	41700	41750	6	117	44100	44150			
6950	37000	7	75	207	39350	39400	40	162	41750	41800	5	116	44150	44200			
7000	37050	7	74	206	39400	39450	39	161	41800	41850	5	115	44200	44250			
7050	37100			205	39450	39500	39	160	41850	41900	4	114	44250	44300			
100	37150			204	39500	39550	38	159	41900	41950	3	114	44300	44350			
7150	37200			204	39550	39600	37	158	41950	42000	3	113	44350	44400			
7200	37250			203	39600	39650	36	157	42000	42050	2	112	44400	44450			
7250	37300			202	39650	39700	36	156	42050	42100	1	111	44450	44500			
7300	37350			201	39700	39750	35	155	42100	42150	0	110 109	44500	44550			
7350 7400	37400			200	39750	39800 39850	34 34	154	42150 42200	42200 42250		109	44550	44600 44650			
7450	37450 37500			199	39800		34 33	153 152	42200	42250		108	44600	44650			
7500	37550			198 197	39850 39900	39900 39950	33	152	42230	42300		107	44650 44700	44700			
7550	37600			196	39950	40000	32	150	42350	42400		105	44750	44800			
7600	37650			195	40000	40050	31	150	42400	42450		103	44800	44850			
7650	37700			194	40050	40100	30	149	42450	42500		103	44850	44900			
700	37750			193	40100	40150	29	148	42500	42550		102	44900	44950			
750	37800			192	40150	40200	29	147	42550	42600		101	44950	45000			
800	37850			191	40200	40250	28	146	42600	42650		100	45000	45050			
7850	37900			190	40250	40300	27	145	42650	42700		99	45050	45100			
900	37950			189	40300	40350	26	144	42700	42750		98	45100	45150			
950	38000	6	60	188	40350	40400	26	143	42750	42800		97	45150	45200			
3000	38050	Ę	59	187	40400	40450	25	142	42800	42850		96	45200	45250			
3050	38100	Ę	59	186	40450	40500	24	141	42850	42900		95	45250	45300			
3100	38150	Ę	58	186	40500	40550	23	140	42900	42950		95	45300	45350			
150	38200	Ę	57	185	40550	40600	23	139	42950	43000		94	45350	45400			
3200	38250	Ę	57	184	40600	40650	22	138	43000	43050		93	45400	45450			
3250	38300	Ę	56	183	40650	40700	21	137	43050	43100		92	45450	45500			
3300	38350	5	55	182	40700	40750	21	136	43100	43150		91	45500	45550			
3350	38400	Ę	54	181	40750	40800	20	135	43150	43200		90	45550	45600			
3400	38450	5	54	180	40800	40850	19	134	43200	43250		89	45600	45650			
450	38500	5	53	179	40850	40900	18	133	43250	43300		88	45650	45700			
3500	38550	Ę	52	178	40900	40950	18	132	43300	43350		87	45700	45750			
8550	38600	Ę	52	177	40950	41000	17	132	43350	43400		86	45750	45800			
8600	38650	5	51	176	41000	41050	16	131	43400	43450		85	45800	45850			
8650	38700	5	50	175	41050	41100	16	130	43450	43500		84	45850	45900			
3700	38750	2	19	174	41100	41150	15	129	43500	43550		83	45900	45950			
8750	38800	4	19	173	41150	41200	14	128	43550	43600		82	45950	46000			
800	38850	2	18	172	41200	41250	13	127	43600	43650		81	46000	46050			
850	38900	4	17	171	41250	41300	13	126	43650	43700		80	46050	46100			
900	38950	4	17	170	41300	41350	12	125	43700	43750		79	46100	46150			
8950	39000	4	46	169	41350	41400	11	124	43750	43800		78	46150	46200			
9000	39050	4	15	168	41400	41450	11	123	43800	43850		77	46200	46250			
9050	39100	4	14	168	41450	41500	10	122	43850	43900		77	46250	46300			
9100	39150	4	14	167	41500	41550	9	121	43900	43950		76	46300	46350			
9150	39200	4	43	166	41550	41600	8	120	43950	44000		75	46350	46400			

If the amount you are looking		And	you hav	/e —	If the an	nount	And	you hav	/e —
you are up from workshe	the	No child- ren	One child	Two child- ren	you are up from workshe	the	No child- ren	One child	Two child ren
At least	But less than	You	r credit i	s —	At least	But less than	You	r credit i	s —
46400	46450			28	47200	47250			13
46450	46500			27	47250	47300			12
46500	46550			26	47300	47350			11
46550	46600			25	47350	47400			10
46600	46650			24	47400	47450			9
46650	46700			23	47450	47500			8
46700	46750			23	47500	47550			7
46750	46800			22	47550	47600			6
46800	46850			21	47600	47650			5
46850	46900			20	47650	47700			5
46900	46950			19	47700	47750			4
46950	47000			18	47750	47800			3
47000	47050			17	47800	47850			2
47050	47100			16	47850	47900			1
47100	47150			15	47900	47950			0
47150	47200			14					

#### Line 6 – Lake County (Indiana) Residential Income Tax Credit

You may be eligible to claim a Lake County (Indiana) Residential Income Tax credit if you meet **all three** of the following requirements.

- 1. You paid property tax to Lake County (Indiana) on your residence. Your "residence" is your principal dwelling. You must either own or be buying the residence under contract, and must pay property tax to Lake County (Indiana) on that residence.
- 2. Your Modified Indiana Adjusted Gross Income is less than \$18,600.
- 3. You are <u>not</u> claiming the *Homeowner's Residential Property Tax Deduction* on Indiana Schedule 2, line 2. If you are claiming this credit, make sure to see the Final Step after *Worksheet B* in the next column.

Complete the following steps to see if you are eligible to claim this credit.

#### <u>Step 1</u>

- Did you pay property tax to Lake County (Indiana) on your residence during the year? □ Yes □ No
- If you answered "no," STOP. You do not qualify for this credit.
- If you answered "yes," continue to Step 2.

#### Step 2

#### <u>Step 3</u>

If you are filing as a single individual or as married filing jointly:

- If the amount from Step 2, line 3 is greater than \$18,599, **STOP**. You do not qualify for this credit.
- If the amount from Step 2, line 3 is less than \$18,000, go to **Worksheet A** to figure your credit.
- If the amount from Step 2, line 3 is between \$18,000 and \$18,599, go to **Worksheet B** to figure your credit.

If you are filing as a married individual filing separately:

- If the amount from Step 2, line 3 is greater than \$9,299, **STOP.** You do not qualify for this credit.
- If the amount from Step 2, line 3 is less than \$9,000, go to **Worksheet C** to figure your credit.
- If the amount from Step 2, line 3 is between \$9,000 and \$9,299, go to **Worksheet D** to figure your credit.

#### Worksheet A:

## Complete if the answer from Step 2, line 3 is less than \$18,000 and you are filing a single return or filing as married filing jointly.

A1	Enter the amount of Indiana property		
	tax you paid on your Lake County		
	residence	A1 \$ _	
A2	Maximum credit	A2 \$ _	300
A3	Enter the <b>smaller</b> of A1 or A2. This is		
	your credit. Enter here and on Schedule 5,		
	line 6, and skip to the Final Step below	A3 \$ _	

#### Worksheet B: Indiana AGI Phaseout

# Complete if the answer from Step 2, line 3 is between \$18,000 and \$18,600 and you are filing a single return or filing as married filing jointly.

- B1 Allowable maximum Indiana AGI...... B1 \$ 18,600

#### Worksheet C:

Complete if the answer from Step 2, line 3 is less than \$9,000 and you are a married individual filing separately.

C1 Enter the amount of Indiana property		
tax you paid on your Lake County		
residence	. C1 \$ _	
C2 Maximum credit	. C2 \$	150
C3 Enter the smaller of C1 or C2. This is		
your credit. Enter here and on Schedule 5,		
line 6, and skip to the Final Step below	. C3 \$ _	

#### Worksheet D: Indiana AGI Phaseout

Complete if the answer from Step 2, line 3 is bet \$9,300 and you are a married individual filing so	
D1 Allowable maximum Indiana AGI	D1 \$ 9,300
<b>D2</b> Enter the amount from Step 2, line 3	D2 \$
D3 Subtract D2 from D1 (if answer is zero	
or a negative amount, <b>STOP</b> .	
You do not qualify for this credit)	D3 \$
<b>D4</b> Multiply the amount on D3 by 0.5.	
Round answer; see page 6 for	
rounding instructions	D4 \$
<b>D5</b> Enter the amount of Indiana property	
tax you paid on your Lake County	
residence	D5 \$
<b>D6</b> Enter the smaller of D4 or D5. This is	
your credit. Enter here and on	
Schedule 5, line 6, and continue to	
the Final Step below	D6 \$

#### **Final Step**

Remember, you are not eligible to claim both the Homeowner's Property Tax Deduction <u>and</u> the Lake County Residential Income Tax Credit in the same year. Therefore, if you are claiming this credit, make sure to remove any Homeowner's Property Tax Deduction reported on Schedule 2, line 2.

#### Lines 7 and 8: Economic Development for a Growing Economy Credit (EDGE); Economic Development for a Growing Economy Retention Credit (EDGE-R)

If you have business income (including partnership or S corporation income) you may be eligible for one or both of these credits. These credits are available to businesses who conduct certain activities that are designed to foster job creation and/or job retention in Indiana.

This credit is available to owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc.

Contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC), One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204, for eligibility requirements, or visit http://iedc.in.gov for additional information.

To claim these credits you <u>must</u> complete and enclose Schedule IN-EDGE or Schedule IN-EDGE-R, which are located online at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/.

The information to be reported on Schedule IN-EDGE or Schedule IN-EDGE-R is located on the Indiana Schedule IN K-1 or on the approved credit agreement letter from the IEDC.

## Line 9 – Headquarters Relocation Credit (refundable portion)

A business with annual worldwide revenue of \$50 million, at least 75 employees, and which relocates its corporate headquarters to Indiana may be eligible for a credit. The credit may be as much as 50% of the cost incurred in relocating the headquarters. Generally, this credit is nonrefundable, and is reported on Schedule 6: Offset Credits.

Some or all of this credit may be refundable. If the IEDC has ruled some or all of this credit to be refundable, enter on this line the refundable amount of the credit less the portion of the credit used to offset your tax liability. You must maintain the documentation provided to you that supports the refundable portion of this credit as DOR may request it.

**Caution**. The combination of the headquarters relocation credit claimed here (offset amount) and on lines 29 through 31 (refundable amount) may not exceed the total of the credit that is available. See the instructions for the Headquarters Relocation Credit beginning on page 50.

For more information (including limitations on the credit and the application process), see Income Tax Income Tax Information Bulletin #97, available at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib97.pdf. This credit is administered by the IEDC. Contact them at One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN 46204, via website at www.iedc.in.gov, or by phone at (317) 232-8800.

## Schedule IN-DONATE

Each of the following funds has been assigned a three-digit code number. When listing your contribution on Schedule IN-DONATE under line 1, enter the name of the fund, the three-digit code number and the amount to be contributed.

You may contribute all or a portion of your Form IT-40, line 16 overpayment to the following funds:

#### • Indiana Nongame Wildlife Fund 200

The Indiana Wildlife Diversity Program offers you the opportunity to play an active role in conserving Indiana's nongame and endangered wildlife. This program is funded through public donations to the Indiana Nongame Wildlife Fund. The money you donate goes directly to the protection and management of more than 750 wildlife species in Indiana - from songbirds and salamanders to state-endangered Trumpeter swans and spotted turtles.

Enter both the name of the fund and the amount you wish to donate under line 1, and enter 200 as the designated 3-digit code number. Also, see the **Limitation** below.

If you do not have an overpayment, but want to support the Wildlife Diversity Section, do not change your tax return. You may make a contribution online at www.in.gov/dnr/fishwild/3316.htm.

#### • Military Family Relief Fund 201

The Indiana Department of Veterans Affairs' Military Family Relief Fund provides emergency grants to be used by military and veteran families. The funds can be utilized for needs such as food, housing, utilities, medical services, transportation, and other essential family support expenses which have become difficult to afford. The Military Family Relief Fund has helped more than 2000 families since its inception in 2007.

Enter both the name of the fund and the amount you wish to donate under line 1, and enter 201 as the designated 3-digit code number. Also, see the **Limitation** below.

If you do not have an overpayment, but want to support the Military Family Relief Fund, you may make a contribution by writing a check made payable to the *Military Family Relief Fund* and send it to the Indiana Department of Veterans Affairs, 302 W. Washington Street, Suite E-120, Indianapolis, IN 46204.

Read more about this fund and other programs available for Hoosier veterans online at www.in.gov/dva.

#### • Public K – 12 Education Fund 202

You may donate all or a portion of your overpayment to help fund public education for kindergarten through grade 12 in Indiana. Enter both the name of the fund and the amount you wish to donate under line 1, and enter 202 as the designated 3-digit code number. Also, see the following **Limitation**.

#### Limitation

The combination of the amounts you wish to donate to these funds **cannot exceed** the overpayment shown on Form IT-40, line 16.

- If the total of the donations designated on this schedule is more than your available overpayment, the donation(s) will be reduced on a pro rata basis. For example, Sam wants to donate \$20 to each fund, for a total of \$60. His actual overpayment is \$51. The donations to the three funds will be evenly reduced to \$17 each.
- If you entered a donation to one or more of these funds, and wish to apply some of your overpayment to next years estimated tax account, the overpayment will be applied first to the selected fund(s) and then to the estimated tax account. Any remaining overpayment will be refunded to you. For example, Aaron donated \$100 to the Indiana Nongame Wildlife Fund, and is applying \$50 to next year's estimated tax account. His actual overpayment is only \$110. The full \$100 will be applied to the selected fund; the remaining \$10 will be applied to next year's estimated tax account.

## Schedule 6: Offset Credits

The following credits cannot be refunded; their purpose is to help reduce your state and/or county tax amounts due. See the limitation areas after the instructions for line 3 and line 7.

#### Line 1 – Credit for Local Taxes Paid Outside of Indiana

If you figured county tax on Form IT-40, line 9, **and** had to pay a local income tax outside Indiana, you may be able to take a credit. This

credit applies only if the tax you paid outside Indiana was to another city, county, town, or other local governmental entity, and they did not refund the tax, or give you a credit for Indiana county tax.

The credit can be used to reduce your county tax liability. Carefully read instructions for Line B below.

Complete lines A, B and C to figure your credit.

A.	Enter the amount of tax paid to the
	non-Indiana localityA
В.	Multiply the amount of income taxed by
	the non-Indiana locality by the rate from
	Schedule CT-40, line 2. Enter result hereB
С.	Enter the amount of Indiana county
	income tax shown on Form IT-40, line 9C

The amount of the credit is the lesser of the amounts on A, B or C.

Note. See the Combined Limitation in the next column.

**Important**. You **must** enclose either a copy of your W-2s or other withholding statements showing the non-Indiana locality amount withheld or a copy of the non-Indiana locality tax return.

**Remember**, you can use this credit only if you have **both**:

- A county tax amount on Form IT-40, line 9, and
- A local income tax that you had to pay outside Indiana.

#### Line 2 – Community Revitalization Enhancement District Credit

A state **and** local income tax liability credit is available for a qualified investment made within a community revitalization enhancement district. The expenditure must be made under a plan adopted by an advisory commission on industrial development and approved by the Indiana Economic Development Corporation before it is made. The credit is equal to 25% of the qualified investment made by the taxpayer during the taxable year.

This credit is available to owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc. It is nonrefundable and cannot be carried back. You may carry forward any excess credit to the next tax year.

The allowable credit is the lesser of the available credit or the county tax due on line 9 of Form IT-40. Also, claim any unused amount (within certain limitations) on Schedule 6 under line 6 (see instructions for this credit on page 49).

Contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204 for additional information.

See the **Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One per Project** below for additional limitations. **Also**, see the **Combined Limitation** below.

#### Line 3 – Other Local Credits

Currently, there are no other local credits available to be reported in this space.

## Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One per Project

A taxpayer may not be granted more than one credit for the same project. The credits that are subject to this limitation are the alternative fuel vehicle manufacturer credit, community revitalization enhancement district credit, enterprise zone investment cost credit, Hoosier business investment credit, industrial recovery credit, and the venture capital investment credit.

For more information see Income Tax Information Bulletin #59 available at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib59.pdf.

Apply this restriction first when figuring your credits. Then apply the **Combined Limitation.** 

**Combined Limitation:** There is one final limitation if you claim more than one credit on lines 1 through 3 of Schedule 6. These credits, *when combined*, cannot be greater than the county tax shown on Form IT-40 line 9; if they are, adjust the amounts before you enter them. See the following Order of Application and example for guidance.

#### **Order of Application**

First, use the credits which cannot be carried over and applied against your county tax in another year. This means apply any credit for local taxes paid outside Indiana first, then apply any community revitalization enhancement district credit.

## How to Adjust the Amount of Credit to be Entered (Example)

*Example.* Megan is eligible to claim a \$100 credit for local taxes paid outside Indiana plus a \$200 community revitalization enhancement district credit (CREED), for a \$300 total amount in offset credits. Her county tax due (IT-40, line 9) is \$160. Since her combined credits are more than her county tax due, she should reduce the last entry (the \$200 CREED credit) by the \$140 difference to \$60. She will enter the full \$100 credit for local taxes paid outside Indiana on Schedule 6, line 1, and the \$60 limited CREED credit on line 3a. Note: Megan may use the \$140 remaining CREED credit to offset any state adjusted gross income tax due on this year's tax return (IT-40, line 8).

#### Line 4 - College Credit

If you donated money or property to an Indiana college or university, you may be able to take a credit of up to \$100 on a single return or \$200 on a joint return. To claim this credit you must complete and enclose Schedule CC-40. For additional information see Schedule CC-40 at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms and Income Tax Information Bulletin #14 at www.in.gov/dor/files/ reference/ib14.pdf.

**Important**. You must maintain documentation of your contributions. DOR can require you to provide this information at a later date.

**Note**. Tuition paid to a college or university is **not** a contribution, and does not qualify for this credit.

#### Line 5 - Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States

If you received income from another state while you were an Indiana resident, you must report that income on your Indiana income tax return. You may be able to take a credit for taxes paid to another state. If you had income from another state, and had to pay taxes to that state, read the following instructions carefully.

If you were an Indiana resident during the tax year and had income from any of the states listed in Group A below, you should first find out what the other state's rules are concerning the taxation of your income.

#### Group A

No Agreement (Credit taken on resident return)

Alabama	Louisiana	New York
Arkansas	Maine	North Carolina
California	Maryland	North Dakota
Colorado	Massachusetts	Oklahoma
Connecticut	Minnesota	Rhode Island
Delaware	Mississippi	South Carolina
Georgia	Missouri	Utah
Hawaii	Montana	Vermont
Idaho	Nebraska	Virginia
Illinois	New Hampshire*	West Virginia
Iowa	New Jersey	
Kansas	New Mexico	
	Any foreign countries or US posses	sions

Any foreign countries or U.S. possessions

\* Capital gain, interest, and dividends only.

If you are personally subject to the District of Columbia Unincorporated Business Franchise Tax (D-30) on income that you received while you are an Indiana resident, you may claim a credit against your Indiana adjusted gross income tax for those taxes. Do not claim a credit for taxes paid to the District of Columbia from Form D-40.

**NOTE:** If you are an owner or beneficiary of a partnership, S corporation, trust, or similar pass-through entity and the entity is subject to a tax imposed by another state at the entity level, you cannot take a credit for the tax imposed at the entity level, even if the tax is allowable as a credit against your personal tax liability imposed by that state. This disallowance does not apply to composite or withholding taxes imposed by another state.

#### **Group A Worksheet**

А.	Enter the amount of tax paid to the
	other state. (This does not mean the
	tax withheld from your wages, but
	the actual tax figured on the other
	state's return)A
В.	Multiply the amount of income from the
	other state (that is subject to Indiana tax)
	by 3.23% (.0323)B
C.	Enter the amount of Indiana state income
	tax shown on Form IT-40 line 8C

The *lesser* of the amounts on A, B or C is your allowable credit for taxes paid to other states.

See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

You must enclose a copy of the income tax return (not just the W-2 forms) you filed with the other state to claim this credit. If the other state's return is not enclosed, the credit will not be allowed. Likewise, if you have a foreign tax credit, complete the Group A Worksheet and enclose federal Form 1116. If Form 1116 was not required, enclose Forms 1099-INT and/or 1099-DIV (or a substitute statement) to verify the foreign tax and amount of income being taxed.

*Example*. Ryan reported \$10,000 Illinois-source wage income on the Illinois nonresident individual income tax return, and paid \$300 tax to Illinois on that income. His Indiana state tax liability from line 8 of Form IT-40 is \$870.

He will enter the following information on the Group A Worksheet.

- A. \$300 (tax paid to Illinois)
- B. \$323 (\$10,000 x .0323, tax due to Indiana)

C. \$870 (Form IT-40 line 8)

Ryan's credit is \$300, which is the lesser of A, B and C.

**Exception 1 - Gambling winnings from other states.** If you're not required to file another state's income tax return to report gambling winnings from that state, enclose the W-2G issued by that state. Use the amount of state tax withheld by that state on Line A of the Group A Worksheet.

**Exception 2.** If you are subject to state income tax on income from a non-United States country or territory that is not currently subject to tax in that country but will be, enclose the following information with your return:

- The country or territory in which the income is subject to tax
- The type of income (dividends, interest, etc.)
- The amount of income
- The reason the income is deferred by the country
- The tax that will be due upon the income upon recognition by the foreign country
- The credit for taxes paid to another state claimed on the income (include a computation similar to the Group A worksheet above).

#### Group B

Reciprocal Agreement (Wages, Salaries, Tips, and Commissions Only)				
Kentucky	Michigan	Ohio		
Pennsylvania	Wisconsin			

If you were an Indiana resident during the tax year and had income from one of the states listed in Group B, you are covered by a reciprocal agreement. However, this agreement only applies to income from wages, salaries, tips and commissions. If you had other types of income from these states (such as business income, farm income, etc.), use the Group A Worksheet to figure your credit.

Normally, employers in these states will withhold Indiana state tax from your wages because of the reciprocal agreement. However, if the state tax they withheld is not for Indiana, you must file a claim for refund with that state. You still have to include this income on your Indiana return and pay the Indiana tax. You'll get some or all of the other state's taxes back by filing a refund claim with them. **Note**. Winnings from Indiana **riverboats** and **lotteries** are not eligible for the reciprocal agreement.

**Caution**. You may have to make estimated tax payments to Indiana. If the reciprocal state employer does not withhold Indiana withholding on your wage income, or does not withhold enough, see page 9 for information on how to figure and pay estimated tax.

If you were a full-year resident of one of the reciprocal states and your income from Indiana was from wages, salaries, tips and commissions, you should file Form IT-40RNR, Reciprocal Nonresident Income Tax Return. If you were a resident of one of the reciprocal states and had other types of income from Indiana, or were a part-year Indiana resident, you will need to file Form IT-40PNR.

#### Group C

Reverse Credit (Credit taken on nonresident return)

Arizona Oregon Washington D.C.

If you were an Indiana resident during the tax year and had income from one of the states in Group C, you must pay Indiana tax on all your income. You will also need to file a nonresident return with the other state and claim a credit on their tax return for the Indiana tax paid. For Indiana residents who are subject personally to the District of Columbia Unincorporated Business Franchise Tax (D-30) on income that you received, please see the Group A instructions.

#### Group D

No State Income Tax (No credit allowed)

Alaska	Florida	Nevada
South Dakota	Tennessee	Texas
Washington	Wyoming	

If you were an Indiana resident during the tax year and had income from one of the states in Group D, you are not allowed to claim this credit. These states do not have an income tax. You must file an Indiana resident return and pay Indiana tax on all your income.

See the Combined Limitation on page 54.

#### Line 6 – Other Credits

Each of the following credits has been assigned a three-digit code number. When claiming the credit on Schedule 6 under line 6, enter the name of the credit, the three-digit code number and the amount claimed.

#### Adoption Credit 859

You may be eligible to claim an adoption credit on your state tax return if you claimed an adoption credit on your federal tax return. The amount of the credit may be as much as 10% of the federal credit allowed per child, or \$1,000 per child, whichever is less. Complete Worksheet B on page 48 to figure your credit.

#### Federal adoption carryforward credits.

A carryforward credit claimed on federal Form 8839 may be allowed if it is from the preceding five tax years (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and/ or 2020).

#### Federal Adoption Credit Carryforward

Worksheet A-1: 2016 Carryforward Credit	Child 1	Child 2	Child 3
1. Enter amount from 2016 Form 8839, line 11	\$	\$	\$
2. Enter the amount from 2016 Form 8839, line 12	\$	\$	\$
3. Divide line 1 by line 2; round answer to four decimal places			
4. Enter the amount of 2016 carryforward credit used in 2021 (line 2 minus line 10 of the 2021 <i>Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet</i> from the Form 8839 instructions)	\$	\$	\$
5. Multiply line 3 by line 4; round to nearest whole dollar. Enter this amount in the appropriate column on line 6 of Worksheet B	\$	\$	\$

#### Federal Adoption Credit Carryforward

Worksheet A-2: 2017 Carryforward Credit	Child 1	Child 2	Child 3
1. Enter amount from 2017 Form 8839, line 11	\$	\$	\$
2. Enter the amount from 2017 Form 8839, line 12	\$	\$	\$
3. Divide line 1 by line 2; round answer to four decimal places			
4. Enter the amount of 2017 carryforward credit used in 2021 (line 3 minus line 12 of the 2021 <i>Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet</i> from the Form 8839 instructions)	\$	\$	\$
5. Multiply line 3 by line 4; round to nearest whole dollar. Enter this amount in the appropriate column on line 7 of Worksheet B	\$	\$	\$

#### Federal Adoption Credit Carryforward

Worksheet A-3: 2018 Carryforward Credit	Child 1	Child 2	Child 3
1. Enter amount from 2018 Form 8839, line 11	\$	\$	\$
2. Enter the amount from 2018 Form 8839, line 12	\$	\$	\$
3. Divide line 1 by line 2; round answer to four decimal places			
4. Enter the amount of 2018 carryforward credit used in 2021 (line 4 minus line 14 of the 2021 <i>Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet</i> from the Form 8839 instructions)	\$	\$	\$
5. Multiply line 3 by line 4; round to nearest whole dollar. Enter this amount in the appropriate column on line 8 of Worksheet B	\$	\$	\$

#### Federal Adoption Credit Carryforward

Worksheet A-4: 2019 Carryforward Credit	Child 1	Child 2	Child 3
1. Enter amount from 2019 Form 8839, line 11	\$	\$	\$
2. Enter the amount from 2019 Form 8839, line 12	\$	\$	\$
3. Divide line 1 by line 2; round answer to four decimal places			
4. Enter the amount of 2019 carryforward credit used in 2021 (line 5 minus line 16 of the 2021 <i>Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet</i> from the Form 8839 instructions)	\$	\$	\$
5. Multiply line 3 by line 4; round to nearest whole dollar. Enter this amount in the appropriate column on line 9 of Worksheet B	\$	\$	\$

#### Federal Adoption Credit Carryforward

Worksheet A-5: 2020 Carryforward Credit	Child 1	Child 2	Child 3
1. Enter amount from 2020 Form 8839, line 11	\$	\$	\$
2. Enter the amount from 2020 Form 8839, line 12	\$	\$	\$
3. Divide line 1 by line 2; round answer to four decimal places			
4. Enter the amount of 2020 carryforward credit used in 2021 (line 6 minus line 18 of the 2021 <i>Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet</i> from the Form 8839 instructions)	\$	\$	\$
5. Multiply line 3 by line 4; round to nearest whole dollar. Enter this amount in the appropriate column on line 10 of Worksheet B below	\$	\$	\$

#### Indiana Adoption Credit Calculation

Complete Worksheet B to figure your Indiana adoption credit. Add more columns to the worksheet below if claiming this credit for more than three children.

You will need to have your completed 2021 federal Form 8839 on hand.

#### Indiana Adoption Credit Calculation

Worksheet B	Child 1	Child 2	Child 3
1. Enter amount from Form 8839, Line 11, per child	\$	\$	\$
2. Enter the amount from Form 8839, line 12, in each column of where there is an amount on line 1	this worksheet \$	\$	\$
3. Enter the amount from Form 8839, line 15, reduced by the am 8839, line 13, in each column where there is an amount on line more than amount on line 2, leave blank; skip line 4, enter the 1 on line 5). If less than zero, leave blank	e 1 (if equal to or	\$	\$
4. Divide line 1 by line 2; round answer to four decimal places			
5. Multiply line 3 by line 4; round to nearest whole dollar	\$	\$	\$
6. Enter pro rata share of any 2016 adoption carryforward credit Worksheet A-1, line 5	from \$	\$	\$
<ol> <li>Enter pro rata share of any 2017 adoption carryforward credit Worksheet A-2, line 5</li> </ol>	from \$	\$	\$
8. Enter pro rata share of any 2018 adoption carryforward credit Worksheet A-3, line 5	from \$	\$	\$
9. Enter pro rata share of any 2019 adoption carryforward credit Worksheet A-4, line 5	from \$	\$	\$
10. Enter pro rata share of any 2020 adoption carryforward credit Worksheet A-5, line 5	from		
11. Add lines 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10	\$	\$	\$
12. Limitation	\$ 10,000	\$ 10,000	\$ 10,000
13. Enter the smaller of line 11 or line 12	\$	\$	\$
14. Multiply line 13 by 10% (.10); round to nearest whole dollar	\$	\$	\$
15. Add all amounts from each column on line 14. Enter total here	e.	Th	is is your credit

See Income Tax Information Bulletin #111 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib111.pdf for more information about this credit.

Maintain with your records a copy of the federal Form 8839, federal Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheets (if applicable), and federal Form 1040 as DOR can require you to provide this information at a later date.

Enter code 859 under line 6 if claiming this credit. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### Federal Adoption Credit Carryforward Calculation

Use *Worksheet A-1* on page 47 to figure each child's pro rata share of any 2016 carryforward credit shown on line 12 of the 2021 Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet (from the 2021 instructions for federal Form 8839). Enter that amount in the appropriate column on line 6 of Worksheet B.

Use *Worksheet A-2* on page 47 to figure each child's pro rata share of any 2017 carryforward credit shown on line 14 of the 2021 Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet (from the 2021 instructions for federal Form 8839). Enter that amount in the appropriate column on line 7 of Worksheet B.

Use *Worksheet A-3* on page 47 to figure each child's pro rata share of any 2018 carryforward credit shown on line 16 of the 2021 Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet (from the 2021 instructions for federal Form 8839). Enter that amount in the appropriate column on line 8 of Worksheet B.

Use *Worksheet A-4* on page 47 to figure each child's pro rata share of any 2019 carryforward credit shown on line 18 of the 2021 Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet (from the 2021 instructions for federal Form 8839). Enter that amount in the appropriate column on line 9 of Worksheet B.

Use *Worksheet A-5* on page 47 to figure each child's pro rata share of any 2020 carryforward credit shown on line 20 of the 2021 Adoption Credit Carryforward Worksheet (from the 2021 instructions for federal Form 8839). Enter that amount in the appropriate column on line 10 of Worksheet B.

If you have no federal adoption credit to carry forward from either 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and/or 2020, skip Worksheets A-1, A-2, A-3, A-4, and A-5 and complete Worksheet B.

#### **Airport Development Zone Credits**

The following credits have been repealed:

- Airport Development Zone Employment Expense Credit 800
- Airport Development Zone Investment Cost Credit 801
- Airport Development Zone Loan Interest Credit 802

However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed.

Enter the appropriate 3-digit code under line 6 if claiming any of these credits. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### Alternative Fuel Vehicle Manufacturer Credit 845

This credit has been repealed. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed. Enter code 845 under line 6 if claiming this credit.

See the **Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One per Project** and the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

#### Blended Biodiesel Credit 803

This credit has been repealed. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed.

Enter code 803 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

#### Indiana's CollegeChoice 529 Education Savings Plan Credit 837

You may be eligible for a credit for contributions made to Indiana's CollegeChoice 529 education savings plan. Also, you may make contributions to this fund for Indiana K-12 education purposes. While there are many 529 college savings plans available both in Indiana and nation-wide, only contributions made to this specific *CollegeChoice 529 Education Savings Plan* are eligible for this credit.

For more information about this credit, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #98 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib98.pdf. This plan is administered through the Indiana Education Savings Authority. More information can be obtained online at www.in.gov/tos/iesa and at www.collegechoiceplan.com. See Schedule IN-529 at www.in.gov/dor/ tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/ to figure your credit. This schedule must be enclosed when claiming the credit.

Enter code 837 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### Coal Gasification Technology Investment Credit 806

A credit may be available for a qualified investment in an integrated coal gasification power plant or a fluidized bed combustion technology. This credit is available to owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc. You must file an application for certification with the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC). For more information, contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204, or visit their website at http://iedc.in.gov. Also, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #99 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib99.pdf.

Enclose the certificate of compliance issued by IEDC to support this credit. Enter 806 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

## Community Revitalization Enhancement District Credit 808

See the Schedule 6 line 3 instructions for details about this credit. This credit is available to offset **both** your state and local tax liabilities, and any unused remainder is available to be carried forward. Owners of pass-through entities are eligible for this credit.

If you did not use all of the available community revitalization enhancement district credit on Schedule 6, line 3, the remaining credit should be claimed on this line.

For more information, contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204, or visit their website at http://iedc.in.gov.

**Note**. See the **Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One per Project** and the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

Enter code 808 under line 6 if claiming this credit.

#### Economic Development for a Growing Economy -Nonresident Employees (EDGE-NR) 865

This credit is for incremental state income tax amounts that would have been withheld on employees from reciprocal states if those employees had been subject to Indiana state tax withholding. Owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc., are eligible for this credit. Unlike the EDGE and EDGE-R credits, the EDGE-NR credit is a non-refundable credit.

This credit is administered by the IEDC. Contact them at One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN 46204, via website at www.iedc. in.gov, or by phone at (317) 232-8800.

The approved credit must be reported on Schedule IN-OCC, found at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/. Make sure to enclose this schedule with your tax filing. If you are claiming this credit as an owner of a pass-through entity such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc., make sure to keep Schedule IN K-1 with your records as DOR can require you to provide this information.

#### About Enterprise Zone Credits

Certain areas within Indiana have been designated as enterprise zones. Enterprise zones are established to encourage investment and job growth in distressed urban areas. Visit www.aiez.org/directory.html to look up contact information for a particular enterprise zone.

Sole proprietors who operate and/or invest in a business located in a zone and owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc., are eligible to claim the enterprise zone employment expense credit and/or the enterprise zone loan interest credit. Contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204, or visit their website at http://iedc.in.gov/ for more information about these credits.

#### Enterprise Zone Employment Expense Credit 812

This credit is based on qualified investments made within Indiana. It is the lesser of 10% of qualifying wages, or \$1,500 per qualified employee, up to the amount of tax liability on income derived from the enterprise zone.

For more information see Income Tax Information Bulletin #66 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib66.pdf and Indiana Schedule EZ, Parts 1, 2 and 3 at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/enterprise-zoneforms/. Also, you may contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204, call (317) 232-8827, or visit their website at http://iedc.in.gov. Enter code 812 under line 6 if claiming this credit. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### Enterprise Zone Investment Cost Credit 813

This credit is based on qualified investments made within Indiana. It can be up to a maximum of 30% of the investment, depending on the number of employees, the type of business and the amount of investment in an enterprise zone.

For more information about this credit, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #66 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib66.pdf, contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204, or visit their website at: http://iedc. in.gov.

**Note**. See the **Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One per Project** and the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

Enter code 813 under line 6 if claiming this credit.

#### Enterprise Zone Loan Interest Credit 814

This credit can be for up to 5% of the interest received from all qualified loans made during a tax year for use in an Indiana enterprise zone.

For more information, and how to calculate this credit, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #66 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ ib66.pdf and Indiana Schedule LIC at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/ enterprise-zone-forms.

**Note**. Schedule LIC must be enclosed if claiming this credit. Contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204, call (317) 232-8827, or visit their website at http://iedc.in.gov for additional information.

Enter code 814 under line 6 if claiming this credit. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### Ethanol Production Credit 815

This credit has been repealed. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed.

Enter code 815 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

#### Headquarters Relocation Credit 818

Some or all of this credit may be available to be refunded. See below for more information.

A business may be eligible for a credit if it meets one of two sets of criteria. The first set of criteria ("first test") is that the business meets all of the following:

- Has an annual worldwide revenue of \$50 million;
- Has at least 75 Indiana employees; and
- Relocates its corporate headquarters to Indiana.

Note. Schedule EZ must be enclosed if claiming this credit.

The second set of criteria ("second test") is that the business meets either (1) or (2), meets (3), and meets (4) or (5):

- Received at least \$4 million in venture capital in the six months immediately preceding the business's application for this tax credit.
- 2) Closes on at least \$4,000,000 in venture capital not more than six months after submitting the business's application for this tax credit.
- 3) Has at least 10 Indiana employees.
- 4) Relocates its corporate headquarters to Indiana.
- 5) Relocates the number of jobs equal to 80% of the business's total payroll during the immediately preceding quarter to an Indiana location.

The credit may be as much as 50% of the cost incurred in relocating the taxpayer's headquarters. For more information (including limitations on the credit and the application process), see Income Tax Information Bulletin #97, available at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ ib97.pdf. This credit is administered by the IEDC. Contact them at One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN 46204, via website at www.iedc.in.gov, or by phone at (317) 232-8800.

Submit a copy of the certificate from the IEDC verifying the amount of tax credit for the taxable year with the return. Otherwise, the credit will be denied.

Enter code 818 under line 6 if claiming this credit. Enclose proof of the relocation costs as well as proof of employment of the minimum number of employees in Indiana and, if applicable, payroll in both Indiana and everywhere. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

**Important**. If the IEDC has granted a refundable credit under the second test, see the instructions on page 43 for completing Schedule 5, line 9. Maintain the documentation provided to you that supports the refundable portion of this credit as DOR may request it.

#### Historic Building Rehabilitation Credit 819

This credit has been repealed. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed.

Enter code 819 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

**Important**. The credit will need to be recaptured if, within five years of the completion of the project:

- Ownership of the property, and/or
- Additional modifications are undertaken to the property that do not meet required standards.

Report any recapture on the Credit Recapture Schedule IN-CR, and Schedule 4, line 3, *Recapture of certain Indiana offset credits*. See instructions on page 28 for more information.

#### Hoosier Business Investment Credit 820

This credit is for qualified investments, which include the purchase of new telecommunications, production, manufacturing, fabrication, processing, refining or finishing equipment. Owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc., are eligible for this credit.

This credit is administered by the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC), One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204. Visit the IEDC website at http://iedc.in.gov or call (317) 232-8800 for additional information.

Also, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #95 at www.in.gov/dor/ files/reference/ib95.pdf.

**Note**. See the **Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One Per Project** and the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

The approved credit must be reported on Schedule IN-OCC, found at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/. Make sure to enclose this schedule with your tax filing. If you are claiming this credit as an owner of a pass-through entity such as S corporation, partnership, limited liability company, etc., make sure to keep Schedule IN K-1 with your records as DOR can require you to provide this information.

#### Hoosier Business Investment Credit - Logistics 860

This credit is for qualified expenditures for certain logistics investments. Owners of pass-through entities are eligible for this credit.

This credit is administered by the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC), One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204. Visit the IEDC website at http://iedc.in.gov or call (317) 234-4046, and get Income Tax Information Bulletin #95 at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib95.pdf for additional information.

## **Note**. See the **Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One Per Project** and the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

The approved credit must be reported on Schedule IN-OCC, found at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/. Make sure to enclose this schedule with your tax filing. If you are claiming this credit as an owner of a pass-through entity such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc., make sure to keep Schedule IN K-1 with your records as DOR can require you to provide this information.

#### Indiana's Research Expense Credit 822

Indiana has a research expense credit that is similar to the federal credit for research and experimental expenses paid in carrying on your trade or business in Indiana. Owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc., are eligible to claim this credit. Enclose your Schedule IN K-1 to support your claim.

A completed Form IT-20REC must be kept with your records as DOR can require you to provide this information. Get Form IT-20REC at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-corporatepartnership-income-tax-forms/.

Enter code 822 under line 6 if claiming this credit. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### Individual Development Account Credit 823

A credit is available for qualified contributions made to a community development corporation participating in an Individual Development Account (IDA) program. Owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc. may are eligible to claim this credit.

The organization must have an approved program number from the Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority (IHCDA) before a contribution qualifies for pre-approval. Applications for the credit are filed through the IHCDA.

S corporations and partnerships may take this credit and pass through the unused portion to their shareholders and partners.

To request additional information about the definitions, procedures and qualifications for obtaining this credit, contact: Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority, 30 S. Meridian St., Suite 1000, Indianapolis, IN 46204, telephone number (317) 232-7777.

Keep the approval certification from IEDC or letter of assignment with your records as DOR can require you to provide this information.

Enter code 823 under line 6 if claiming this credit. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### Industrial Recovery Credit 824

This credit is based on a taxpayer's qualified investment in a vacant industrial facility located in a designated industrial recovery site. If the Indiana Economic Development Corporation approves the application and the plan for rehabilitation, you are entitled to a credit based on the "qualified investment." The minimum age for a facility to be eligible for this credit has been reduced from 20 years to 15 years. This credit is available to owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc.

**Note**. Except for in situations described in the next sentence, a taxpayer is entitled to receive this credit only for a qualified investment made before January 1, 2021. A taxpayer is entitled to receive a credit for a qualified investment made after December 31, 2020, and before January 1, 2031, if the taxpayer is awarded a credit under:

- An application approved by the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC) before January 1, 2021; or
- An agreement entered into by the taxpayer and IEDC before January 1, 2022.

**Important**. Any unused credit existing before Jan. 01, 2021, is still eligible for carryforward for an unlimited number of years.

For additional information regarding procedures for obtaining this credit, contact the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN 46204, call (317) 232-8800, or visit their website at http://iedc.in.gov.

**Note**. See the **Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One per Project** and the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations. Enter code 824 under line 6 if claiming this credit.

#### Military Base Investment Cost Credit 826

This credit has been repealed. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed. You must enclose approval certification from IEDC or a letter of assignment with your return.

Enter code 826 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

#### Military Base Recovery Credit 827

This credit has been repealed. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed. You must enclose approval certification from IEDC or a letter of assignment with your return.

Enter code 827 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

#### Natural Gas Commercial Vehicle Credit 858

This credit has sunset. No new credit will be allowed for vehicles placed in service after Dec. 31, 2016. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed. This carryforward credit is available to owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc.

The carryforward portion of the previously approved credit must be reported on Schedule IN-OCC, found at www.in.gov/dor/taxforms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/. Make sure to enclose this schedule with your tax filing. If you are claiming this credit as an owner of a pass-through entity, such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc., make sure to keep Schedule IN K-1 with your records as DOR can require you to provide this information.

**Note**. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

#### Neighborhood Assistance Credit 828

If you made a contribution or engaged in activities to upgrade areas in Indiana, you may be able to claim a credit for this assistance. Contact the Indiana Housing & Community Development Authority, Neighborhood Assistance Program, 30 S. Meridian, Suite 1000, Indianapolis, IN 46204, telephone number (317) 232-7777 (800-872-0371 outside Indianapolis), for more information.

Owners of pass-through entities such as S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, etc., are eligible for this credit.

**Important**. Do not report fees paid to your neighborhood association on this line. They are not eligible for this credit.

Enter code 828 under line 6 if claiming this credit. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### New Employer Credit 850

This credit has been repealed. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed.

Enter code 850 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54 for additional limitations.

#### Public School Educator Expense Credit 861

If you are an eligible educator working for an Indiana school corporation, you may be entitled to a credit for qualified expenses paid for certain classroom supplies. The credit can be as much as \$100 (\$200 if married filing joint and both spouses meet the requirements, but not more than \$100 each).

You are an **eligible educator** if, during the taxable year, you are employed as a Kindergarten -12 Indiana public school:

- Teacher
- Librarian
- Counselor
- Principal
- Superintendent

**Public school** means a school maintained by an Indiana school corporation, and includes charter schools. Private schools, parochial schools and homeschools are not public schools.

**Qualified expenses** are amounts you paid or incurred during the tax year for certain classroom supplies, which include books, supplies, computer equipment (including related software and services), other equipment, and supplementary materials that you use in the classroom. For courses in health and physical education, expenses for supplies are qualified expenses only if related to athletics.

**Non-qualified expenses** are certain expenses not allowed when figuring this credit. They include:

- Certain expenses for professional development courses related to the curriculum, or to the students, that the educator teaches.
- COVID-19 protective items, such as face masks; disinfectant for use against COVID-19; hand soap; hand sanitizer; disposable gloves; tape, paint, or chalk to guide social distancing; physical barriers (for example, clear plexiglass); air purifiers; and other items recommended by the CDC to be used for the prevention of the spread of COVID-19.

**Reimbursements**. You must reduce your expenses for the qualified supplies by any reimbursements you received that were not included in box 1 of your Form W-2.

*Example 1*. Jonah spent \$40 for qualified supplies; he was reimbursed for \$30 out of petty cash, none of which was included on his W-2. He will claim the \$10 difference as a credit.

Figure the credit. The amount of the credit is the lesser of:

- The total amount paid for qualified supplies, less any reimbursements for those qualified supplies not included on line
- reimbursements for those qualified supplies not included on line 1 of your W-2, or

*Example 2*. Quincy is an 8th grade teacher at an Indiana public school. During the year he spent \$314 for qualified supplies. He is eligible to claim a \$100 credit.

*Example 3*. Chris and Pat are employed as teachers at an Indiana public high school. They are filing a joint tax return. During the year Chris spent \$74 for qualified supplies; Chris's credit is \$74. Pat spent \$214 for qualified supplies; Pat's credit is \$100 (limited to the lesser of the amount Pat spent or \$100). They will claim a \$174 combined credit.

**Important**. Make sure to keep a copy of the expense receipts used to figure this credit as DOR can require you to provide this information at a later date.

**Note**. Claiming an educator expense deduction on your federal tax return in no way prohibits you from being eligible to claim this credit on your state tax return.

Enter code 861 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### Redevelopment Tax Credit 863

You may be eligible for a credit if you make a qualified investment for the redevelopment or rehabilitation of real property located within a qualified redevelopment site.

This credit is administered by the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC), One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN, 46204. Visit the IEDC website at http://iedc.in.gov or call (317) 232-8800 for additional information.

The approved credit must be reported on Schedule IN-OCC, found at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/. Make sure to enclose this schedule with your tax filing. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### **Residential Historic Rehabilitation Credit 831**

A credit is available for the repair and rehabilitation of residential property that is listed on the Indiana Register of Historic Sites and Structures, is at least 50 years old, and will be used as your primary residence. All work must meet the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation of Historic Properties.

For more information about this credit, see Income Tax Information Bulletin #87A at www.in.gov/dor/files/reference/ib87a.pdf. Also, contact the Office of Community and Rural Affairs at One North Capitol, Suite 600 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2027, call (317) 233-3762, or visit Residential Historic Rehabilitation Credit at www.in.gov/ ocra/2284.htm.

Enter code 831 under line 6 if claiming this credit. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** on page 54.

#### **Riverboat Building Credit 832**

This credit has been repealed. However, any previously approved yet unused credit is available to be claimed.

• \$100.

Enter code 832 under line 6 if claiming this credit. See the **Combined Limitation** below for additional limitations.

#### School Scholarship Credit 849

A credit is available for donations to certain scholarship-granting organizations (SGOs). The amount of credit is equal to 50% of the amount of the contribution. While there are no limits to how much a donor can contribute to a qualified SGO, the entire tax credit program cannot award more than \$17.5 million in credits per state fiscal year of July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022.

To qualify for the credit, you must make a contribution to a scholarship granting organization that is certified by Department of Education. Visit the Indiana Department of Education's website at www.doe. in.gov/choice/school-scholarships for additional information.

The approved credit must be reported on Schedule IN-OCC, found at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms. Make sure to enclose this schedule with your tax filing. Also, see the **Combined Limitation** below.

#### Venture Capital Investment Credit 835

A taxpayer that provides qualified investment capital to a qualified Indiana business may be eligible for this credit.

Certification for this credit must be obtained from the Indiana Economic Development Corporation Development Finance Office, VCI Credit Program, One North Capitol, Suite 700, Indianapolis, IN 46204, telephone number (317) 232-8800, or visit iedc.in.gov/.

Beginning with the 2020 tax year, this credit must be reported on Schedule IN-OCC, found at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021individual-income-tax-forms/. Make sure to enclose this schedule with your tax filing. If you are claiming this credit as an owner of pass-through entity such as S corporation, partnership, limited liability company, etc., make sure to keep Schedule IN K-1 with your records as DOR can require you to provide this information.

Note. See the Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One per Project and the Combined Limitation below for additional limitations.

## Restriction for Certain Tax Credits - Limited to One Per Project

A taxpayer may not be granted more than one credit for the same project. The credits that are included are the alternative fuel vehicle manufacturer credit, community revitalization enhancement district credit, enterprise zone investment cost credit, Hoosier business investment credit, industrial recovery credit, and the venture capital investment credit. Apply this restriction first when figuring your credits. Then apply the **Combined Limitation** below.

### **Combined Limitation**

There is one final limitation if you have more than one credit to be entered on lines 4 through 7 of Schedule 6. These credits, when combined, cannot be greater than the state adjusted gross income tax shown on Form IT-40 line 8; if they are, adjust the amounts before you enter them. This includes any credits reported on Schedule IN-OCC, and carried to line 7 of Schedule 6.

## How to Adjust the Amount of Credit to Enter (Examples)

*Example*. Miranda is eligible to claim both a \$200 College Credit and a \$300 Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States, for a \$500 total amount of offset credits. Her state adjusted gross income tax due (IT-40, line 8) is \$360. Since her combined credits are \$140 more than her state tax due, she should reduce the last entry (the \$300 Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States) by the \$140 difference to \$160. She will enter the full \$200 College Credit on Schedule 6, line 4, and the \$160 limited Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States on line 5.

*Example*. Matthew has a \$500 Indiana College Choice 529 Savings Plan Credit and a \$600 Industrial Recovery Credit. His state adjusted gross income tax due (IT-40, line 8) is \$700. He will report the full \$500 Indiana College Choice 529 Savings Plan Credit on Schedule 6, line 6a, and enter \$200 of the Industrial Recovery Credit on line 6b. He will carry the \$400 remaining unused Industrial Recovery Credit over to next year's tax return.

# Schedule 7: Additional Required Information

#### Line 1 – Federal Filing Information

You must place an "X" in the "yes" or "no" box to answer the question: "Are you filing a federal income tax return for 2021?"

#### Line 2 – Out-Of-State Income Information

If you and/or your spouse worked in Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania and/or Wisconsin during 2021, complete this area. Enter the salary, wage, tip and/or other compensation income from those states in the appropriate boxes and the 2-digit code number for the appropriate state in the boxes. Find the 2-digit code number on the chart in the next column.

State	Use Code #	State	Use Code #
Illinois	94	Ohio	97
Kentucky	95	Pennsylvania	98
Michigan	96	Wisconsin	99

**Note**. This entry is for information purposes only, and will not change your refund or the amount you may owe.

#### Line 3 – Extension of Time to File Information

Place an "X" in the box on line 3a if you have a federal extension of time to file (you filed federal Form 4868, Form 2350, or made an online extension payment). Place an "X" in the box on line 3b if you have an Indiana extension of time to file (you filed Form IT-9 or made an online extension payment).

#### Schedule 7: Additional Required Information continued

#### Line 4 – Farmers and Fishermen

Farmers and fishermen have special filing considerations. If at least two-thirds (2/3) of your gross income is from farming or fishing, mark the box provided on Schedule 7, line 4. This will make sure that a penalty for the underpayment of estimated tax is not assessed provided you have followed through by:

- Paying all your estimated tax on or by Jan. 18, 2022, and filing your Form IT-40 by April 18, 2022, or
- Filing your Form IT-40 by March 1, 2022, and paying all the tax due at that time. You are not required to make an estimated tax payment if you use this option.

**Important.** If you have checked the box, you must keep the completed Schedule IT-2210 with your records as DOR may request it at a later date.

#### Line 5 – Non- or Partially- Responsible Spouse

Place an X in this box if you are a spouse who claims to not be liable for all or part of a tax liability because the remaining liability is that of the other spouse. You may be filing as a spouse who claims to not be liable for all or part of a tax liability if:

- You have a tax liability reported on a joint return for which you are not responsible;
- You have a tax liability reported on a joint return, but you are responsible only for a portion of the liability; or
- You have received an assessment from the Indiana Department of Revenue and you are not liable for all or part of the assessment because the assessment arises from the tax attributable to your spouse.

If filing as a non- or partially- responsible spouse who claims to not be liable for all or part of a tax liability, complete and submit Schedule IN-40PA (www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/miscellaneous-individualforms/), along with any supporting documentation.

#### Line 6 – Date of Death

If the taxpayer and/or spouse died during 2021, and this return is being filed with his/her name on it, make sure to enter the month and day of death in the appropriate box. For example, a date of death of Jan. 9, 2021, would be entered as 01/09/2021. See instructions beginning on page 6 for more information.

**Note**. If the taxpayer and/or spouse died before 2021, or after Dec. 31, 2021, but before filing his or her tax return, do not enter his/her date of death in this box.

## Line 7 – Telephone Number and Email Address Information

If this is a joint return, both you and your spouse must sign and date the tax return. Please enter your daytime telephone number so we can call you if we have any questions about your tax return. Also, enter your email address if you would like us to be able to contact you by email.

#### **Personal Representative Information**

Typically, DOR will contact you (and your spouse, if filing jointly) if there are any questions or concerns about your tax return. If you wish to allow DOR to discuss your tax return with someone else (e.g. the person who prepared it, a relative or friend, etc.), you will need to complete this area.

First, you must check the "Yes" box, which follows the sentence, "I authorize DOR to discuss my tax return with my personal representative."

Next, enter the name of the individual you are designating as your personal representative, that person's telephone number, and that person's complete address.

If you complete this area, you are authorizing DOR to be in contact with someone other than you concerning information about this tax return.

**Note**. If you are due a refund, it will be paid to you (and your spouse, if filing jointly) even if you designate a personal representative.

You may decide at any time to **revoke** the authorization for DOR to speak with your personal representative. You will need to provide a signed statement indicating you revoke this authorization. Include your name, Social Security number and the year of your tax return. Mail your statement to Indiana Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 40, Indianapolis, IN 46206-0040.

#### **Paid Preparer Information**

Have your paid preparer complete this area (even if the paid preparer is the same individual designated as your personal representative). The paid preparer must provide:

- The name of the firm that he/she represents,
- The preparer's tax identification number (PTIN), and
- The firm's address or his/her address if self-employed.

#### **Opt-Out Designation**

There are many benefits to electronic filing, which include:

- Elimination of math errors
- Faster refunds

Paid preparers are required to electronically file all Indiana individual income tax returns if they prepare more than 10 tax returns annually. If you use a paid preparer and do not want your tax return to be filed electronically, you must complete a state Form IN-OPT. This form requires your signature (and your spouse's, if filing jointly), and must be maintained by your paid preparer with his or her records. Get Form IN-OPT at www.in.gov/dor/tax-forms/2021-individual-income-tax-forms/ for more information.

Make sure you keep a copy of your completed tax return, including all required enclosures, such as W-2s and schedules.

## **County Tax Instructions**

If you live or work in an Indiana county as of January 1 of the tax year, you will probably owe county tax. Complete the county tax Schedule CT-40 to figure if you do owe, and how much it will be.

#### **County Where You Lived Defined**

The county where you lived is the county where you maintained your home on Jan. 1, 2021. If you had more than one home in Indiana on this date, then your county of residence as of Jan. 1, 2021, was:

- Where you were registered to vote. If this did not apply, then your county of residence was
- Where your personal automobile was registered. If this did not apply, then your county of residence was
- Where you spent the majority of your time in Indiana during 2021.

Enter the county two-digit code for the county where you lived on Jan. 1, 2021, in the area beneath the name and address area on Form IT-40. Find your county two-digit code number on the back of Schedule CT-40.

#### Did You Move During the Year?

If you moved your residence to a different Indiana county during the year, but after Jan. 1, 2021, the county where you lived for tax purposes *will not change until next year*.

*Example.* William was a lifelong Scott County resident until he moved to Martin County on March 15, 2021. He will figure Scott County tax when filing his 2021 state tax return (he lived there on Jan. 1, 2021). If he still lived in Martin County on Jan. 1, 2022, he will figure Martin County tax when filing his 2022 state taxes.

#### **County Where You Worked Defined**

The county where you worked (county of principal employment) is the county where your main place of business was located or where your main work activity was performed on Jan. 1, 2021. If you began working in another county after Jan. 1, 2021, the county where you worked for reporting purposes will not change until next year. Enter the two-digit code number for the county where you worked in the area beneath the name and address area on Form IT-40.

*Example.* Jessie worked in Marion County on Jan. 1, 2021. She quit that job and began a new one in Johnson County on Feb. 10, 2021. She will enter the Marion County two-digit code (49) as the county where she worked even though she changed jobs during the year.

If you had more than one job on Jan. 1, 2021, your principal place of employment is the job where you worked the most hours and earned the most income.

If, on Jan. 1, 2021, your county of principal employment was not in Indiana, write county code "**00**" (out-of-state) in the County Where You Worked box on the front of the IT-40.

**Exception**: If you worked in any of the following states on Jan. 1, 2021, enter their two-digit code number (instead of **00**):

State	Use Code #	State	Use Code #
Illinois	94	Ohio	97
Kentucky	95	Pennsylvania	98
Michigan	96	Wisconsin	99

#### **Military Personnel**

If you were stationed in Indiana, your county of residence is the county where you lived on January 1 of the year you entered the military service. If, on Jan. 1, 2021, you were single and stationed outside Indiana, or you were stationed outside Indiana and your family was with you, write county code "**00**" (out-of-state) in all the county boxes on Form IT-40 (you won't owe a county tax).

If, however, you maintained your home in an Indiana county and/or your spouse and family were still living in an Indiana county on Jan. 1, 2021, you are considered to be a resident of that county and will be subject to county tax.

#### **Retired Persons, Homemakers or Unemployed**

If you were retired, a homemaker, or were unemployed on Jan. 1, 2021, put your county of residence two-digit code number in both the Indiana County where you lived and Indiana County Where You Worked boxes on Form IT-40. **Do not write the word "Retired," "Homemaker" or "Unemployed" over the boxes.** 

## Special Note to Married Taxpayers Filing a Joint Return

If you lived in different counties on Jan. 1, 2021, both of you need to figure your county tax separately. See *Schedule CT-40 Line 1 Instructions* below for details on how to do this.

## Schedule CT-40: Line-by-Line Instructions

#### Line 1

#### If you:

- Are filing a single return, enter on line 1A the amount from Form IT-40, line 7.
- Are filing a joint return and you both lived in the same county on Jan. 1, 2021, enter on line 1A the amount from Form IT-40, line 7. Leave Column B blank.
- Are filing a joint return and you lived in different counties on Jan. 1, 2021, enter each person's share of the amount reported on line 7 of Form IT-40. See how to do this in the following example.

#### Following are two examples for when a taxpayer and spouse file married filing jointly but live in different counties on January 1 of the tax year.

*Example.* Jacob and Becca married in 2021 and are filing a joint return. On Jan. 1, 2021, Jacob lived in Greene County and Becca lived in Clay County. Their individual share of the \$39,080\* amount reported on line 7 of their IT-40 is to be reported on Schedule CT-40 between Column A and Column B in the following way:

Breakdown	Column A Jacob	Column B Becca	IT-40 Line 7
Wages	23,000	21,000	44,000
Interest (joint account)	+ 40	+ 40	+ 80
Renter's deduction	- 1,500	-1,500	-3,000
Subtotal	21,540	<u>19,540</u>	<u>41,080</u>
Exemption	<u>-1,000</u>	<u>-1,000</u>	-2,000
Totals	20,540	18,540	39,080*

Jacob will enter \$20,540 on line 1A and Becca will enter \$18,540 on line 1B.

#### Use of exemptions when separating income.

Each spouse must use their own:

- Personal \$1,000 exemption (included on Schedule 3, line 1),
- Age 65 or older exemption (included on Schedule 3, line 4),

• Age additional age 65 exemption (included on Schedule 3, line 5), when figuring their share of net income subject to county tax. Additional exemptions for dependents should be divvied up in whole\* in a way that provides the most benefit to the individuals. This usually results with the individual with the higher county tax rate using all of the dependent exemptions when figuring county tax.

\*Exemptions must be used in whole. For example, a \$1,000 exemption may not be separated into \$700 to be used by one spouse, with the remaining \$300 to be used by the other spouse. The full \$1,000 must be used by one spouse only.

**Note**. The total amount of exemptions used to reduce income may not be greater than the total amount of exemptions reported on Schedule 3, line 6.

*Example.* Sam and Molly married in 2021 and are filing a joint return. On Jan. 1, 2021, Sam lived in County A, which has a resident county tax rate of .01. Molly lived in County B, which has a resident county tax rate of .025. They claim their three-year old son Sebastian as a dependent. Their total exemptions are \$4,500 (\$1,000 each for Sam, Molly and Sebastian, plus the \$1,500 additional dependent exemption for Sebastian). Sam's wage income is \$49,000; Molly's is \$45,000. They claimed a \$2,500 homeowner's property tax deduction.

Molly will use all of the exemptions except for Sam's \$1,000 personal exemption when figuring her share of income subject to county tax since she has the higher county tax rate.

Their individual share of the \$87,000\* state taxable income reported on line 7 of their Form IT-40 is to be reported on Schedule CT-40 between Column A and Column B in the following way:

Breakdown	Column A Sam	Column B Molly	IT-40 Line 7
Wages	\$49,000	\$45,000	\$94,000
Property tax deduction	<u>-1,250</u>	<u>-1,250</u>	-2,500
Subtotal	\$47,750	\$43,750	\$91,500
Exemptions	<u>-1,000</u>	-3,500	-4,500
Totals	\$46,750	\$40,250	\$87,000*

Sam will enter \$46,750 on line 1A and Molly will enter \$40,250 on line 1B.

#### Line 2

Find the county where you lived on Jan. 1, 2021, on the *2021 Indiana County Income Tax Rates and County Codes* chart located on the back of Schedule CT-40. Find the County Tax Rate on that county row and enter it here.

If you are filing a single return or a joint return where you both lived in the same county on Jan. 1, 2021, enter on line 2A the county tax rate. Leave line 2B blank.

If you are filing a joint return and you lived in different counties on Jan. 1, 2021:

- Enter on line 2A your county tax rate from the county tax rate chart.
- Enter on line 2B your spouse's county tax rate from the county tax rate chart.

#### Line 4

Add the amounts from line 3, Columns A and B and enter the result here. If you were a Perry County resident on Jan. 1, 2021, and worked in the Kentucky counties of Breckinridge, Hancock and/or Meade, review Lines 5 and 6 instructions. Otherwise, skip to line 7.

#### Lines 5 and 6

If you:

- Were a Jan. 1, 2021 Perry County resident,
- Worked in the Kentucky counties of Breckinridge, Hancock and/ or Meade; and
- The income from those counties was subject to either a Kentucky county income tax or a local income tax for a locality in those counties,

review the following instructions. Otherwise, skip these lines and go to line 7.

Line 5 – If the Kentucky counties of Breckinridge, Hancock and/or Meade, or a locality located within these counties figured a locality tax on your income, enter the amount of that income here.

Line 6 – Multiply the amount on line 5 by .0181 and enter the result here. Continue to line 7.

#### Line 7

Subtract any entry on line 6 from the amount on line 4. Enter the result here and on line 9 of Form IT-40.

NOTES:

NOTES:



## Index to Instructions

2021	Changes	3
2021	Changes	,

### Α

Address Change/Moving?
Add-Backs: Treatment of Previously Discontinued Add-Backs 12
Adoption Credit 46
Airport Development Zone:
Employment Expense Credit 49
Investment Cost Credit 49
Loan Interest Credit 49
Alternative Fuel Vehicle Manufacturer Credit 49
Amended Return
Amount Due 11
Annual Public Hearing 5

## В

Blended Biodiesel Credit	49
Bonus Depreciation Add-Back	13

## С

Change of Address/Moving?	4
Civil Service Annuity Deduction	18
Coal Gasification Technology Investment Credit	49
College Credit	45
Contact Information	4
Combined Limitations (Credits)	54
Community Revitalization Enhan. District Credit	44, 49
County Tax:	
County Where You Lived Defined	
County Where You Worked Defined	56
General Information	
Military Personnel	56
Retired, Homemakers or Unemployed Persons	56
Credit for Local Taxes Paid Outside Indiana	44
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States	45
Conformity Add-Back:	
Positive Entry	13
Negative Entry	13
COVID-related Employee Retention Credit Disallowed	
Expenses Deduction	23

## D

Death of a Taxpayer:	
Enter Date of Death	6, 55
Filing Requirements (Deceased Taxpayers)	6
How to Cash a Refund	7
How to Sign the Tax Return	6
Dependents, Exemptions for	24
Direct Deposit	
Disability Retirement Deduction	
District Offices (Visit)	

### Ε

Earned Income Credit:	
Instructions 30	)
Tables	2

Economic Development for a Growing Economy -
Nonresident Employees 50
Economic Development for a Growing Economy/Retention
Credit
Elderly Persons:
County Income Tax - Retired Persons 56
Exemption 23
Human Services Deduction 19
Railroad Retirement Benefits Deduction 16
Social Security Benefits Deduction 16
Unified Tax Credit for the Elderly 29
Electronic Filing/INfreefile
Enclosing Schedules
Enterprise Zone:
About Enterprise Zone Credits 50
Employee Deduction 19
Employment Expense Credit 50
Investment Cost Credit 50
Loan Interest Credit 50
Estimated Tax
Ethanol Production Credit 50
Excess Federal Interest Deduction Modification14
Exemptions:
Additional Exemption for Certain Dependent Children 24
Additional Age 65 or Older 26
Age 65 or Older or Blind 26
Definitions and Special Rules for Dependents26
Dependents:
Child 24
Relative
Personal, Spouse 24
Schedule 3: Exemptions 24
Schedule IN-DEP 25
Extensions:
Extensions of Time to File 7, 54
Where to Report Extension Payment

## F

Farmers and Fishermen	55
Federal Adjusted Gross Income	8
Federal Filing Information	
Foreign Country Code	5
Forms:	
Choosing the Right Form to File	3
Where to Get Them:	
Automated Information Line	4
District Offices	4
Internet Address	4
Free File (INfreefile)	2, 4
Free Local Tax Help	4

### G

## Η

Headquarters Relocation Credit:	
Offset Portion	50
Refundable Portion	43

Historic Building Rehabilitation Credit	51
Homeowner's Residential Property Tax Deduction	
Hoosier Business Investment Credit	51
Hoosier Business Investment Credit – Logistics	51
Household Employment Taxes	28
Human Services Deduction	

#### I

Important Information About Possible Year-End Federal	
Legislation	12
Indiana Partnership Long-Term Care Deduction	20
Indiana's CollegeChoice 529 Education Savings Plan Credit	49
Individual Development Account Credit	52
Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)	5
Industrial Recovery Account Credit	52
Infrastructure Fund Gift Deduction	20
INfreefile	2, 4
Injured spouse or spouse who claims to not be liable	55
Interest:	
Late Payment of Tax	11
OOS Municipal Obligation Interest Add-Back	13
U.S. Government Obligations Deduction	16
Internet Address (Our Website)	4

### L

Lake County Residential Income Tax Credit 42
Losses - How to Write Them
Lottery Winnings Annuity Deduction (Indiana) 20

## Μ

Mailing Address1	2
Married Filing Requirements:	
Married Filing Jointly	5
Married Filing Separately	
Married Persons Who Live Apart	5
Same-Sex Marriage Tax Filing Guidelines	5
Married Filing Status	5
Military Base Investment Cost Credit 5	2
Military Base Recovery Credit 5	
Military Family Relief Fund 4	4
Military Issues:	
A Word About the Three Military Income Deductions 1	6
Address	5
Combat Zone Issues 17, 2	2
County Tax 5	
Extension of Time to File	8
Filing Requirements (Who Should File?)	6
Military Service Deduction 1	6
National Guard and Reserve Component Members Deduct. 2	21
Residency	7
Military Retirement Income and/or Survivor's	
Benefits Deduction 1	
Military Service Deduction 1	6
Motorsports Entertainment Complex Add-Back 1	4
Moving?	

## Ν

National Guard and Reserve Component Members Deduction 1	16
Natural Gas Commercial Vehicle Credit 5	52
Neighborhood Assistance Credit 5	52
Net Operating Loss:	
Carryforward Add-Back 1	12
Indiana NOL 1	18
New Employer Credit 5	52
Nongame Wildlife Fund Donation (Indiana) 4	13

### 0

Offsets of Money Owed (A Note About Refund Offsets)	10
Olympic/Paralympic Medal Winners Deduction	22
Opt-Out Designation	55
Other (Current Year Conformity) Add-Back	13
OOS Municipal Obligation Interest Add-Back	13
Out-Of-State Income Reporting	54

#### Ρ

55
11
11
11
55
55
5
4
17
15
5
44
53

## Q

Qualified Advance Mining Safety Equipment Add-Back	. 14
Qualified Disaster Assistance Property Add-Back	. 14
Qualified Electric Utility Amortization Add-Back	. 14
Qualified Environmental Remediation Costs Add-Back	. 14
Qualified Film or Television Production Add-Back	. 14
Qualified Leasehold Improvement Property Add-Back	14
Qualified Patents Income Exemption Deduction	. 22
Qualified Preferred Stock Add-Back	. 14
Qualified Refinery Property Add-Back	. 14
Qualified Restaurant Improvement Property Add-Back	. 14
Qualified Retail Improvement Property Add-Back	14

## R

Railroad Retirement Benefits Deduction	16
Railroad Unemployment and Sickness Benefits	22
Recapture of Indiana's CollegeChoice 529 Education Savings	
Plan Credit	49
Recovery of Deductions	23
Redevelopment Tax Credit	53

Refunds:

Deceased Persons	7
Direct Deposit	. 10
Refund Offset	
Statute of Limitations (Time Limit to Claim Refund)	. 10
When to Expect Your Refund	10
Where's Your Refund?	. 10
Renter's Deduction	. 15
Repayment of Previously Taxed Income Deduction	. 23
Research Expense Credit (Indiana)	. 51
Residency:	
Full-Year Nonresident	3, 6
Full-Year Resident	3, 6
Part-Year Resident	
Residential Historic Rehabilitation Credit	. 53
Restrictions for Certain Tax Credits 45	
Retirement Income and/or Survivor's Benefits Deduction (Military)	16
Returned Checks and Other Types of Payments	11
Riverboat Building Credit	
Rounding	

## S

Same-Sex Marriage Tax Filing Guidelines	5
Schedule 1: Add-Backs	
Schedule 2: Deductions	15
Schedule 3: Exemptions	24
Schedule 4: Other Taxes	28
Schedule 5: Credits	28
Schedule 6: Offset Credits	44
Schedule 7: Additional Required Information	54
Schedule IN-DEP	25
Schedule IN-DONATE	.43
School Scholarship Credit	54
Section 179 Expense Add-Back	
Signing Tax Return	12
Social Security Benefits Deduction	
Social Security Number	5
Spanish Version of IT-40 Booklet with Forms (Our Website)	4
Start-Up Expenditures Add-Back	14
State Tax Refund Deduction (Reported on Federal Return)	
Statute of Limitations for Refund Claims	. 10

## Т

Tax Add-Back       1         Tax-exempt Bonds Deduction, Indiana-only       2         Taxpayer Advocate       1         Telephone Assistance:       1	3
Automated Information Line Basic Tax Questions Order Forms (Use Your Personal Computer)	4

## U

18
29
28

## V

Venture Capital Investment Credit 54	4
--------------------------------------	---

### W

••	
W-2s, enclosing	6
What If You Can't File on Time? (Extension of Time to File)	
What's New (2021 Changes)	3
When Should You File?	7
Where to Mail Your Tax Return	12
Who Should File?	6
Withholding Tax:	
County (Indiana)	28
State (Indiana)	
Statements, enclosing	8
-	
-	

## Ζ

ZIP/Postal Code
-----------------

Indiana Department of Revenue Indianapolis, IN 46204-2253 100 North Senate Avenue



This IT-40 booklet contains:

- Form IT-40 and Instructions
- Schedule 1 Add-Backs
- Schedule 2 Deductions
- Schedule 3 Exemptions
- Schedule 4 Other Taxes
- Schedule 5 Credits/Schedule IN-DONATE
- Schedule 6 Offset Credits
- Schedule 7 Additional Required Information
- Schedule CT-40, County Tax with tax rates
- and Additional Dependent Child Information Schedule IN-DEP, Dependent Information
- Schedule IN-EIC, Earned Income Credit
- Form ES-40 Estimated Tax Payment Form