

APPLICATION FOR VEHICLE EXCISE TAX CREDIT / REFUND

State Form 55296 (R6 / 7-24) INDIANA BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

The legal authority for this form is IC 6-6-5-7.7.

BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Finance

100 N. Senate Avenue, Room N440 Indianapolis, IN 46204 (888) 692-6841

INSTRUCTIONS:

- 1.
- Complete in blue or black ink or print form.

 If registration has more than one (1) registrant, only one (1) registrant is required to sign as applicant.
- Select the reason you are applying for the credit, and mail in the required proof with this application.
- Print the mailing address where you wish the refund check to be mailed.
- 5. If you are signing on behalf of the registrant, you must provide a copy of the document that authorizes you to do so (e.g., Power of Attorney (POA), executor).

 Mail this application and all required documents to the address listed at the top of this form.

SECTION 1: CREDIT AND REFUND INFORMATION			
The following rules apply to the eligibility for an excise tax credit or refund:			
 Vehicles assessed Vehicle Excise Tax, Recreational Vehicle Excise Tax (RVET), County Vehicle Excise Tax and Municipal Vehicle Excise Taxes may be credited and refunded. All vehicle excise tax credits may be applied toward any other BMV transaction. If the vehicle is sold, destroyed, or otherwise disposed of, any remaining credit after ninety (90) days has passed will be refunded in the form of a refund check. If the vehicle was registered out-of-state, a refund check will be mailed immediately after processing the application. The refund amount must be at least \$4.00 to be eligible to receive a refund check. A \$3.00 BMV processing fee will be deducted from the refund amount, per IC 6-6-5-7.2 for Motor Vehicle Excise Tax or 6-6-5.1-30 for RVET. Registrant(s) Name (as printed on Indiana certificate of registration)			
registrating) Name (as prince on malaria continuate on registration)			
Mailing Address (street number and name)			
City		State	ZIP Code
Contact Telephone Number	E-mail Address		
SECTION 2: REFUND REASON (check one)			
Vehicle Sold, Destroyed, or Otherwise Disposed Of: If sold, applicant must provide proof of sale/disposal or trade-in. If destroyed, applicant must provide a statement from the insurance company that states the vehicle was a total loss. The statement must include the vehicle's VIN. Vehicle Registered Out-of-State: Applicant must provide a copy of the vehicle's certificate of registration or registration receipt from the new state and a copy of the Indiana certificate of registration (if available).			
SECTION 3: VEHICLE INFORMATION (One vehicle per form.)			
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN): (Please enter in	n spaces below.)	License Plate N	umber
SECTION 4: APPLICANT AFFIRMATION			
I swear or affirm under penalties for perjury that I am requesting a refund of vehicle excise tax on the vehicle listed above, that a refund has not been previously issued for this vehicle, and that the above mailing address is correct and is the address where the refund check will be mailed.			
Signature of Applicant		Date Signed (mi	m/dd/yyyy)
Printed Name of Applicant Relationship to Registrant(s) (if other than registrant) (Example: agent, POA, executor of estate, etc.)			t)